We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great cafes to sit and watch the world go by” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Herengracht

Herengracht
Book In Advance
$42.59*
and up
Amsterdam Evening Burger and Beer Cruise
Ranked #20 of 466 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
157 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great cafes to sit and watch the world go by”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Herengracht was a canal we spent a lot of time by. The tram stop was right there and when we got off there were cafes to sit and watch the world go by. Also a good stop to get off to buy shoes at the many shoe shops in the area.
Wandering, sitting, watching the canal traffic, wandering some more - lovely area to spend some time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shanara1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    863
    549
    75
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Canal walk!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

It is a great walk, where you can look at wonderful Dutch architecture. Flower boxes in the Canals provide a great frame for picture perfect canals. Sit in a neighborhood cafe and enjoy the view. On the. Way back, take one of the perpendicular streets to get back and enjoy the shops and ambiance.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank mrolivieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
149 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Perfect Photos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

I've seen this area in a lot of photos particularly over the canal on the bridge. I wanted to go and get some nice photos of my own and I am happy I did because it is such a nice place. Over looking the Herengracht on the bridge especially in the night time is heaven.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heyimneise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Canal Tour Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Takes a good hour to do this..but travels through one of the nicest neighborhoods of town. A nice lunch/afternoon snack followed by this tour is a good way to go. Can buy tickets near the Amsterdam Centraal (tourist information office here)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Hans Ü
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
94 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

Great place to take a walk. It's one of the many channels that make Amsterdam so unique. I recommend to go for all its length.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michał K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Herengracht also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Herengracht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing