We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Be careful if you book hotel through agoda” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sipermann Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sipermann Hotel
Ranked #304 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Be careful if you book hotel through agoda”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

I feel sorry for myself that have not read through trip advisor before booking this hotel in agoda and booking.com.

I am now engage with problem of reservation Sipermann Hotel. There is a confusion between the rate condition I selected whether it is a technical problem, human error or booking.com customer service. I select this hotel because many ppl recommend it is good price + location+service.

It is simple incident, you reserve the rooms that show in web can amend booking but it becomes non-refundable instead in the confirmation letter. It may cause from human or web error. I need explanation and assistance because they charge my card already.

I wrote many email to contact their centre, then, I received one mail from Agoda staff said my rate can amend without charge because the condition pay upon arrival. It makes me relief.

But then, I receive another email from difference staff said I cannot amend booking and it is non-refundable because they contact hotel already!!!!! It seems not ending even before start the trip.

IF YOU WANT TO BOOK THIS HOTEL THROUGH THESE WEBSITES, PLS. MAKE SURE YOU DO NOT NEED ANY ASSISTANCE LATER. BECAUSE YOU WILL BE VERY TRIED DEALING WITH THEIR AFTER SERVICES. WASTE TIME, ENERGY AND MONEY FOR TELEPHONE AND CANCELLATION FEE!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SundayMorning_TH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    76
    82
    54
    42
See reviews for
21
117
26
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

A basic clean hotel close to the Ledseplein 5 mins walk. Staff friendly room ok with TV, en suite shower toilet and hairdryer.

Don't expect luxury and you won't be disappointed. Beware very steep stairs we were on the 3rd floor and if you have any mobile disability forget it! No tea coffee in the rooms but a machine in the reception €1. Breakfast not included and €20 deposit on electronic key card refunded. Also a 6% card charge and city tax will be added. Lastly if your likely to lose sleep over safety there is no fire escape, well there is but it is the stairs you climbed up. My plan was to go out of the landing window onto the adjacent roof!

We booked late and this was one of the cheapest hotels available. Overall it is well located in the south close enough to bars, restaurants and in a clean safe
area.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil33eod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

My room was on the first floor, and every morning and evening it smelled as if i lived next to the kitchen. But the hotel does not have a kitchen.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Poul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

My boyfriend and i stayed for 3 nights and it was the perfect location in leideseplein city centre, with many bars and restaurants and coffee shops nearby.

The toilets were really clean as well and the room that we had was spacious.
The room was cleaned daily and fresh towels were provided on a daily basis.

Overall this is a great hotel and it is value for your money!
If you do not mind the noise, this is the best hotel for friends and young couples. :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

It was an average family run hotel. Rooms are small. Stairs are noisy. Think it just for sleeping.
The receptionist - son of the owner - tries to upgrade your room.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Can_Tun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

The Hotel Sipermann is a simple and functional hotel, centrally located within a five-minute walk from the tram and bus stations Leidseplein. I was in town on business for a few days and needed a retreat away from the louder crowds, who come to Amsterdam to let loose - but at a reasonable price. The Sipermann is just that: A no-frills, uncomplicated, impeccably clean and very reasonably priced accommodation, but still located in-midst of the city. It's also right around the corner from the beautiful Vodelpark.

One thing that may be an issue for guests at this hotel is the combination of a steep stairwell and lack of an elevator. This is not a fault of the hotel itself, but characteristic of traditional architecture in Amsterdam per se. I stayed on the top floor and consequently hauled my luggage up (and down) three flights of stairs - but this is also the case in many other narrow (read traditional) buildings in this city, hotels and private homes alike. The rooms at the Sipermann are relatively small, so they are better suited for people who spend less time indoors and more time on the town.

Because the wi-fi did not reach to the 3rd/top floor, I was provided with an ethernet cable upon checking in. There's no wake-up service, so bring a reliable alarm clock. There is a 20 Euro cash deposit required for the house/room key, which you will get back upon checking out and a 7% surcharge for paying with cards.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlSt1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#250 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Museumzicht
Hotel Museumzicht
#218 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#289 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#147 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#210 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Kap
Hotel Kap
#282 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sipermann Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sipermann Hotel

Property: Sipermann Hotel
Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 35, 1054 EW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #304 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sipermann Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Sipermann Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sipermann Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing