We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Worst "hotel"” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sipermann Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sipermann Hotel
Ranked #305 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
121 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Worst "hotel"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

The ensuite-bathroom is new and the only good thing about this place is the location. They charged us 10 euro/hour after 10pm for late check-in. Remote wasn't working so i went downstairs to ask for new batteries. The manager was unhelpful and kept saying they were close. His father helped by giving me another remote. The room was so small, we had no space to put our bags or to open doors. Furniture was old with dusty artificial flowers and a smashed up lamp shade. Walls are a bright lime green colour and the mirror was crooked. There were holes in the ceiling in the shower. There are only very steep stairs to the rooms, no elevator and in the day when housekeeping is cleaning, the entire corridor is littered with things. I felt like I was in India in a 50 rupee a day room except I wasn't. It's not even cheap and completely not worth ruining your holiday for.

Room Tip: Do not take room no.9, it is too small! the window opens over the bed. and the 2 doors open into the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank yuninthesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    76
    82
    54
    42
See reviews for
21
117
26
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hotel run by an Indian family any the only thing in their mind is money They only think to get 1 extra euro from you. Hotel can not be considered as hotel because it may only be a hostel. Family lives in the basement floor and the hostel always smells Indian food. they charge extra 10€ for your late check-in (not check-out) and of course they charge extra if you late check-out. They charge for keeping baggage after check-out (son said 3€ father charged 5€) rooms are very small and beds are uncomfortable. Four story hotel does not have an elevator, you need to carry your baggage to your room by yourself, there is no bellboy and there is no receptionist. Main door is always closed, you need to ring the bell and wait for someone to open the door. I have never seen such bad and dirty hotel, I feel sorry for myself that have not read through trip advisor before booking this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Berk_Celebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Vesoul
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

I have never seen such bad and dirty hotel!

They have lost (or stole) my clothes, which I left in the room!
Went I came to ask where was my clothes, the boss, with big smile, told me that I have probably lost it some were else in the Amsterdam, At the end, he didn’t wanted to do any thing to solve the problem, so I lost for 100euro of clothes and I had 3 bad nights.

I am use to travel a lot in Amsterdam, and this my worst experience.
In addition the hotel is dirty, noisy and the bed was uncomfortable.

Don’t go there if you want to have nice stay, there is a lot of other hotel for the same price in Amsterdam with butter quality, and honest owner.

The room was dirty .

Nicolas chapel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VesoulNicolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

The hotel is only a few minutes from Liedsesplein in a quiet street, so its location is excellent. The room is small but functional,on the third floor, up three flights of steep stairs - this is not a hotel for those with limited mobility. The bed was very soft, with only A single blanket. Since the heating seemed to be turned on and off sporadically, I was woken by the cold during the night, and the bathroom was never warm. However, the room was clean and there's no doubt that it was cheap, so I suppose you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brendan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Hotel is overlooking very famous "Vondel Park", near to a popular square Leidseplein, Holland Casino and Museumplein all with in few minutes walk. Room was small but fully equiped, comfortable bed and clean. Hotel is very secure and room was with good locking system. You can enjoy 30 chanels on LCD TV, internet was very fast and free of cost. Staff was helpful and freindly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

We had reservation with Sipermann Hotel for 4 nights in August, as our summer vacation first stop. In order to obtain Shengen visa for my wife we're required to provide a copy of formal signed booking confirmation from every hotel we'll stay in. We had no trouble with that, everyone is cooperating, till now.
"Anand (manager)" declined my request to confirm reservation. Here is the quote from his response to my request: "In order to provide confirmation you are requested to book non - refundable pre - paid booknig."
So, according to Anand, in case if my wife's visa is not granted for any reason, we have to loose all we paid for our 3 weeks trip.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank goSFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

I feel sorry for myself that have not read through trip advisor before booking this hotel in agoda and booking.com.

I am now engage with problem of reservation Sipermann Hotel. There is a confusion between the rate condition I selected whether it is a technical problem, human error or booking.com customer service. I select this hotel because many ppl recommend it is good price + location+service.

It is simple incident, you reserve the rooms that show in web can amend booking but it becomes non-refundable instead in the confirmation letter. It may cause from human or web error. I need explanation and assistance because they charge my card already.

I wrote many email to contact their centre, then, I received one mail from Agoda staff said my rate can amend without charge because the condition pay upon arrival. It makes me relief.

But then, I receive another email from difference staff said I cannot amend booking and it is non-refundable because they contact hotel already!!!!! It seems not ending even before start the trip.

IF YOU WANT TO BOOK THIS HOTEL THROUGH THESE WEBSITES, PLS. MAKE SURE YOU DO NOT NEED ANY ASSISTANCE LATER. BECAUSE YOU WILL BE VERY TRIED DEALING WITH THEIR AFTER SERVICES. WASTE TIME, ENERGY AND MONEY FOR TELEPHONE AND CANCELLATION FEE!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SundayMorning_TH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#250 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Museumzicht
Hotel Museumzicht
#220 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#290 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#148 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#208 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Art Gallery Hotel
Art Gallery Hotel
#323 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sipermann Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sipermann Hotel

Property: Sipermann Hotel
Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 35, 1054 EW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #305 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sipermann Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sipermann Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sipermann Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing