We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Bathroom not ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rokin Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rokin Hotel
Ranked #166 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
129 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Bathroom not ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I stayed one night and I chose this hotel for location and decent reviews. Room was a nice roof top single, Cinderella style, with a nice wood log view from the bed. Room was clean enough (I wonder why the night lamp is dusty, which is something we guests always notice). Issues: noise from the street and mini sink I could not properly wash my hand, shower also not ok, with tent and your feet on the bare floor. For these two reasons I would not return. Breakfast was included and very nice, in a basement roon which is well kept.

Room Tip: ask if they have renovated bathrooms, ask if they have quiet rooms not facing Rokin
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Squirtle70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    200
    118
    30
    11
See reviews for
36
164
42
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Great location with the hotel 10 minutes walk from central station. Small basic clean rooms with a breakfast as would be expected with the price.
Only major gripe would be the horrendous bed!! Ended up sleeping on the floor.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DARIVAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This was the worst hotel I've ever been in... Truth it's location is just perfect but the elevator only goes to 3rd floor so you need to carry up your baggage through a tiny stairs to your room, the room was freezing as they do not turn on the heater (only one) for you, the old man in the recepcion is one of the meanest and rudest persons I have ever met in my life!!! We were stucked in a museum becuse of the heavy rain so we called to tell them we were going to check out a bit later (only half an hour of delay) and when we got to the hotel he started shouting at us and insulting us.. When we aske for the complaint forms because of his rudeness he sais they didn't have that an that we were not entitled to complain if we were late... So in fact the rain was our fault!!!! Unbelievable!!! I do not recommend this hotel AT ALL!! Even though it is very near from Dam Square...

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mingmita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Whitley Bay
Level Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in October 2013. We booked single rooms and were given rooms on the fourth floor. The lift goes to the third floor then there is a tight winding staircase to climb with your luggage to the top floor. Luckily our luggage was quite small and we are relatively fit so it wasn't too difficult but it could have been difficult for more elderly travellers or people with more luggage. The location was great - ten minutes walk from central station and close to restaurants and bars. The room was small but okay. Breakfast was good value and food was better than average. Highlights were bacon, scrambled eggs and freshly made waffles. Coffee was very good too and you could make your own mocha by adding some of the hot chocolate! Staff were friendly and we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room below the top floor (4th).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malcy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Rokin in October in a single room for two nights. The main reason why I chose this hotel is because of the price relative to its location. It's a short walk to Dam square and Central Station, with trams nearby.

The room was clean but quite dark, even with all of the lights and lamps turned on. I had a room facing the main street, and the street noise came through quite clearly. There was some construction work going on when I was there, although only on weekdays.

There was no proper shower cubicle, just a curtain that you pull around to enclose a corner of the bathroom. It was less messy than I expected, and not much water went around the bathroom floor.

The staff were friendly and helpful. Although for some odd reason the housekeeper folded my pjs and put them *underneath* the pillow. It took me a while to find them.

If you're looking for an affordable and convenient hotel, Hotel Rokin could meet your needs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thecowgoesmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from the Hotel Rokin and was very happy with everything.The hotel is just 150yds from Dam square and is walkable from central station.A nice breakfast is served (bread,toast,scrambled eggs,bacon,smoked salmon,pancakes cerials etc) and staff are very good. Although no coffee in the room if you ask at reception they will make you a cup.
There is work going on outside on the Metro system which doesn't seem to be happening at the weekend.They do however start very early during the week with the sounds of banging and crane moving an initial problem but you kinda get used to it.Anyway you need to get up and have breakfast and then get out and explore this wonderful city.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pendleton, Indiana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Rokin hotel was very clean and staff made our stay so good!!!
Close to Dam Square and major attraction.Buffet breakfast included in price was wonderful..
Price was very reasonable .....staff on duty at all times and ask frequently if out stay was satisfactory....would highly recommend ....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#140 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,068 reviews
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#141 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 895 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Cordial
Hotel Cordial
#271 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#190 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 723 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#15 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 871 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#104 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rokin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rokin Hotel

Property: Rokin Hotel
Address: Rokin 73, 1012 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rokin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Rokin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rokin Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing