We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Little cafe & bakery with magic touch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of De laatste Kruimel

De laatste Kruimel
Ranked #2 of 39 Bakeries in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Dutch, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Little cafe & bakery with magic touch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

This little cafe & bakery on a narrow little street feels magic - an abundance of imaginative quiches, delicious pies, colourful cakes fill the shop window and tempt you in to try. The people who run the place seem to be relaxed and really enjoy what they do. Some are serving the customers, others busily baking something delicious at the back of the shop, carrying baskets of apples and peaches along. Everything is made on the spot. The decor is quirky and inventive, and there is even a tiny terass at the back to the canal for a sunny day. I tried the mushroom and walnut quiche which was superb.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_My
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    128
    18
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Yum!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Amazingly delicious and my new best desert spot and Amsterdam!!
It is definitely recommended and don't forget about the freshly made sandwiches, Yum!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Boerierol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great for an escape”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I walked by this café and was beckoned in by all the delicious snacks they had on display in their storefront window. This is a great little spot to take a break. The café is cozy with a few tables for you to choose from or if you wish to catch the sunray there is a small patio at the back of the café that overlooks a small but busy canal.

The savory and sweet snacks available are made on the premises. On the savory side you can choose from a selection of quiche, bread pudding and scones. Their quiche is not the run of the mill variety. I had their mushroom and pesto quiche - yummy. For dessert there are at least about a dozen to choose from. They also make to order sandwiches which are listed on their chalkboard menu.

While I was in Amsterdam I dropped by this café a few times. It is a great escape from the hustle and bustle of being a tourist. You can get refreshing non-alcoholic drinks or if you are in the mood for a hot drink choose from their selection of teas or coffee.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Missynat1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best bakery in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

The place is small but pleasant, everywhere there are also beautiful details from their chairs made ​​of wood until the lamps. Absolutely everything is incredibly divine, so do not hesitate to try anything, but they can not fail to try the french toast, cherry pie with almond and any of the wide variety of quiches, are sublime.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsolayre A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We were lucky enough to be staying very close to this small cafe and we quickly fell in love with it. I can easily say they have the best quiche I have ever had - nothing we found in Paris afterwards could even come close. We will definitely return the next time we travel to Amsterdam and will recommend to others.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De laatste Kruimel also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De laatste Kruimel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing