We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“noisy little room in a interesting house”
Review of Rokin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rokin Hotel
Ranked #162 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
stockholm
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“noisy little room in a interesting house”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

It started OK with a nicely refurbished lounge and friendly staff. The single room however was small, the bed was a bit narrow and leaning outwards. The most disturbing thing was the noise from outside. People, cars,trams. I think its better to invest in double glass windows in such a noisy street. Breakfast room and breakfast was good. Very central hotel.

Room Tip: not rooms facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aplund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    229
    132
    35
    12
See reviews for
45
193
46
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

I made my reservation weeks ago via booking.com... I specially indicated higher floor request. They gave us the room on the ground floor which was extremely noisy. Sleeping was impossible....

Pros: location... Thats it..
Cons: lack of hospitality & hotel mngt.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Erdemciailesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Akureyri, Iceland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2014

A good hotel for a short visit. We stayed there for one night. A small hotel. the room for three was ok. Silent and we slept well. But the standard was not good. The breakfast was ok but not much more. Clean and not expensive but most valuable was the location. Very well located. Central and easy to find.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gudjon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed in Rokin for a long weekend. The location is great, partly noisy, but not disturbing. The rooms are in need for some improvements (TV did not work, but didn't miss it), but overall a clean place. Breakfast was enough for us.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMaarja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Spent the 2nd week of November is my favorite hotel in Amsterdam as I have been here several times before (5 times since 2010). Clean and friendly hotel which can be booked online via their website (and as it states online they do give a discount if you book in advance). Met by friendly staff who will assist any tourists with querries about Amsterdam. Rooms although basic are comfortable and very clean and come with a safe which you don't have to pay for.

Breakfast consists of a wide variety of produce from fresh fruits & breads, etc to scrambled eggs, bacon bits, hotcakes, etc so they do cater for most peoples tastes. (too many items to list as to what they stock) and unlike 'other hotels' breakfast is included in the booking fee.

Location wise: this hotel is only a few minutes walk from the Central station (just past Dam Square) and the flower markets are another few minutes stroll just south of hotel. Most shopping areas are within easy reach by foot from this hotel: from Waterloo flea market, to Rembrandt Square, Kalverstraat (main shopping street) to Museum quarters (and including Redlight district, just don't have cameras on view here).

Although check out is 11am, they do offer a (locked) luggage storage room in which you can leave your cases if your flight is not due until later in the day.

I will definitely be back here next Summer :)

Room Tip: Rooms at front of hotel have a view of the Rokin (street) but can be noisier due to traffic (and cur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kvanroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I stayed one night and I chose this hotel for location and decent reviews. Room was a nice roof top single, Cinderella style, with a nice wood log view from the bed. Room was clean enough (I wonder why the night lamp is dusty, which is something we guests always notice). Issues: noise from the street and mini sink I could not properly wash my hand, shower also not ok, with tent and your feet on the bare floor. For these two reasons I would not return. Breakfast was included and very nice, in a basement roon which is well kept.

Room Tip: ask if they have renovated bathrooms, ask if they have quiet rooms not facing Rokin
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squirtle70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Great location with the hotel 10 minutes walk from central station. Small basic clean rooms with a breakfast as would be expected with the price.
Only major gripe would be the horrendous bed!! Ended up sleeping on the floor.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DARIVAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#134 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,383 reviews
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#135 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,027 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Cordial
Hotel Cordial
#292 of 368 in Amsterdam
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#187 of 368 in Amsterdam
798 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#114 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,202 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
#199 of 368 in Amsterdam
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rokin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rokin Hotel

Property: Rokin Hotel
Address: Rokin 73, 1012 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rokin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld and Orbitz so you can book your Rokin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rokin Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing