We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this place”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spiegelkwartier B&B
Ranked #266 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 25, 2014

I recommend that you find someplace else to stay when you are in Amsterdam. This place is called a B&B, but there is no breakfast! The rooms are absolutely bare minimum - - the room we had was the only that had any furniture other than the bed! We had a small table and one chair, which we carried down to the kitchen area so we could seat 6 of us to eat the food we bought at the Albert Heijn grocery store for breakfast. They never made a bed nor did we ever see anyone who ran the place except when we checked in and were given keys. We were told to put CASH (no credit cards) in an envelope and slide it under a locked door. Don't know where they thought we'd come up with an envelope, but luckily we got one with a survey at the Riksmuseum which we used to put the money in. A real ripoff!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillnSha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (10)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 10 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2013

On arrival room looked clean but floor was dirty and there was no brush so we couldn't sweep ourselves. We stayed four days and room wasn't cleaned once and bed sheets not changed at all so after 4 days was looking grotty. On first night there was no hot water this was fixed the next day but the impression was we were putting the owners out. Other people staying in room above were very loud through the night and because there is no one there to manage the property this disrupted out stay. Wish we'd have chosen a different place

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benparkes32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Spiegelkwartier B&B was a great stay for us over New Year. It was like our own little place in the city. Completely independent check in, collecting keys etc.
We didn't see the owners or host (a girl that stays in the same building) once. Breakfast was available to us and our rooms and bathroom clean each day.
Location was good, we rented bikes so was a lot quicker to get around - and fun!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littlelucy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: La mejor es la numero 2 que es la mas grande.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merceestartit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sofiebrauwers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jtoepoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: Chiederei la stanza 4 (la più bella), e in ogni caso starei nelle camere alte.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Federico R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Keizershof
Hotel Keizershof
#149 of 372 in Amsterdam
302 reviews
Rembrandtplein
Hotel Seven one Seven
Hotel Seven one Seven
#90 of 372 in Amsterdam
448 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Mozart Hotel
Mozart Hotel
#230 of 372 in Amsterdam
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,357 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,784 reviews
Apartments Prinsengracht
#105 of 237 in Amsterdam
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spiegelkwartier B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spiegelkwartier B&B

Address: Nieuwe Spiegelstraat 54, 1017 DG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #266 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing