We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel-like hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
Ranked #120 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Hotel-like hostel”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was by far the cleanest and most modern hostel I stayed on during a recent interrail trip. We stayed in a private 3-bed room and with in-room wi-fi and a clean shower, the bar was set high for the trip! Very helpful staff, not the best location but a short bus ride from the centre.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthonys G, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, August 6, 2016
Google Translation
Gentile cliente,
Grazie della bellissima recensione del nostro hotel! Siamo molto contenti che la sua permanenza è stata piacevole e ci auguriamo di rivederla presto.
Cordiali saluti dallo Meininger Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    828
    268
    67
    71
See reviews for
491
202
171
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I stayed here with two friends after flying into Amsterdam from Australia. I chose Meininger due to its accessibility from the airport by the train. It certainly was very close, only a few stops from the airport and very easy to find. However, the location is not great. There are no shops (the only ones being in the train station) as the hotel is situated in a business district. We stayed in a three bed room (one double, one single) which was very clean and had a spacious shower but the room was tiny. Though, due to the location it is very quiet at night. The free wifi was good but only worked in the lobby - but as we stayed on the first floor we occasionally picked up a signal. The kitchen facility is quite small but is sufficient and the breakfast is basic but okay. Staff were friendly enough but we did not really interact with them. Overall, I would recommend the Meininger to a traveller only staying in Amsterdam for the night (if you are flying in) but not for multiple nights if you intend to explore the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellebell007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthonys G, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, August 6, 2016
Hello,
Thank you for the review. We hope to see you very soon in one of our european hotels!
Best,
The Meininger Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gozo Malta
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

It's absolutely the best you could ask for in Hotel. It's facilities are superb, it's staff are friendly and helpful, and it's all in all a fantastic hotel. One thing that was excellent was that it was literally one minute away from the train station.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorryGozoMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthonys G, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, August 6, 2016
Hello,
Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you very soon in one of our european hotels!
Best,
The Meininger Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Family holiday .Chose Meininger as it was reasonably priced and in a suitable location in the city.Staff were friendly and very helpful with anything asked of them . Rooms were quiet at night as hotel not located ni a nisy area. Handy for central station also and other public transport.

Room Tip: Would recommend this hotel. Near the station but not at all noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankieBI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthonys G, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, August 6, 2016
Hello,
Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you very soon in one of our european hotels!
Best,
The Meininger Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Our family of 3 stayed here for 2 nights on July 27th. This hostel was more like a hotel with modern amenities. The room was very clean, private and extremely quiet. This is the first time I have stayed at a hotel where the light from the hall and windows was totally blacked out at night! Wifi was complimentary and worked in the room as well as the common areas. The towels and soap/shampoo was complimentary as well and overall this stay was an extremely good value. The staff was very helpful in giving us helpful information for site seeing. We found the location to be perfect for our family. It was just one stop (about 12 min) from the airport and we could see the hotel as we were sitting on our train and so it was super easy to find from the station and just next door for ease of pulling luggage. We took the train to Central station downtown to enjoy the old world charm of Amsterdam with the canals and unique houses and museums. We were able to get away from all of the crowds at night to enjoy a nice rest and refreshment before returning the next day. The breakfast spread was amazing and a good value for the money. It was crowded, but efficient and we enjoyed being around such friendly travelers. We used the kitchen one night to heat some food we bought at the market at Central station for an inexpensive meal.

Room Tip: We stayed in a private room for 3 with our own bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roving88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthonys G, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, August 6, 2016
Hello,
Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you very soon in one of our european hotels!
Best,
The Meininger Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here for three days exploring the area of Amsterdam. The room was very clean with a modern twist. We did not get a chance to explore the kitchen area, but it seemed like a place to talk to people that you would normally not talk to and was very interesting! It is only a few minutes from the train station. Keep in mind, there are stairs (not a lot though!) to and from the station, so keep that in mind. There is also a bus and tram station outside the train station. The tram number 12 takes you directly to the museum area. You can take another tram to another area or explore.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valeria Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthonys G, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, August 6, 2016
Hello,
Thank you for the review. We hope to see you very soon in one of our european hotels!
Best,
The Meininger Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here 3 nights in a four bed room with friends. Plenty of room, staff were friendly. They supply free washing and cooking facilities down stairs and wifi worked well from the room. Location was great just outside the city one train stop from Amsterdam central, hotel is literally right next to the station. I would highly recommend this place definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gem_gem001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthonys G, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, August 6, 2016

Hello,
Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you very soon in one of our european hotels!
Best,
The Meininger Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Volkshotel
#41 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,327 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#142 of 368 in Amsterdam
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#94 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,704 reviews
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
#147 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Property: MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
Address: Orlyplein 1-67, 1043 DR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style and atmosphere of the hotelThe new MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West offers a very special atmosphere for your stay: people of all different ages and origins meet here in an unusually relaxed international atmosphere. They communicate with one another, relax, work or simply take a peaceful break. Opening July 2012.Unique aspects of the hotelWe have a breath of Amsterdam flair in store for you here, with distinctive art in the lobby. With a nod to the Old Masters, details from the great works of the golden age of painting are located throughout the hotel. The 232 comfortable non-smoker rooms offer an own bathroom with shower, toilet and hairdryer as well as a television and air conditioning. The hotel boasts spacious public areas such as lobby, bar and guest kitchen, in which use of W-LAN is free of charge. Our lavish all-you-can-eat-and-drink breakfast buffet gives you the ideal start to your day and is available at a small extra fee. Cars can be parked in the hotel underground garage, also at a charge.Location of the hotel, surrounding area and sightsThe MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West lies in the corridor between city centre and Schiphol Airport, directly by the Sloterdijk transport hub. From here it is just a 5-minute ride with the urban railway to Centraal Station at the heart of the Old Town and ten minutes to Schiphol Airport, with Utrecht less than an hour away by train. Whether you want to travel round the canals, visit the Rijksmuseum, stroll through the flower market, have a stopover in a coffee shop or complete a business appointment, the Dutch metropolis receives its guests with welcoming openness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing