We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Amsterdam hotel of choice.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
Ranked #96 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My Amsterdam hotel of choice.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

I booked in after reading a review on a peer hotel booking website. Great location near to the Sloterdijk station. Modern, clean well appointed hotel. Booked a single room which was tiny but exactly what I needed. My new hotel of choice in Amsterdam.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahamGuthrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    654
    193
    45
    56
See reviews for
377
160
139
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I booked a single room for 2 nights. The room was very small as well as its single bed.

Pros: 1) Sloterdijk Station with Sprinter train and metro, tram and bus stops are just next door. 2) There are Starbucks, kiosks and few cafes in the station itself but will close by 8pm. 3) Free tours and information are available. 4) Free wifi, and there are guest kitchen and hotel bar

Cons: 1) For those who are carrying huge luggage arriving at Sloterdijk station , have to use the lift at the Piarcoplein and go round from the back of the MEININGER building. The direction given to use Orlyplein exit at Sloterdijk Station has no lift or elevator, only stairs! 2) Room and its en-suite bathroom are very small. 3) Travel to Amsterdam Centraal will only take 5 minutes if we buy Sprinter train ticket. If we use GVB card, we can only take metro, tram or bus to Centraal, it will take at least 35-40 minutes.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iLoveTravel_CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I have spent three night in this hotel with my family that include four three children. It has a unique style of rooms and facilities. Kids liked the double dick beds. It is a busy hotel you will see all kind of people. Location for traveller by car is an excellent, I parked my car in the safe train station behind the hotel for 8 euro a day with free train tickets for the entire family, it is a Burgin!!!. Breakfast was cheep and of good quality, highly recommend that. Receptionists are friendly and very helpful. Price is very cheep for family and in a capital city such Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Six beds room is excellent, spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tawfik_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The cost of accommodation in the centre of Amsterdam put us off going for some time so when i saw 3 night for about £400 (I've added the cost of breakfast) for 4 of us i wasn't expecting the Crowne Plaza. However, the room was clean, comfy and warm, if a little cosy, the location was ace - less than 15 minutes door to room from Yu's Family Kitchen in the centre of town, via Central Station, the food was still too hot to eat - and we didn't experience any of the noise/disturbance that a busy hotel can attract.
Checking in/out was simple, although the SatNav tried to take me down a road that may have existed prior to the hotel being built, you can buy your travel passes and city passes on site and yes, the free Wi-Fi kept the kids quiet.
The only downer was trying to get breakfast at 09:30 on the first morning. The breakfast room was heaving, but we did manage it. The following two mornings we ate at about 8 and had no issues whatsoever.
The number 12 tram will take you to the museums, although not in to the centre of the city, and the 48 bus takes about 20 minutes to the middle of town. 2.10 Euros each way for the train (every 5 minutes or so, journey time about 5 minutes too) isn't too bad if time is precious.
If you are on a budget, or simply don't want to stay in the city itself, then you should seriously consider this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthonys G, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hello,
Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you very soon in one of our european hotels!
Best,
The Meininger Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhodes, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Extremely disappointing service!!!

I work in a travel agency and phoned the reservations dpt to ask for room rates for a client.
Was given a room rate, requested to reserve a room one day later and was given a higher rate.

I then requested them to confirm if the cheaper rate I received the day before was still valid and they said yes.

Right after I sent them my request to proceed with the booking and the next morning I get a different rate again! And a comment that the "rate has changed over the night".
They did not even bother to excuse themselves or answer my question on WHY it changed, when I had sent them a booking request exactly after they confirmed the original rate.

Unprofessional behavior, unacceptable!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madelen_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthonys G, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hey,

We are sad to read that you felt tricked booking with us. As a worker of a travel agency and not really a guest, we would just answer by letting you know that without a guarantee payment, we are unable to book or block a room for someone, and that -of course-, the rates change when not booked on time. Why? Because we follow the market prices. In case you need any extra explanation, feel free to contact us.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We were six students who looked for a cheap accommodation in Amsterdam so the Meininger hotel was a great choice for us. The atmosphere is young, the hotel is very modern and close to transportation. I must say that although the hotel was full of young people, I didn't hear any noise in my room. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and willing to help. I'll probably will come back if I'll look for a cheap accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gulu82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthonys G, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hello,
Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you very soon in one of our european hotels!
Best,
The Meininger Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Very very expensive for what is basically a hostel but sold as a hotel. Over £200 for two very small cabin rooms for one night only. None of what you would expect from a hotel. No phone in room, no kettle or refreshments, and very little room to manoeuvre. The situation is perfect next to the Sloderdijk station, but for what the night cost, one would have expected much more.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthonys G, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hello,
Thank you for the review. We hope to see you very soon in one of our european hotels!
Best,
The Meininger Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#134 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 794 reviews
Ibis Amsterdam City West
#113 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,323 reviews
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#74 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Volkshotel
#48 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 827 reviews
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#122 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,431 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Property: MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
Address: Orlyplein 1-67, 1043 DR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style and atmosphere of the hotelThe new MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West offers a very special atmosphere for your stay: people of all different ages and origins meet here in an unusually relaxed international atmosphere. They communicate with one another, relax, work or simply take a peaceful break. Opening July 2012.Unique aspects of the hotelWe have a breath of Amsterdam flair in store for you here, with distinctive art in the lobby. With a nod to the Old Masters, details from the great works of the golden age of painting are located throughout the hotel. The 232 comfortable non-smoker rooms offer an own bathroom with shower, toilet and hairdryer as well as a television and air conditioning. The hotel boasts spacious public areas such as lobby, bar and guest kitchen, in which use of W-LAN is free of charge. Our lavish all-you-can-eat-and-drink breakfast buffet gives you the ideal start to your day and is available at a small extra fee. Cars can be parked in the hotel underground garage, also at a charge.Location of the hotel, surrounding area and sightsThe MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West lies in the corridor between city centre and Schiphol Airport, directly by the Sloterdijk transport hub. From here it is just a 5-minute ride with the urban railway to Centraal Station at the heart of the Old Town and ten minutes to Schiphol Airport, with Utrecht less than an hour away by train. Whether you want to travel round the canals, visit the Rijksmuseum, stroll through the flower market, have a stopover in a coffee shop or complete a business appointment, the Dutch metropolis receives its guests with welcoming openness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing