We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good museum to visit”

The Resistance Museum (Amsterdams Verzetsmuseum)
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.53*
and up
Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass
Ranked #19 of 503 things to do in Amsterdam
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A good museum to visit”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Well-laid out and well presented. You will learn about the 5-year German occupation of the Netherlands during WW2. I did not know much about this topic but came away more knowledgeable.
Dutch society prior to the war is explained, life, attitudes and beliefs during are examined as well as after.
As previous reviewers have mentioned the museum is very interactive.
Allow at least 2 hours to visit properly.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shona J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,720 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,613
    856
    202
    46
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Take your time.”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a very interesting museum dealing with WW2. There is alot to see and as much to read, so I wouldnt go if you are in a rush or have small children. Very informative and interesting.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shelly0975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“informative”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

this is great museum so much information and done in such a way that it never becomes boring we spent 2 hours enjoying every minute its laid out into cul de sacs each one telling a different story we certainly learnt quite a lot of things which we were previouly unaware

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ja27swindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wicked awesome!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

One of our favorite museums in Europe. Honestly. It was very interactive and informative... and we LOVED the special exhibit on the personalized quilts made by prisoners in concentration camps. Surprisingly engaging two and a half hours of our time.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mass_Dave35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“interesting museum”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I took the tram out from amsterdam centraal station and it is located opposite the zoo. spent about 2 hours here. I thought it was very interesting on what happened in Holland during the War. found the area where the Dutch were trying to hold onto Indonesia during the end of the year. worth a visit. there is a locker there before you enter the museum area to put your bag away if you want to

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank foleyger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Resistance Museum (Amsterdams Verzetsmuseum) also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to The Resistance Museum (Amsterdams Verzetsmuseum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing