We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A Great Find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rokin Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rokin Hotel
Ranked #172 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

This was a last minute find and hotel triples were selling out fast. We were very happy with this little hotel. It is one block from Dam Square and within walking distance to most everything else. It was exceptionally clean and the staff were so pleasant and helpful. The included breakfast was delicious with meats, cheeses, eggs, bacon, pancakes. Our triple room was at the rear of the building and was very quiet. Plenty of space. The weather was hot but the room fan and open window were sufficient for comfort. Beds were comfy. Internet access in room a must for our teen. (There is subway construction in front of the hotel but, aside from the first impression, this was not a problem at all.) I would definitely stay here again and recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenHayward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    204
    122
    33
    11
See reviews for
37
170
42
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Erie, Ontario
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in September 2012 for 2 nights. We had a room on the third floor - it was small but well appointed and was everything we needed. The location was perfect and it didn't take us long to find our way around this amazing City. Everything was within walking distance and this hotel was reasonably priced. If you are using it simply for sleeping while you spend the days exploring the City, this hotel is perfect. It certainly isn't luxury, but for price and location - you can't beat it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loonsgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed two nights at this small hotel, right new Dam Square. The room was clean, and because of the heat wave, we had a small fan that cooled the room nicely. It's Amsterdam so don't expect it to be quiet especially on a week-end with a Rock concert going on, but with the fan, comfortable beds we had a good night's sleep, despite the open window. Close to all major attractions, lots of good restaurants, and reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room not facing Rokin street might be quieter but you might also miss the special Amsterda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HMCj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stumbled upon the Rokin when all other hotels in town were fully booked for the Queen's day weekend. I was a bit sceptical at first because I wasn't 100% sure of the location but my concerns were totally unfounded - less than a five minute walk from Dam Square and also within walking distance of Leidseplein, Rembrandtplein and the Museum quarter. The hotel was in old buildings but the inside was beautifully modern. I had a couple of small issues with my room but both of these were taken care of immediately by the very attentive staff. The breakfast buffet was also very good - I have paid more than 15 Euro for worse in other hotels. Definitely to be recommended

Room Tip: The rear of the hotel is a little quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Covtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed in a twin room with 2 single beds. The room was so small we had to stack our suitcases as there wasn't enough floor space to both have our cases out. Mattress must of been 10+ years old and there was also a used bong the room.... (I'll let you decide if that's a plus or a negative). Much better hotel's in Dam for same price.

Great location though.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GarethCLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had a really nice weekend in Amsterdam staying at Rokin Hotel. Perfect location! Close to everything- just a 3 minutes walk from Dam Square and around 15 from Central Station. Very nice staff- always helpful. The room... hm... it has been a bit of disappointment. Really tiny (that`s not an issue) with a window in the roof (found that quite weird) but nice and clean :-) Good buffet breakfast. Would I stay there again? Most definitely! Overall experience- positive!

Room Tip: We stayed in room number 6 so if you don`t want to experience window in the roof- ask for another ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PawelJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

A party of us stayed at Rokin in February. What a little gem. We had a really nice spacious room on the front with good facilities. The hotel has a lift. Big plus in the Dam. Very good breakfast and just 2 minutes walk from Dam square. We would certainly return here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tirumasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#137 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,147 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#193 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Cordial
Hotel Cordial
#271 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#144 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Centrum
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
#136 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#111 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rokin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rokin Hotel

Property: Rokin Hotel
Address: Rokin 73, 1012 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rokin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Rokin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rokin Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing