We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a bit of history easy to locate by zoo”

The Resistance Museum (Amsterdams Verzetsmuseum)
Book In Advance
More Info
$47.51*
and up
Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass
More Info
$22.44*
and up
Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Canal Cruise
More Info
$67.70*
and up
I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam
Ranked #25 of 516 things to do in Amsterdam
Attraction details
Dundee
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“a bit of history easy to locate by zoo”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Well laid out easy to follow. Gives you insight into the lives of locals before and after the second world war.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank K.D.Ttree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,807 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,671
    878
    206
    49
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Interesting museum”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This museum was in a part of Amsterdam I had not visited before. Lots going on there. The museum itself was a different aspect of war - how the Dutch stood up to the nazis and helped Jewish neighbours. Lots of individual stories

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank fratersmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Thought Provoking and Worth A Visit”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Firstly, there is a free locker, cloakroom, toilets and Audio Tour - that is definitely a 'must'. Unusual to get anything free in Amsterdam. The Museum is very good but some of the exhibits are difficult to see, we felt they should be clearer in the show cases. Some of the labels are too low to see. The restaurant is not one we felt comfortable in just to have a coffee or snack - it looked like people were dressed for dinner and we walked into the centre for a coffee after our visit. Having said those few negative things it IS worth a visit and the staff are very helpful. I am not sure we learnt much about the Dutch people and wonder if a few 'real' stories from people who lived through it would have been good also, actual interviews and speaking their own words. Museums like this should be encouraged and it's marvellous for the children to learn about the war, their section is excellent.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank GeraldineJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A bit out of the way, but worth the trip ...”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

A rather small museum dedicated to the resistance movement in Holland during the Second World War. Many artifacts and descriptions on the everyday lives of those who tried to stand up to the Third Reich. Interesting to visit this long with the Jewish Heritage Musuem which is close by. These are both included as free with the purchase of the IAmsterdam Card.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank swanssi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very interesting museum”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

This museum has and excellent and informative audio tour which if included in the ticket at no extra charge. However allow plenty of time if you want to listen to everything, we would recommend at least 2 hours, we ran out of time as it we had to leave in order to catch our plane. There is a lot of information with interesting and varied displays, some multimedia, and hardly a mention of Anne Frank so it complements the Anne Frank Museum very well. Slightly off the beaten track unless you are going to the zoo but well worth it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank enlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Resistance Museum (Amsterdams Verzetsmuseum) also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to The Resistance Museum (Amsterdams Verzetsmuseum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing