We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Small and cozy hotel close to all the attractions in the city center (Dam)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rokin Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rokin Hotel
Ranked #174 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Small and cozy hotel close to all the attractions in the city center (Dam)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

We got to the hotel at the end of July 2014.
Small pleasant and comfortable hotel . Located very close to Dam Square. has an elevator. Very good customer service helped us with everything we asked for, including how to get anywhere. The room was comfortable, a little old and a bit neglected with no air conditioning. Very good breakfast with good ingredients rich and tasty.
Absolutely recommended.
The major disadvantage is the noise that comes from the street, because of the endless road works, and because of the voices of the people that were having fun in bars and pubs down.
So it is recommended to get a room in the back, without the beautiful view whice is in the front, but lot quieter.

Room Tip: If you are looking for quiet, do not take the rooms on the front. But you will lose that beautiful v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elimeiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    204
    122
    33
    11
See reviews for
37
170
42
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull (near birmingham) England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Absolutely brilliant hotel, just off Dam square, from this hotel you are within 5 mins of all the action of this crazy city.

We was there for a stag do and there was 30 of us, the hotel were fine apart from one little annoying bloke who was reluctant to give you your key at 4am which resulted in a few bust ups whilst trying to get into the rooms.

breakfast was really good served until 10:30

All in all, a great little find. All other staff were really helpful and friendly,

I would defo stay here again without a doubt.

Room Tip: ground floor are cooler in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stunnertier1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

The Hotel Rokin is a about a 15-minute walk from the Central Station, but it isn't an easy walk if you are carrying/dragging luggage since the Damrak is always packed with people and most of the sidewalks and Dam Square are cobbled or otherwise unevenly paved. There are six steps from the street to the reception area and don't expect the hotel to offer any assistance with luggage. Although the woman who checked me in was very friendly, the rest of the desk attendants never said a word friendly or otherwise.

Because my very small room was not air-conditioned, opening the window was necessary to get air. And that's the real problem here -- noise. Amsterdam is building a new metro line that will run underground from Central Station along Damrak and Rokin. Right now, the primary construction area is right in front of the Rokin Hotel and work starts very early. Imagine waking up to jackhammers and you will get the idea. This is not going to end any time soon so if your room is on the street side (as mine was) be forewarned. When the construction work ends, the cafe/bar scene begins. I wouldn't have minded that so much but there was a busker who played "Eleanor Rigby" several times an hour on his fiddle. So, closing the window was as necessary as opening it had seemed and with the window closed there was only a desk-top fan to circulate the air.

But the breakfast was good, including scrambled eggs, bacon and a selection of cheeses and cold cuts as well as the usual continental fare. And if you don't mind the noise, the breakfast and location make this a good value for a reasonable price. I gave only two stars because I did mind the noise and perfunctory service.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anonymous621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Lovely hotel ,with a good breakfast included,
hotel room was a little small and quite dated but it was clean and tidy with a tv and wireless so all in all pretty good value.
The hotel has no bar and we didn't know if we could get a drink after hours aside from the vending machine but when we checked out we did notice a small maybe self service kitchen by the foyer ?
Great location amazing price and a good breakfast.
We would definitely come back :-)

Room Tip: Choose a room thats not on the top floor ,as the stairs are steep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaime f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

There are really friendly staff in the hotel - thank them very much!
Location is brilliant, no complaint! 10 min to the Central station, tram station is really close, good Food plaza nearby (open every day till 22 - delicious fruits and salads).
Rooms could be improved by changing furniture and bed-clothes. We had 2 rooms - one on the 3 floor and one in basement. Basement is not good, but room is big and there is bath not shower. But in general basement is worse than attic, maybe because of our personal perception. If you are ok with this - choose it than upper floor, but be worry about terrible head of water there.
Nevertheless - Rokin is a good one for excursion and self-studying of the Amsterdam and surroundings.

Room Tip: Even if you are lucky and get back rooms, there will be nosy becuse of bars everywhere around the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadezda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

I stayed in this hotel a long time ago when I was last in Amsterdam. It's been renovated since then and they've done a good job.

The main selling point is it's great location. It's handy for everywhere and everything. It's a 10 minute walk down the Rokin (the street the hotel's named after) from Centraal Station. In fact, as Amsterdam is a fairly compact city it's easy to walk everywhere (saving money on trams, taxis and busses) from this hotel - even places as far afield as the Museum District in the south of the city are only half an hour's walk from here.

The room we had was 47 (the one featured on the website) and was on the top floor. Be warned though, the lift only goes as far as the 3rd floor and the stairs are very windy.

The room was good and clean and we were given a fan to cool the room down as it was pretty humid. However, even though we were at the back away from the main thoroughfare it was still noisy at night. Also, there was little in the way for storage space...a tiny little waist height wardrobe and no drawers for clothes.

Bathroom was fine and the breakfast was good and the breakfast room very pleasant.

Free wi-fi with no problems accessing it.

When I return to Amsterdam I'd be happy to choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel is nicely located, within minutes to some pleasant restaurants and in walking distance to most of the site seeing points in Amsterdam.
But the room leaves a lot to be desired. My room faces the main street but the window doesn't close properly. That there's a lot of street work going on adds to the aggrevation. The shower has a mind of its own and provides hot and cold water as it pleases. (Can't imagine if it is winter.)

On the plus side, the staff is very friendly and the breakfast is generous.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linbeiwuji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#138 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,151 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#193 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Cordial
Hotel Cordial
#272 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#144 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Centrum
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
#135 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#111 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rokin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rokin Hotel

Property: Rokin Hotel
Address: Rokin 73, 1012 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rokin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Rokin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rokin Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing