We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High Price for a Good Location.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rokin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rokin Hotel
Ranked #177 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“High Price for a Good Location.”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

The location of 'Rokin' is possibly the greatest asset of this hotel. In the early June this year the city of Amsterdam was full of visitors, so the price of the hotels went up accordingly. It was quite expensive in comparison to the hotel rooms of similar standard in some other nearby cities. The room was small but clean and they provided a table fan as weather was very warm. As the hotel is located very close to central station and some of the major tourist attractions of the city, one can easily walk through the streets to discover many places of interest. 'Anna Frank House' is also located at a walking distance. Choice of breakfast was good for a short stay. I stayed in a road side room but it was not that noisy to disturb good sleep. Everything was alright there except the reception. All the men sitting in the front desk were rather exhausted or may be tired to reply any question. They were not rude but not enough polite to talk to a newcomer in the city. However, the lady in the morning shift was quite helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farid54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    216
    129
    34
    12
See reviews for
43
181
44
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We went for Kings Day, the location was perfect, we went everywhere around the city on foot. There is work going on outside the hotel but as it was a public holiday when we were there, the road was closed, so I can't comment on the noise but the windows are only single glazed.
Our room was a decent size for a city hotel of similar price. The staff were helpful and friendly.
The only negative was, our window looked out onto a brick wall. We had to practically hang out of the window to see what the weather was like. We did ask to move but the hotel was fully booked.
I would recommend this hotel if you're wanting something central, clean and competitive price. It's about a 10 minute walk from central station. Breakfast had a good choice, just had to get down the spiral staircase to it.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We were in Amsterdam for Easter weekend (which was packed and extra expensive) and stayed at the Hotel Rokin for the first time. It was in a great location for sight-seeing, close to lots of restaurants and easy to access from the tram. The room was cute - small, but with charm and all of the basics. Our room faced the back so it was quieter. In the front of the hotel were nice cafes to sit in the sun for drinks and relax after all the walking/bike riding!
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Great value too.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mle888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Out of the Centraal Station and follow the trams slightly to your left past the Hotel Victoria. You can take a tram going down Damstraat to the second stop which is slightly past the hotel which is on the left hand side of Rokin a continuation of Damstraat. It is only a ten minuet walk but is cobbles all the ay which will give the wheels on your case a good bashing.
The hotel is an old building and It has six steps up to the entrance, no joke if your case is heavy
The staff all spoke English and were very helpful.
My room (25) was on the second floor and was not double glazed. There are two bars next door and they close about 3 in the morning with a lot of shouting and singing there after, The new metro line being built is in front of the hotel and workmen start early, I got little sleep- why do the police need two-tone horns in the middle of the night?
Breakfast does not start until 7:30 and there is a spiral staircase to be negotiated to get to it. The selection of food was good.
The hotel will recommend the Restaurant Haesje Claes and give you instructions how to find it, it is realey good but is very popular so book, the hotel will do it and you can book for following nights at the restaurant.

Room Tip: Only use this hotel if you don't need to sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Well where do I start, I am a very light sleeper at the best of times, but to awoken at 1am in the morning by a constant Bang Bang Bang was more than I could bear. I got my coat on and went down to the reception, the night duty manager said they were working on the metro line, "what at this time in the morning?" he asked me what room I was staying in and I said 39 to which he replied it was at the back and one of the quietest. I then visited another 3 hotel rooms to see if they were any quieter (none were!!), talk about feeling like Alex Polizzi off the hotel inspector!! ( I can laugh about it now!). I returned to my room no further forward. The staff were friendly, hotel room basic but had all the essentials. Its ideal for being central to everything. Breakfast the next morning was ok too. Would recommend avoiding Rokin Street until the metro line is finished (could be Summer!). If a brass band doesn't wake ya when sleeping then by all means stay at the Rokin Hotel.

Room Tip: Room 39 is at the back and should be the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Booked here for 4 days and was very nervous as it was one of the cheapest hotels in the area that included breakfast. We had read some bad reviews so didn't quite know what to expect. Hotel was extremely clean, rooms were lovely with nice exposed beams in the ceiling and yet had a modern feel to them. The bed was comfortable although the pillow was a little hard. Breakfast was 10 out of 10, everything you could think of, pancakes, toast, fruit, cereal, bacon, eggs etc. Staff were very friendly and helpful and location was perfect. Would stay again for sure. Thank you hotel rokin!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J19tgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockholm
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

It started OK with a nicely refurbished lounge and friendly staff. The single room however was small, the bed was a bit narrow and leaning outwards. The most disturbing thing was the noise from outside. People, cars,trams. I think its better to invest in double glass windows in such a noisy street. Breakfast room and breakfast was good. Very central hotel.

Room Tip: not rooms facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aplund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#134 of 364 in Amsterdam
2,263 reviews
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#143 of 364 in Amsterdam
981 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Cordial
Hotel Cordial
#289 of 364 in Amsterdam
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#192 of 364 in Amsterdam
769 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
#207 of 364 in Amsterdam
455 reviews
Centrum
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
#139 of 364 in Amsterdam
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rokin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rokin Hotel

Property: Rokin Hotel
Address: Rokin 73, 1012 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rokin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rokin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rokin Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing