We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
Ranked #116 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Pleasant and quiet”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The hotel is located very near to Slotterdijk Metro and Train Station (3 minutes walk), where easy to get train towards Amsterdam Centraal every a couple minutes. The surrounding atmosphere is quite comfortable and quiet. The room is simple and clean. The hotel staffs are always busy with visitors, so it is quite difficult to ask some helps. The internet connection is always going slow (stuck) after 8 pm. Generally, it is okay and enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pahala_Silalahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your review, we hope to welcome you soon again in Amsterdam.
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    813
    260
    67
    70
See reviews for
477
200
170
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I stayed here with my husband for 3 nights and we were both thoroughly impressed by the hotel. The train station is a 2 minute walk from the hotel - with regular direct trains to/from Schipol and Amsterdam Centraal. On arrival, the reception staff had no record of our reservation, however they found us a seat in the bar and offered us a drink while they fixed the problem. Our room was large and clean - spotless bathroom and washing areas and a great shower.

The 'all you can eat' self service breakfast is served until 10.30am so there was no need to set the alarm for an early start. The breakfast selection was varied selection which i thought was worth the price (approx 6 euros). We were on the top floor so our room was quiet - no footsteps overhead! The floors are wooden, so not sure if this would affect the noise in rooms on other levels.

The staff were all very helpful and friendly and the bar is a nice place to enjoy a drink after a busy days sightseeing.

I would definitely stay in this hotel again, not being in the centre of Amsterdam was no problem at all due to the regularity of trains into the city, and a journey time of no more than 10 minutes. We felt so comfortable in the hotel and would reccommend this hotel to others - whether you are a group of friends, a couple or a family.

Room Tip: Requesting a larger room may be a good idea, we had a great large room by chance, looking at some pi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you once more at your next stay in Amsterdam.
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located besides a train station and has a public parking also besides. Well located. The hotel is big, has a good structure and great service. They are flexible and friendly. Its also possible to take dogs, great for those who have. Breakfast is ok for the price. Wi-fi is good and works better in the lobby. I recommend this place to have a calm trip with good price.

Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again at the Meininger Hotel in Amsterdam!
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights and couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Easy and quick to get to and from the airport and Amsterdam central with trains running every 5 mins and the train station a 2 minute walk away. Breakfast was great, plenty of choice and travelling with two young children, the kitchen area was ideal. Fantastic value for money and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pipsterpicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
We'd like to thank you for your kind comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you indeed again in Amsterdam!
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel with young and happy workers. We stayed there during a dogshow and we got a room with plenty of space for our dog cages. Thanks to Annika in the reception, the trip to Holland went out to be just perfect :)

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Per W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words, dogs are always welcome and we hope to see you at the next show as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is clean, well organised and very well run. The staff are friendly and can't do enough to help. Good bar an easy access to Amsterdam Central by train or hire a bike and enjoy Amsterdam in a different way! Breakfast is well worth it for the cost. This is a hostel that is more like a hotel!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again at the Meininger Hotel in Amsterdam!
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 23, 2013

A colleague booked this hotel for our overnight business trip but when I heard how much they paid (33 Euros from memory), I assumed the worst. However I was pleasantly surprised...the room was small but clean.
The most impressive part was the excellent bathroom (well, shower room), which looked brand new and something out a 4*.

Located right next to the train station, it is only 15 mins to Schiphol airport and not far from Amsterdam Central.

In the bar area, left in a bowl, you can obtain free Wifi access codes that give you a few days access (take one per device) - a great value add for a hotel of this price.

Although the snacks are limited, the reception staff recommended a local takeaway and arranged delivery.

The breakfast was great, with plenty of choices from cereal to yoghurt...to cheese...plenty of coffee on tap as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuzzMan83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#141 of 367 in Amsterdam
910 reviews
Volkshotel
#40 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,298 reviews
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#94 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#77 of 367 in Amsterdam
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Property: MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
Address: Orlyplein 1-67, 1043 DR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style and atmosphere of the hotelThe new MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West offers a very special atmosphere for your stay: people of all different ages and origins meet here in an unusually relaxed international atmosphere. They communicate with one another, relax, work or simply take a peaceful break. Opening July 2012.Unique aspects of the hotelWe have a breath of Amsterdam flair in store for you here, with distinctive art in the lobby. With a nod to the Old Masters, details from the great works of the golden age of painting are located throughout the hotel. The 232 comfortable non-smoker rooms offer an own bathroom with shower, toilet and hairdryer as well as a television and air conditioning. The hotel boasts spacious public areas such as lobby, bar and guest kitchen, in which use of W-LAN is free of charge. Our lavish all-you-can-eat-and-drink breakfast buffet gives you the ideal start to your day and is available at a small extra fee. Cars can be parked in the hotel underground garage, also at a charge.Location of the hotel, surrounding area and sightsThe MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West lies in the corridor between city centre and Schiphol Airport, directly by the Sloterdijk transport hub. From here it is just a 5-minute ride with the urban railway to Centraal Station at the heart of the Old Town and ten minutes to Schiphol Airport, with Utrecht less than an hour away by train. Whether you want to travel round the canals, visit the Rijksmuseum, stroll through the flower market, have a stopover in a coffee shop or complete a business appointment, the Dutch metropolis receives its guests with welcoming openness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing