We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Close”
Review of Hotel Iron Horse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Iron Horse
Ranked #28 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This hotel was perfect for our 3 day stay in Amsterdam. The hotel was extremely clean, the room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. It was a 5-10 minute walk from the restaurant district, and less than 20 minute walk from many main attractions (Anne Frank House, Heineken Brewery, Van Gogh Museum, etc.) The only thing that I would say was negative was that the walls were a little thin. I woke up many times from loud neighbors and the housekeepers cleaning. We took advice from other reviewers and ate breakfast elsewhere which I was glad we did. There is a nice place for breakfast right next door. However, the hotel does provide complimentary espresso, coffee, hot chocolate and cappuccino.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (778)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

334 - 340 of 778 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

Hotel rooms have recently been updated. The location to transportation is great, breakfast is good, hotel staff is very helpful. I would recommend this hotel to others. The bus to the city centre is about a block away and a 10 minute ride.

Room Tip: there is no elevator, if that is a concern, if you wish a view be sure to ask for one, many rooms ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nlester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Very clean hotel.
The only con about this hotel is no smoking policy. Every room with a smoking sensor and you'll be fine 150euro if get caught.
Strategic location.
Free wifi.
From airport take a bus no.179 to Leidseplein (4 euro).
and the nerest CoffeeShop is Tweedy (150m) =)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AimanFadzly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We chose this hotel because of its discount rate on hotels.com, and its location. It was 35% off! Overall it's was ok. We had great wi-fi connection and the staff was really nice. There were little details, though. We got the basement Room that was right next to the breakfast room, so if you'd like to sleep in, make sure you don't get the room 16! Also the bed sheets had little holes in them, but nothing to be scared of. The hotel is one square away from the main streets and from the most important museums. Good luck!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SofiaGomezlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights after booking on the day. We had a very nice triple room, close to the city centre and in particular Leidesplein Square which has an abundance of bars! The staff were very welcoming. The beds were very comfortable, and rooms clean. The complementary hot drinks in reception were also a nice touch.

Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We have been to Iron Horse in April 2011. The hotel was still under construction but staffs were helpful to provide necessary information, room service.

Quite, clean and very good location. Collect places of interest mini cards from lobby. If you wish to rent a bike, it's next door to the hotel.

Room Tip: We have rare garden view room on ground floor. Was nice though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lillgha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

If you can get past the rather naff horse theme, this is a decent hotel for the price. We paid £380 for 3 nights during (UK) half term and at short notice which isn’t bad for Amsterdam and have no complaints.

The staff were helpful and efficient. The rooms are simple, clean, modern and comfortable if a little small and with limited views/daylight but better than many others we have stayed in. It’s in a very convenient location for the usual tourist stuff such as the Rijksmuseum and Leidseplien. Didn’t try breakfast so can’t comment on the food.

Overall a very good experience and would happily stay there again

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 338 in Amsterdam
927 reviews
Hotel Not Hotel
#29 of 338 in Amsterdam
343 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Vossius Vondelpark
Hotel Vossius Vondelpark
#59 of 338 in Amsterdam
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Hotel Allure
Hotel Allure
#74 of 338 in Amsterdam
416 reviews
Jordaan
Mr. Jordaan Hotel
Mr. Jordaan Hotel
#7 of 338 in Amsterdam
275 reviews
Centrum
Amsterdam At Home
Amsterdam At Home
#27 of 338 in Amsterdam
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iron Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iron Horse

Address: Overtoom 33, 1054 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $83 - $723 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Iron Horse 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Iron Horse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing