We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little hotel”
Review of Hotel Iron Horse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Iron Horse
Ranked #29 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We spent 6 nights at the Iron Horse and really enjoyed it. Lots of interesting architecture but nice modern, clean rooms. Great location, not in the busiest spot but still lots around to do. Vondel park almost right behind and the busy downtown area a short walk away. Rented bikes from 3 doors down, grocery stores and starbucks very close.the coffe machine in the lobby was very handy too!
Would highly recommend this hotel!!

Room Tip: Stayed on the second floor facing the street. Nice big window and high ceilings. Very narrow stairs...
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank 575suzanne575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (768)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

325 - 331 of 768 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

My friend and I recently spent 5 days at this hotel. The location was excellent. In the five days we were there, we walked the entire city and did not have to take the tram once (even though there were plenty of trams on our doorstep). We were about a 10 minute walk to some of the museums and about a 25 minute walk to the top of the Red Light District. Also we were able to catch the hop on hop off canal boat about a block away from the hotel. The hotel was also very easy to get to from the airport. We just jumped on a bus for 4 euro and 30 minutes later it stopped about a block from the hotel.

Our room was perfectly fine for our needs as we did not spend much time there. We had a twin room that had heating/cooling and was very clean. We seemed to have a newly renovated bathroom which looked great. The only problem we had was a drainage issue with the shower and sink. It seems they rushed the job and nothing drained properly. I ended up standing in 2 inches of water every time I took a shower. Really too bad since it looked great. We also found the reception people all very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PassportWillTravel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Its a very good hotel,the room is very comfortable, you have a place for your bike, but its not a place to make friends, maybe if they have a bar it could be excelent. O trem da cidade para bem proximo ao hotel, não faltam atrações proximas a eles com a Leidsplein entre outras, fica facil ficar hospedado la e curtir tudo de bicicleta

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel is ideally located if you want to combine the visiting of the musea,and the center. We had a nice room with a modern bathroom and had all the facilities you needed (what you expect from a 4 star hotel). Staff is friendly. Only one point for improvement: we expected a nicer breakfast, we paid 7.5 euro for the breakfast which is ok but I rather pay more and get more
but I would definitely go back

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank strikgeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This hotel is extremely close to the Rijksmuseum, Stedelijk Museum, and Vondel park. If you get yourself a bike, the whole city is at your disposal - Anne Frank House, Red Light district, and more. Bikes can be safely parked in a hotel courtyard. Two good supermarkets are less than five minutes away by foot.

The staff made a very good impression on us. One staff member, Moize, replaced a lamp bulb from our room and also changed our room when we noticed there was a problem with ventilation / heating. Other staff members helped us locate facilities and attractions.

Would recommend. Thanks again, Moize!

Room Tip: Avoid basement rooms if possible. If there's a problem with your room (cooling, smell, etc.) Don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The front desk staff was wonderful, it was easy to get to the hotel via tram, and the hotel is in walking distance to the Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum.

There were two or three canal boat tours within a few blocks and the area was lots cleaner and greener than the area closer to the train station.

I stayed in the Jordaan last time but prefer this area, the Vondelpark.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We specificly ask for a room with a nice view in upper floor.We have seen fotos of hotel and we have read the description but we weren't prepeared for THAT room.It was a tiny room beside the entrance without...WINDOWS.Yes,this is fact there wasn't any window.We immediately asked for an other room.The second room was in 1st floor and also was tiny and it had a window faced the wall of the building beside the hotel.The worst thing of all, there were renovation working in progress and we were waked up at 8 o'clock in the morning. We were asked to pay at the check in ,which didn't pleased us. Besides all this the hotel was in very good location with many restaurants and bars nearby. Bus 197 transfer you directly to the Schiphol airport

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E-man-Pant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#129 of 372 in Amsterdam
902 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#134 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,457 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Vossius Vondelpark
Hotel Vossius Vondelpark
#59 of 338 in Amsterdam
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Hotel Allure
Hotel Allure
#74 of 338 in Amsterdam
407 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 338 in Amsterdam
924 reviews
Hotel Not Hotel
#31 of 338 in Amsterdam
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iron Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iron Horse

Address: Overtoom 33, 1054 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $108 - $586 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Iron Horse 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Iron Horse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing