We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Lovely hotel just off the Dam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rokin Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rokin Hotel
Ranked #164 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel just off the Dam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stumbled upon the Rokin when all other hotels in town were fully booked for the Queen's day weekend. I was a bit sceptical at first because I wasn't 100% sure of the location but my concerns were totally unfounded - less than a five minute walk from Dam Square and also within walking distance of Leidseplein, Rembrandtplein and the Museum quarter. The hotel was in old buildings but the inside was beautifully modern. I had a couple of small issues with my room but both of these were taken care of immediately by the very attentive staff. The breakfast buffet was also very good - I have paid more than 15 Euro for worse in other hotels. Definitely to be recommended

Room Tip: The rear of the hotel is a little quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Covtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    200
    118
    30
    11
See reviews for
36
164
42
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed in a twin room with 2 single beds. The room was so small we had to stack our suitcases as there wasn't enough floor space to both have our cases out. Mattress must of been 10+ years old and there was also a used bong the room.... (I'll let you decide if that's a plus or a negative). Much better hotel's in Dam for same price.

Great location though.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GarethCLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had a really nice weekend in Amsterdam staying at Rokin Hotel. Perfect location! Close to everything- just a 3 minutes walk from Dam Square and around 15 from Central Station. Very nice staff- always helpful. The room... hm... it has been a bit of disappointment. Really tiny (that`s not an issue) with a window in the roof (found that quite weird) but nice and clean :-) Good buffet breakfast. Would I stay there again? Most definitely! Overall experience- positive!

Room Tip: We stayed in room number 6 so if you don`t want to experience window in the roof- ask for another ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PawelJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

A party of us stayed at Rokin in February. What a little gem. We had a really nice spacious room on the front with good facilities. The hotel has a lift. Big plus in the Dam. Very good breakfast and just 2 minutes walk from Dam square. We would certainly return here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tirumasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

My friends and I stayed at this hotel for a night in January. The rooms were comfortable and warm, a bit basic but good value. Breakfast is very basic with limited choices but adequate.
The first room we were assigned was on the 3rd floor but facing the back which I didn't like so I asked for a different room. The lady at reception handed me 3 or 4 different room keys and I got to choose which room I wanted out of the ones available so I was very happy about that.

Overall a good value stay and very central location :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Varshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalst, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

At November 2012 we where at Amsterdam for a weekend at the Rokin Hotel, this hotel is situated at Rokin ( name of the street ) wich is only 1 km of the Amsterdam central station and very close to the shopping streets and the malls. Madame Tussauds is just behind the corner and worth a visit. The Leidse plein ( square ) is the most popular square in the neighbourhood.
Breakfast was good and enough choice, coffee, thee, orange juise, chocolate milk and etc are available

Room Tip: Try to ask a room at the backside, the windows are made from single glass layers and with good weath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTB_Expeditions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Spent the weekend with a couple of friends, great price right in the heart of Amsterdam - 5 minute walk from the central station and 3 minutes from the main shopping areas. room was clean and warm, breakfast was great. only problem was the club next door - friday night is a big night for them and it sounds as though the music is playing in the room.. if you can't beat them - join them! (:
sorry to say it's not handicapped friendly - high and narrow stairs, dinning hall is on the bottom floor (sort of underground), and although theu have a lift - it doesn't reach it.

all in all, if you're on a budget it's a good choice

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank didsbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#141 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,069 reviews
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#142 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 897 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Cordial
Hotel Cordial
#269 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#189 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 723 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#15 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 871 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#104 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rokin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rokin Hotel

Property: Rokin Hotel
Address: Rokin 73, 1012 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rokin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Rokin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rokin Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing