We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“downtown Amsterdam - Amszterdam kozpontjaban” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rokin Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rokin Hotel
Ranked #173 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Europe
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“downtown Amsterdam - Amszterdam kozpontjaban”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2009

My wife and I went for our honeymoon to Curacao, Netherlands Antilles with a 2 night stopover in Amsterdam. We found the Rokin on the internet. Followed the instructions given on the site, and we got there on foot from the Central Station in 15 minutes.
Small, clean rooms, private bathroom indowntown Amsterdam. You can go for a walk and visit the city centre from the Van Gogh museum to the Red Light District on foot.. The canal boat stop is just 50 m. from the entrance. Nice service, breakfast was great.
The hotel is great for travellers who are looking for a place to sleep, with more than basic needs.
Transylvanian Travellers

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Triple S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    204
    122
    33
    11
See reviews for
37
170
42
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rimini, Italy
Level Contributor
150 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2009

The hotel is right a short walk from Dam Sq. It's clean and brekfast is good. and it's just what you need to start your long day. There's also a car park in the nearby if you're travelling by car. train station is 5 min away by bus. the rokin hotel is what you deserve to enjoy amsterdam. next to there's an irish pub which serves good dishes.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mellyscookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2009

I paid €110 to stay at the Rokin, based mpostly on the reviews from Tripadvisor. Either most of the hotels in Amsterdam - around Centraal Station - are really bad, or this one was over-rated. Certainly not a gem. I purchased a double room (Room 18), because A'dam has such a rep for tiny single bedrooms, and my window looked out to another building 10 feet away, on 3 sides, with a domed window below, No view AT ALL! Well, you could see the sky if you looked up. The room itself was tiny - I had to keep moving a chair around because it either blocked the closet or the pathway to the door. No individual controls of the lights - if you wanted to just read in bed you had to do so with all of the lights on in the room. The bed was ok, although a bit soft. Breakfast was your typical Euro-buffet, except that the sterno had gone out and the eggs & bacon got cold. The "waitress" didn't monitor it, and when I brought it to her attention she fixed me some fresh eggs - scorched - and microwaved the bacon that'd gotten cold - tasted like rubber. TV was a mixture of BBC, Skynews, CNN, a german channel or two, and some Dutch, but there was nothing that I wanted to watch while I was there. The one particularly stand out thing was the free wifi in the room.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GTIup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
125 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2009

We chose the Rokin based on the recommendations here and weren't disappointed. We arrived early, 9.30 in the morning, and were given a room straight away even though check in is normally 3pm. The room was small, but comfortable, on the front side of the hotel: the trams can be noisy but it isn't intrusive. We didn't get up in time to try breakfast but it did smell good. The location, midwaydown Rokin towards the flower market can't be faulted: the hotel is close to all the central tourist areas and just across the street from the main shopping street. There are lots of bars and restaurants nearby and the Red Light District is a couple of blocks away.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 737av8tor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worksop
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2009

a fantastic little hotel ,centrally located for all the major attractions
Amsterdam is a great city ,there is a lot more to it than the red light district and coffee houses
the hotel was clean and the beds where as well
the staff all spoke English and the breakfast was good
the only two things I did lot like were the stairs down to the breakfast room and the hotel did not have a bar
may I recommend that you go to the Rembrandt square area for lunch and evening meals
(a 5 minuet walk at most)
and parking is available at the nearby hotel rho

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank fastandlooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2009

Evi, Greece.
I went there with my partner during the New Year holidays 2008. Thanks to Trip Advisor review, we booked a room at the back of the hotel and NOT on the ground floor or the front.
When we arrived, our first impression of the reception hall was excellent until we got to our room. It was frozen! Temperatures outside were below zero and we were very disappointed.
We immediately complained at the reception and they offered to give us more blankets!!! They said that they were going to send somebody to check it the next morning!
The room itself had only ONE radiator but NO HEATING at all in the bathroom. We were told that no bathroom in the hotel had a radiator!The radiator in the room hadn't been turned on for days. Eventually it became habitable 2 days later.
Other than, the hotel was an excellent choice, very well located, really central and we didn't have to take any means of transport to see all the sites.
It was very clean although the blankets were really worn out.
I believe that we got our money's worth and I would definitely recommend it .
If you decide to book, just ask them to turn on the heating before you get there.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room heating
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PasildaX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#138 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#193 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Cordial
Hotel Cordial
#273 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#144 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Centrum
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
#135 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#111 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rokin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rokin Hotel

Property: Rokin Hotel
Address: Rokin 73, 1012 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rokin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Rokin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rokin Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing