We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Worst hotel ever” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rokin Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rokin Hotel
Ranked #172 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst hotel ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

This was the worst hotel I've ever been in... Truth it's location is just perfect but the elevator only goes to 3rd floor so you need to carry up your baggage through a tiny stairs to your room, the room was freezing as they do not turn on the heater (only one) for you, the old man in the recepcion is one of the meanest and rudest persons I have ever met in my life!!! We were stucked in a museum becuse of the heavy rain so we called to tell them we were going to check out a bit later (only half an hour of delay) and when we got to the hotel he started shouting at us and insulting us.. When we aske for the complaint forms because of his rudeness he sais they didn't have that an that we were not entitled to complain if we were late... So in fact the rain was our fault!!!! Unbelievable!!! I do not recommend this hotel AT ALL!! Even though it is very near from Dam Square...

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mingmita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    204
    122
    33
    11
See reviews for
37
170
42
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay
Level Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in October 2013. We booked single rooms and were given rooms on the fourth floor. The lift goes to the third floor then there is a tight winding staircase to climb with your luggage to the top floor. Luckily our luggage was quite small and we are relatively fit so it wasn't too difficult but it could have been difficult for more elderly travellers or people with more luggage. The location was great - ten minutes walk from central station and close to restaurants and bars. The room was small but okay. Breakfast was good value and food was better than average. Highlights were bacon, scrambled eggs and freshly made waffles. Coffee was very good too and you could make your own mocha by adding some of the hot chocolate! Staff were friendly and we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room below the top floor (4th).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malcy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Rokin in October in a single room for two nights. The main reason why I chose this hotel is because of the price relative to its location. It's a short walk to Dam square and Central Station, with trams nearby.

The room was clean but quite dark, even with all of the lights and lamps turned on. I had a room facing the main street, and the street noise came through quite clearly. There was some construction work going on when I was there, although only on weekdays.

There was no proper shower cubicle, just a curtain that you pull around to enclose a corner of the bathroom. It was less messy than I expected, and not much water went around the bathroom floor.

The staff were friendly and helpful. Although for some odd reason the housekeeper folded my pjs and put them *underneath* the pillow. It took me a while to find them.

If you're looking for an affordable and convenient hotel, Hotel Rokin could meet your needs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thecowgoesmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from the Hotel Rokin and was very happy with everything.The hotel is just 150yds from Dam square and is walkable from central station.A nice breakfast is served (bread,toast,scrambled eggs,bacon,smoked salmon,pancakes cerials etc) and staff are very good. Although no coffee in the room if you ask at reception they will make you a cup.
There is work going on outside on the Metro system which doesn't seem to be happening at the weekend.They do however start very early during the week with the sounds of banging and crane moving an initial problem but you kinda get used to it.Anyway you need to get up and have breakfast and then get out and explore this wonderful city.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pendleton, Indiana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Rokin hotel was very clean and staff made our stay so good!!!
Close to Dam Square and major attraction.Buffet breakfast included in price was wonderful..
Price was very reasonable .....staff on duty at all times and ask frequently if out stay was satisfactory....would highly recommend ....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

This was a last minute find and hotel triples were selling out fast. We were very happy with this little hotel. It is one block from Dam Square and within walking distance to most everything else. It was exceptionally clean and the staff were so pleasant and helpful. The included breakfast was delicious with meats, cheeses, eggs, bacon, pancakes. Our triple room was at the rear of the building and was very quiet. Plenty of space. The weather was hot but the room fan and open window were sufficient for comfort. Beds were comfy. Internet access in room a must for our teen. (There is subway construction in front of the hotel but, aside from the first impression, this was not a problem at all.) I would definitely stay here again and recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenHayward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Erie, Ontario
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in September 2012 for 2 nights. We had a room on the third floor - it was small but well appointed and was everything we needed. The location was perfect and it didn't take us long to find our way around this amazing City. Everything was within walking distance and this hotel was reasonably priced. If you are using it simply for sleeping while you spend the days exploring the City, this hotel is perfect. It certainly isn't luxury, but for price and location - you can't beat it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loonsgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#138 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,143 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#190 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#144 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Cordial
Hotel Cordial
#271 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#111 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
Centrum
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
#137 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rokin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rokin Hotel

Property: Rokin Hotel
Address: Rokin 73, 1012 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rokin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Rokin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rokin Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing