We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
Ranked #110 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed in the six bedded room for one night at the Meiningher which was just what we were looking for. Having never stayed in a hostel and the fact the room was so cheap we didn't have high expectations but we were pleasantly surprised! The room was perfectly clean and the beds were sooo comfy! Some people have complained over the location but it was ideal. The train station is a one minute walk away and takes you straight to the centre of amsterdam. We all commented on how quiet it was in our room, no noise could be heard at all. I stayed here with a group of friends but if I was to visit Amsterdam again with my partner I would definitely book to stay here again.

Room Tip: The six bedded room would be ideal for a group of friends or a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthonys G, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2016

Hello,
Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you very soon in one of our european hotels!
Best,
The Meininger Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,988)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

855 - 861 of 1,988 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

I ended up staying here for a much longer period of time than planned - I moved over to Amsterdam last year for an internship as part of my uni degree, and due to several issues with accommodation I spent 3 weeks here. I'll definitely be returning if I visit Amsterdam again in the future!

Weekday nights and Sundays are fantastic value for the service you get, including free wifi. The hostel isn't exactly central, about 2.50 euros each way to the city, but even so, it's right next to the train station. For me the lower price reflected the distance from the city centre, but I'm not fussed staying further out if it's better value. Breakfast is a little pricey for a hostel in my opinion (about 6 euros), but there's a large choice and it's good quality, too.

I stayed in an 8 person dorm and the rooms are very spacious, if you can get a top bunk it doesn't feel at all crowded. Being out of the city centre, I found most of the travellers that came and went during my longer stay were mainly students on gap years, backpackers, etc, the location doesn't seem to appeal to people who want to party in Amsterdam, so fairly quiet, and very little outside noise.

I found most of the staff very helpful and obliging. I do not however, recommend you use their washing machine - it broke mid cycle and I was left with a LOT of soaking wet clothes! As this happened late in the evening and I was unable to go to a launderette, the staff on reception at the time were extremely helpful and accommodating and even went as far as letting me use the dryers in the staff room! I assume this isn't normal practice but it certainly shows they're willing to help their guests as much as possible. I had plenty of advice from a few staff members as well about finding flatshares in the city. They're not always friendly but they are helpful and efficient.

Rooms were cleaned thoroughly and regularly, and there's no lock out while they do so, as long as you're happy with them cleaning while you're there. But this mainly takes place during the middle of the day, so of course you should be out enjoying the city at that time! Lockers in the rooms are very big, you'll get an entire backpack in there, just bring your own padlock or buy one at reception.

If I'd have been with a young family I have no issues bringing them here either, also good for groups of friends and safe enough for solo travellers. There's also a kitchen, not a bad size but it does get quite busy, also lots of space to store food in the fridge in named bags. Much better than any hostel I've stayed in so far!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeanPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthonys G, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2016

Hello,
Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you very soon in one of our european hotels!
Best,
The Meininger Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The hotel is one station away from the Amsterdam Central station, however you need to pay 3 euros one way so it is kinda expensive if you are planning to stay for a few days. The rooms are okay in general, more like a clean and highclass dorm I would say. It is perfect for families, but not that special for couples. It is really easy to find, and the price is reasonable. I would suggest to people who travel in groups.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Nelson T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthonys G, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2016

Hello,
Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you very soon in one of our european hotels!
Best,
The Meininger Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is the best answer for the pp question. Very good location, gospitable and kind staff. The train station is just infront of the hotel. Very beatiful neighbourhood.good companies etc... i guess its already 200 (two hundered) characters.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miceinworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthonys G, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2016

Hello,
Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you very soon in one of our european hotels!
Best,
The Meininger Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Close to Sloterdijk train station, so easy for getting in and out of the city. Staff were hurried and short, but nothing to complain about. The room was spotless and clean. Lovely crisp linens and clean towels. No problems with the room at all. Quiet hallways.
Amazing breakfast selection, kept our family of 3 very happy! Meats, cheese, cereals, fruit, yogurt, breads. Great value.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank randomhotelinspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthonys G, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2016

Hello,
Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you very soon in one of our european hotels!
Best,
The Meininger Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

It's hard to find a good room in Amsterdam if you are a family of five. Meininger has it even up to 7
people! Good location for traveling. City easily reachable by train. Very friendly welcome and good service.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthonys G, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2016

Hello,
Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you very soon in one of our european hotels!
Best,
The Meininger Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed here last night because we went to a concert in Amsterdam and as I work in Amsterdam but live about an hour away it would save us a lot of time.

Personally the 3 most important aspects of any hotel are:
[ ] cleanliness
[ ] a good bed
[ ] a good shower

Meininger ticked all of these boxes with ease, we payed 52 euro's for a 2 person room... which is very cheap, most hotels will charge double that for a room that isn't half as good.

As for location, this hotel is not in the city centre... but it's right next to a train station (Amsterdam Sloterdijk), so Amsterdam central station is only a 5 minute trip away with trains running every couple of minutes. Anyone complaining about the location did not look at the map ;)

Being close to a station / and a budget hotel/ youth hostel worried me a bit, but they put a lot of effort in to soundproofing the rooms :) We heard almost no train sounds and none of our neighbours.

As there is always room for improval I have a couple of very small remarks:
- there is no safe in the room, but you can rent something at the reception...
- personally I like a room to be cold at night, even with the aircon set to freezing it wasn't as cool as I hoped it would be.
- a couple of cups in the bathroom would have been nice

But again, these are very minor things... I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WRoyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthonys G, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2016
Google Translation

Gentile cliente,
Grazie della bellissima recensione del nostro hotel! Siamo molto contenti che la sua permanenza è stata piacevole e ci auguriamo di rivederla presto.
Cordiali saluti dallo Meininger Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
XO Hotels Park West
#64 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,995 reviews
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
#154 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,507 reviews
XO Hotels Blue Square
#162 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Address: Orlyplein 1-67, 1043 DR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $62 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style and atmosphere of the hotelThe new MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West offers a very special atmosphere for your stay: people of all different ages and origins meet here in an unusually relaxed international atmosphere. They communicate with one another, relax, work or simply take a peaceful break. Opening July 2012.Unique aspects of the hotelWe have a breath of Amsterdam flair in store for you here, with distinctive art in the lobby. With a nod to the Old Masters, details from the great works of the golden age of painting are located throughout the hotel. The 232 comfortable non-smoker rooms offer an own bathroom with shower, toilet and hairdryer as well as a television and air conditioning. The hotel boasts spacious public areas such as lobby, bar and guest kitchen, in which use of W-LAN is free of charge. Our lavish all-you-can-eat-and-drink breakfast buffet gives you the ideal start to your day and is available at a small extra fee. Cars can be parked in the hotel underground garage, also at a charge.Location of the hotel, surrounding area and sightsThe MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West lies in the corridor between city centre and Schiphol Airport, directly by the Sloterdijk transport hub. From here it is just a 5-minute ride with the urban railway to Centraal Station at the heart of the Old Town and ten minutes to Schiphol Airport, with Utrecht less than an hour away by train. Whether you want to travel round the canals, visit the Rijksmuseum, stroll through the flower market, have a stopover in a coffee shop or complete a business appointment, the Dutch metropolis receives its guests with welcoming openness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing