We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GORGEOUS!”
Review of De laatste Kruimel

De laatste Kruimel
Ranked #2 of 30 Bakeries in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Lecce, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“GORGEOUS!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from this awesome bakery! Feels like a time warp, taking you in a 19th century place full of delicious fresh products just baked. Absolutely recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    470
    145
    25
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Scones I've Ever Had!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I cannot have been happier when my family and I decided to eat at this bakery for breakfast. It is a small place but is cosy and everything is freshly made in front of you. The staff were nice and helpful and led me to having the forest fruit scone. Oh my was it good! Definitely the best scone I've ever had as it tasted like a scone but had the softness of a blueberry muffin. When you are in Amsterdam I would highly recommend eating here or just to grab a bite to go because you will not regret it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sammmy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A delightful epicurean gem not to be missed.”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This little bakery/coffee/sandwich shop is a breath of fresh air that I happened upon by chance.

In contrast to the busy streets of A'dam, the atmosphere was warm, cozy, and relaxing with a beautiful and friendly staff. Do take your time ordering as there are sweets and quiches in the storefront window, sandwiches on the chalkboard menu, and croissants and scones in abundance to choose from.

You may also choose from a sampling of jams laid out on the counter (although the scones were good on their own). The plain scone was really good with various jams and lemon curd (I ate here almost everyday, so I sampled quite a few). Said jams are homemade, and I bought a jar because of the pineapple-basil.. it was like nothing I've ever tasted before! They had other interesting flavors as well... tomato-rosemary, strawberry, etc..

I also tried many of the sandwiches, one of which was the goat's cheese. It was slightly melted and paired with an olive-apple tapenade. The sandwiches were as unique and delightful to the palate as the baked goods and jams, all of which are fresh and homemade on premise (including the jams).

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dpauI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great spot fo breakfast”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

To a lovely french soundtrack and the smell of warming breads abd quiches this shop oozes style. Little tables crammed on the walls and stacks of cakes in the window. The coffee is good, the canal view nice. Well worth a visit

Helpful?
Thank Jacksob3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
florida
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great pastry”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

This place is hard to find, as name was not obvious from outside, just recognized from the shop window because of tripadvisor user photos, passed by at first. Pastries were very good, got the Rasberry crumb cake slice, and the almond pastry called French toast. Cute little seating out back too, but full sun when we got there so sat inside. Ice coffee Ed a bit week, but refreshing. Go for the sweets, fun to watch them prepare other goodies for the oven while we sat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phd90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De laatste Kruimel also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De laatste Kruimel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing