We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely priced hotel in central location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rokin Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rokin Hotel
Ranked #171 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nicely priced hotel in central location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from the Hotel Rokin and was very happy with everything.The hotel is just 150yds from Dam square and is walkable from central station.A nice breakfast is served (bread,toast,scrambled eggs,bacon,smoked salmon,pancakes cerials etc) and staff are very good. Although no coffee in the room if you ask at reception they will make you a cup.
There is work going on outside on the Metro system which doesn't seem to be happening at the weekend.They do however start very early during the week with the sounds of banging and crane moving an initial problem but you kinda get used to it.Anyway you need to get up and have breakfast and then get out and explore this wonderful city.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    191
    114
    29
    11
See reviews for
32
160
41
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pendleton, Indiana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Rokin hotel was very clean and staff made our stay so good!!!
Close to Dam Square and major attraction.Buffet breakfast included in price was wonderful..
Price was very reasonable .....staff on duty at all times and ask frequently if out stay was satisfactory....would highly recommend ....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This was a last minute find and hotel triples were selling out fast. We were very happy with this little hotel. It is one block from Dam Square and within walking distance to most everything else. It was exceptionally clean and the staff were so pleasant and helpful. The included breakfast was delicious with meats, cheeses, eggs, bacon, pancakes. Our triple room was at the rear of the building and was very quiet. Plenty of space. The weather was hot but the room fan and open window were sufficient for comfort. Beds were comfy. Internet access in room a must for our teen. (There is subway construction in front of the hotel but, aside from the first impression, this was not a problem at all.) I would definitely stay here again and recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenHayward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Erie, Ontario
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in September 2012 for 2 nights. We had a room on the third floor - it was small but well appointed and was everything we needed. The location was perfect and it didn't take us long to find our way around this amazing City. Everything was within walking distance and this hotel was reasonably priced. If you are using it simply for sleeping while you spend the days exploring the City, this hotel is perfect. It certainly isn't luxury, but for price and location - you can't beat it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loonsgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed two nights at this small hotel, right new Dam Square. The room was clean, and because of the heat wave, we had a small fan that cooled the room nicely. It's Amsterdam so don't expect it to be quiet especially on a week-end with a Rock concert going on, but with the fan, comfortable beds we had a good night's sleep, despite the open window. Close to all major attractions, lots of good restaurants, and reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room not facing Rokin street might be quieter but you might also miss the special Amsterda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HMCj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stumbled upon the Rokin when all other hotels in town were fully booked for the Queen's day weekend. I was a bit sceptical at first because I wasn't 100% sure of the location but my concerns were totally unfounded - less than a five minute walk from Dam Square and also within walking distance of Leidseplein, Rembrandtplein and the Museum quarter. The hotel was in old buildings but the inside was beautifully modern. I had a couple of small issues with my room but both of these were taken care of immediately by the very attentive staff. The breakfast buffet was also very good - I have paid more than 15 Euro for worse in other hotels. Definitely to be recommended

Room Tip: The rear of the hotel is a little quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Covtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed in a twin room with 2 single beds. The room was so small we had to stack our suitcases as there wasn't enough floor space to both have our cases out. Mattress must of been 10+ years old and there was also a used bong the room.... (I'll let you decide if that's a plus or a negative). Much better hotel's in Dam for same price.

Great location though.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GarethCLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#136 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,997 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Cordial
Hotel Cordial
#261 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 466 reviews
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#138 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#185 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 706 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#106 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 990 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#14 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rokin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rokin Hotel

Property: Rokin Hotel
Address: Rokin 73, 1012 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rokin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rokin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rokin Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing