We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very interesting”

The Resistance Museum (Amsterdams Verzetsmuseum)
Book In Advance
More Info
$43.59*
and up
Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass
Ranked #16 of 501 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Teesside
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This was very interesting exhibits well thought out and displayed. Fascinating to see how 'normal' people put up the fight!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank HnJ29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,566
    838
    200
    44
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Longwood, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“If your in amsterdam its a must see”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We were late to a dinner and they were closing in an hour so we didn't have much time, but what we did see was great. Its filled with WWII history and holocaust artifacts. I plan to go back next time to get more time to see everything

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank RichardGilliland83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
278 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Some good info but dogmatic”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Some good eyewitness accounts of the era of occupation of the Netherlands but the dogmatic and simplistic approach makes you wonder whether this museum was made for children only or also for thinking adults.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Not Your B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamborine Mountain, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Interesting & interactive for a museum”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This was a great museum & not characteristic of your normal museum. A little out from the centre of the city via tram, it is quite near the zoo & also if you need a coffee/snack I’d recommend the café which is immediately to the left of entrance in the same building [can’t recall name]. It details the plight of Amsterdam locals during the Nazi occupation of WW2 & how various groups decided to adapt [go about life as usual], resist [blatantly or with underground newspapers etc] or those that would essentially collaborate with Nazis but actually plot ways to rebel or not have their culture changed overly. There was a good timeline set out of the haves and have nots & divisions in Dutch society even prior to the Nazi invasion. The experience portrayed of the Jewish citizens & their gradual outcast descending into violence was very vivid & films & interactive displays also show this well, with many anecdotes from citizens at the time. I’m not a natural museum lover but I found this really interesting & interesting to see the how Dutch were loyal to each other, supportive or often indifferent to Jewish suffering, & indeed, harsh & violent post WW2 to fellow citizens they perceived as traitors & Nazi aligned. I do not regret attending. Great perspective on the suffering resilience & cleverness of people during wartime & if you think you’re having a bad day, think again I suppose

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carebear79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Level Contributor
210 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“A good insight to the plight of the Dutch people”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We'll documented chronologically and very different to what I was expecting. Well worth visiting, audio tour is free.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ptpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Resistance Museum (Amsterdams Verzetsmuseum) also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to The Resistance Museum (Amsterdams Verzetsmuseum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing