We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
Ranked #107 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

The place itself is fine but way too far from the heart of Amsterdam. We changed places after two nights to a place in the Jordaan area and it was WAY better being able to walk out of our place and be right in walking distance of everything. On the plus side they had two acoustic guitars in the lobby so we put on a late night musical performance.

Thank kelseyck
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anthonys G, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2016

Hello,
Thank you for the review. We are sorry that your stay with us weren't as nice as you wished. Please feel free to contact us to let us know the details we could improve to make it better the next time!
Best,
The Meininger Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,972)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

857 - 863 of 1,972 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

As I got an unbelievable rate of 28euro per night for a single room, I couldn't help but feel a bit apprehensive about my stay at this hotel. But i had a very positive experience: my room was brand new, spotlessly clean and neat. Bathroom was very nicely designed and also freshly done - could have been a bathroom of a 4 star hotel. There was free wifi available and the breakfast included all whats needed (eggs, cereal, fruit, toast, croissant, juices, coffee and tea).
Location is convenient for those ready to use the train - as the major train station is literally net door. I travelled by taxi and everywhere was not far.
The design of the room is bare minimalism, so it feels a bit like a university campus residence, but it is functional and convenient. I wouldn't stay here on a family trip or a romantic weekend, but a solo/ business traveller or a young person would be very satisfied here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moscowgogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthonys G, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2016

Hello,
Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you very soon in one of our european hotels!
Best,
The Meininger Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights during the europa league final and it served its purpose. Our double room, although small, was very clean and looked as if it had been renovated recently. It was a very basic room but had everything I was looking for considering we spent very little time there. The staff was helpful and friendly, and the sloterdijk station is literally a 2 min walk, and for around 3€ it will take you to amsterdam centraal station in 5 minutes, or for 7€ it will take you to schiphol airport in about 10 min. This made things very easy for us, and saved us some money for not having stayed in the city itself. At first I was a little skeptical about not staying directly in the city, but after this stay I would definetly stay again if I ever return to amsterdam.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donni305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthonys G, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2016

Hello,
Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you very soon in one of our european hotels!
Best,
The Meininger Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

It's very nice hotel, with a lot of young people. Its 5 minutes to go the station and 7-10 minutes (1 stop) to the Central Amsterdam station. Rooms are good, hotel is new, what else you can want? :) Best greetings to Nadia from reception ant the bar :) Very nice, friendly, cute girl :) Was nice to meet you, Nadya :) Tomas and Renata.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tomazas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthonys G, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2016

Hello,
Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you very soon in one of our european hotels!
Best,
The Meininger Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Hi have been in this hotel for two nights for business purpose. This is at the opposite of all the traditional business hotel I visited. it is very informal, full of young people and in some way with a fun atmosphere. Ok, if you like a traditional formal hotel, this is not for you.
First of all the hotel is very clean, and that is important. the room are quite small but ok considering to be in Amsterdam... With the train you are in downtown in 5 minutes and 10 minutes to the airport. The bar is always open and that is good too. Breakfast is ok, not excellent but you have all you need. The people at the desk or at the bar are very nice and tae care of your need. so, a good choice if you are in Amsterdam

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthonys G, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2016

Hello,
Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you very soon in one of our european hotels!
Best,
The Meininger Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed here with 3 friends. we booked a "4 bed mixed dorm". To me that means 4 beds in a dorm, therefore it would be exclusive to the group of us. we arrived and there were 5 beds, but two pushed together like a double. Then anorher guest let herself into the room. I went to ask the receptionist, Nikola, and she abruptly told me we were "lucky to be in the same room" and would she like me to put us all in seperare rooms? The other receptionist, Katya, added snootily that the other guests who had been split up werent complaining, why were we?
I dont believe I got the room I paid for, and I certainly dont expect the staff to be so rude when I try to explain to them my problem. I also would expect a reply when I contacted customer services which I didnt get.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pku285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthonys G, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2016

Hello,
Thank you for the review. We are sorry that your stay with us weren't as nice as you wished. Please feel free to contact us to let us know the details we could improve to make it better the next time!
Best,
The Meininger Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I didn't stay long here, but while I did I couldn't complain. It offered an affordable room with good transport links and the breakfast was pleasant also. The fella at the reception was a bit of a joker, but given my state of mind upon arrival I was an easy target!

The room was clean and tidy and apart from a little noise from the congregation of youths having a cheeky spliff by the entrance, I couldn't find any fault. I slept pretty well and moved on.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pagon69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthonys G, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2016

Hello,
Thank you for the review. We hope to see you very soon in one of our european hotels!
Best,
The Meininger Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
XO Hotels Blue Square
#163 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,014 reviews
XO Hotels Park West
#64 of 374 in Amsterdam
3,976 reviews
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
#155 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Address: Orlyplein 1-67, 1043 DR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $66 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style and atmosphere of the hotelThe new MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West offers a very special atmosphere for your stay: people of all different ages and origins meet here in an unusually relaxed international atmosphere. They communicate with one another, relax, work or simply take a peaceful break. Opening July 2012.Unique aspects of the hotelWe have a breath of Amsterdam flair in store for you here, with distinctive art in the lobby. With a nod to the Old Masters, details from the great works of the golden age of painting are located throughout the hotel. The 232 comfortable non-smoker rooms offer an own bathroom with shower, toilet and hairdryer as well as a television and air conditioning. The hotel boasts spacious public areas such as lobby, bar and guest kitchen, in which use of W-LAN is free of charge. Our lavish all-you-can-eat-and-drink breakfast buffet gives you the ideal start to your day and is available at a small extra fee. Cars can be parked in the hotel underground garage, also at a charge.Location of the hotel, surrounding area and sightsThe MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West lies in the corridor between city centre and Schiphol Airport, directly by the Sloterdijk transport hub. From here it is just a 5-minute ride with the urban railway to Centraal Station at the heart of the Old Town and ten minutes to Schiphol Airport, with Utrecht less than an hour away by train. Whether you want to travel round the canals, visit the Rijksmuseum, stroll through the flower market, have a stopover in a coffee shop or complete a business appointment, the Dutch metropolis receives its guests with welcoming openness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing