We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Iron Horse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Iron Horse
Ranked #32 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had an amazing stay here. The rooms are very spacious, clean and modern with a nice comfy bed. You could easily access the tram from the hotel and the staff on reception were very happy to give directions and explain where to eat etc. In the lobby you could make free coffee/tea etc. which was brilliant. Great value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bktraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    319
    101
    29
    22
See reviews for
77
291
43
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Good location and complimentary coffee at reception. Rooms are spacious for Amsterdam but fairy standard and basic - very little atmosphere. Windows cannot open so it is air-conditioning only. Room became quite stuffy.
Breakfast reasonably priced but limited selection, e.g. only one type of cheese - and that for the cheese producing country!

Room Tip: Try for a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rianviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This was a very nice option within easy walking distance to the center of Amsterdam. You could enjoy your day and then get away from the gobs of tourists and eat dinner in peace with locals. Lots of services close by including a post office and grocery store. The room was large and clean and the horse decor is wonderful. There are no elevators, so if you have a lot of luggage or heavy luggage, request a room on the lower levels. Breakfast was pretty sparse for what we paid - go outside and get something from the grocery or a local restaurant. The 16-year old breakfast attendant had MTV music videos blaring and took frequent cigarette breaks, so you had the pleasure of stale smoke along with your headache inducing entertainment. The hallways could also use a good vacuuming...there was hair all over the stairs, including what looked like a large cluster of someone's hair extensions. Overall, this really is a good hotel, it just needs some fine-tuning.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This is a wonderful hotel. We stayed here for a week at the beginning of July!

You can easily take the tram from Central Station and get off in Leidsplein. It is a bit confusing when you get off the tram where to go but you walk towards the Marriott and turn right then you will see the street Overtooms and go down there. It is only about 4 minutes from that tram station where you can take the tram anywhere! This hotel is in a wonderful location. You can walk to Dam square in about 17 minutes but you can hope on the tram and be there in just a couple.

We were nicely greatly at the front desk. And everyone there was very helpful with anything you need. Our room was very clean and the bathroom was large. The room was enough room for the two of us but it did not have extra space. ( We have stayed in much smaller rooms in London and NY). We had a window that looked outside on the second floor. One day we did not have internet in our room and the front desk were helpful in solving the problem.

The hotel is so quiet so nice to stay out of the main area. There is a markt and a grocery store very close to the hotel. One of the greatest things about this hotel is the machine in the lobby where you can get coffee, hot chocolate and more! We throughly enjoyed this!

Thank you Iron Horse for such a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Get an outside window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adventurebaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
120 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

I booked here on Leidseplein for a change and to get away from the loud central areas, populated normally by stoned or drink kids backpacking through Europe. I loved the property. It's a short team ride from Central Station on lines 1,2 or 5. The hotel is modern, clean, good Wifi, sparkling baths, A/C and a very friendly, accommodating staff. Lots of good restos, bars and shops in the area. I liked it so much I booked again for December 2014.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AtlStew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uphall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Hotel is approx. 6 tram stops from Central Station, within walking distance of Heineken experience and has lots of nice bars and restaurants on its doorstep. You can walk to Dam Square but easier to get the tram. We got a 4 day tram pass for 21 euros each...excellent value for money.
Hotel is clean & tidy. Rooms are small and all to the back so no views to speak of at all. First room we were offered was on a walkway so window looked directly into another rooms bedroom...as it was the main source of light, we asked to change. Next room had a small window looking into courtyard type place with stairs and fire escapes. To be honest, it felt expensive for what we got. Its not dead central and we had room only. Compared to other places visited, the rates felt high for a small room with nothing much else to it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirleydoll S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is centrally located and a 20 minute walk to Dam Square. In a great location with a tram stop just around the corner making it easy to access from the airport. Clean rooms with lots of space. Lots of restaurants and cafes nearby. Enjoyed our stay here, would recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Esspresso
Hotel Esspresso
#96 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 706 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#139 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#111 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Vossius Vondelpark
Hotel Vossius Vondelpark
#62 of 329 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 409 reviews
Hotel Not Hotel
#34 of 329 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Allure
Hotel Allure
#59 of 329 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iron Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iron Horse

Property: Hotel Iron Horse
Address: Overtoom 33, 1054 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Iron Horse 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Iron Horse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing