We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice little hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Iron Horse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Iron Horse
Ranked #33 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice little hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We spent 6 nights at the Iron Horse and really enjoyed it. Lots of interesting architecture but nice modern, clean rooms. Great location, not in the busiest spot but still lots around to do. Vondel park almost right behind and the busy downtown area a short walk away. Rented bikes from 3 doors down, grocery stores and starbucks very close.the coffe machine in the lobby was very handy too!
Would highly recommend this hotel!!

Room Tip: Stayed on the second floor facing the street. Nice big window and high ceilings. Very narrow stairs...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 575suzanne575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    319
    101
    29
    22
See reviews for
77
291
43
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My friend and I recently spent 5 days at this hotel. The location was excellent. In the five days we were there, we walked the entire city and did not have to take the tram once (even though there were plenty of trams on our doorstep). We were about a 10 minute walk to some of the museums and about a 25 minute walk to the top of the Red Light District. Also we were able to catch the hop on hop off canal boat about a block away from the hotel. The hotel was also very easy to get to from the airport. We just jumped on a bus for 4 euro and 30 minutes later it stopped about a block from the hotel.

Our room was perfectly fine for our needs as we did not spend much time there. We had a twin room that had heating/cooling and was very clean. We seemed to have a newly renovated bathroom which looked great. The only problem we had was a drainage issue with the shower and sink. It seems they rushed the job and nothing drained properly. I ended up standing in 2 inches of water every time I took a shower. Really too bad since it looked great. We also found the reception people all very nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PassportWillTravel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Its a very good hotel,the room is very comfortable, you have a place for your bike, but its not a place to make friends, maybe if they have a bar it could be excelent. O trem da cidade para bem proximo ao hotel, não faltam atrações proximas a eles com a Leidsplein entre outras, fica facil ficar hospedado la e curtir tudo de bicicleta

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antwerp
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel is ideally located if you want to combine the visiting of the musea,and the center. We had a nice room with a modern bathroom and had all the facilities you needed (what you expect from a 4 star hotel). Staff is friendly. Only one point for improvement: we expected a nicer breakfast, we paid 7.5 euro for the breakfast which is ok but I rather pay more and get more
but I would definitely go back

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strikgeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This hotel is extremely close to the Rijksmuseum, Stedelijk Museum, and Vondel park. If you get yourself a bike, the whole city is at your disposal - Anne Frank House, Red Light district, and more. Bikes can be safely parked in a hotel courtyard. Two good supermarkets are less than five minutes away by foot.

The staff made a very good impression on us. One staff member, Moize, replaced a lamp bulb from our room and also changed our room when we noticed there was a problem with ventilation / heating. Other staff members helped us locate facilities and attractions.

Would recommend. Thanks again, Moize!

Room Tip: Avoid basement rooms if possible. If there's a problem with your room (cooling, smell, etc.) Don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The front desk staff was wonderful, it was easy to get to the hotel via tram, and the hotel is in walking distance to the Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum.

There were two or three canal boat tours within a few blocks and the area was lots cleaner and greener than the area closer to the train station.

I stayed in the Jordaan last time but prefer this area, the Vondelpark.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katerini, Greece
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We specificly ask for a room with a nice view in upper floor.We have seen fotos of hotel and we have read the description but we weren't prepeared for THAT room.It was a tiny room beside the entrance without...WINDOWS.Yes,this is fact there wasn't any window.We immediately asked for an other room.The second room was in 1st floor and also was tiny and it had a window faced the wall of the building beside the hotel.The worst thing of all, there were renovation working in progress and we were waked up at 8 o'clock in the morning. We were asked to pay at the check in ,which didn't pleased us. Besides all this the hotel was in very good location with many restaurants and bars nearby. Bus 197 transfer you directly to the Schiphol airport

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E-man-Pant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Esspresso
Hotel Esspresso
#98 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 704 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#145 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 467 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#107 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Vossius Vondelpark
Hotel Vossius Vondelpark
#63 of 330 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
Hotel Not Hotel
#35 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Allure
Hotel Allure
#60 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iron Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iron Horse

Property: Hotel Iron Horse
Address: Overtoom 33, 1054 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Iron Horse 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Iron Horse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing