We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, bad experience”
Review of Rokin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rokin Hotel
Ranked #166 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Minsk, Belarus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, bad experience”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 5 (sleepless) nights. The main pros of this place is location - right in the center, a few meters form the Dam Square. Another pros was lift. Traditional dutch stairs developed for alpinists (or fairies - they can fly :)).
The main cons are:
- construction works right near the hotel. I had a room at back but it didn't help so I didn't sleep even one night there due to a terrible technical noise
- hot water supply. My tiny room was on the forth floor and each morning I was waiting for 5 - 7 minutes for a hot water
- WiFi router stopped working on the first day of my arrival and it took them 3 days to replace it. By fact I didn't have internet in my room during the whole stay. I've been there for a business trip and good Internet connection was very important
- after all breakfast could be definitely better.

Room Tip: I can't recommend any room there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    228
    130
    35
    12
See reviews for
45
190
46
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at the Rokin for four days. Pros are location, cleanliness, comfortable bed, and excellent breakfast. Cons are construction on street (ask for a room at back) and old stained carpet in room. It was great to have a great selection of good food for breakfast before heading out for the day. It was also great to be so close to everything as the hotel is only a ten minute walk from Centraal Station. We would stay here again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank usanadawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Not the best, but well adequate and GOOD VALUE.

Helpful and friendly staff, comfortable, clean, and a good breakfast included.

If your budget exceeds the back-packer status but does not reach the 'money no object' level you will enjoy a visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InnesDorchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I stayed at the Rokin recently, having travelled to Amsterdam previously I booked the hotel based on its central location, metres from Dam Square. We checked in early without complaint, the hotel benefits from a lift which is a major advantage to climbing the usual steep, narrow stairs you normally encounter. The room we stayed in was on the 3rd floor with a view to the front, it was well equipped and a good size. Breakfast is in the basement which is accessed via a wooden staircase which may not be suitable to the less able or elderly, there was a good choice of food on offer. The hotel benefits from free wifi which was excellent, even on the 3rd floor. The only minus I can think of (and it's not the fault of the hotel) is the subway which is being constructed right outside, it has been going on for a few years now and is set to continue for some time. Overall a good hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank msfoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were recommended to this hotel at short notice, but even though in the basement with no views, it was very quiet considering we were in the centre of a bustling city. The room was beautifully clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent, don't miss the pancakes. Staff were friendly, helpful and efficient.Fire safety was good, one of the best hotels in a city location for fire safety.

Room Tip: Choose one at the back of the hotel or even basement as the metro constuction outside won't be c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dragonara2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Although it was a lit bit expensive, it was amazing.It was very clean.The breakfast was great, the location excellent!
I recall that it did not have an elevator.
At first they gave us a room at the first floor with no window but then we moved to the first floor in a big great room with street view.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHRISTIANA13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KO
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Location in the center, however on a big noisy street. Don't expect a calm sleep early night or into the morning as you hear the trams passing by. Yes, construction is still going on and it is probably unbearable during the weak (visited on a weekend). The room was small and have the minimum features, however, the bed was comfortable, the price was right,breakfast was above average and the staff was nice. Free Wi-fi in the room is anpother plus.there a small fan in the room, which means it probably get too hot later in the summer.

Room Tip: not a front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tammy018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#134 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,359 reviews
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#136 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,015 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Cordial
Hotel Cordial
#291 of 367 in Amsterdam
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#185 of 367 in Amsterdam
793 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#109 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,192 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Hoksbergen
Hotel Hoksbergen
#236 of 367 in Amsterdam
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rokin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rokin Hotel

Property: Rokin Hotel
Address: Rokin 73, 1012 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rokin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rokin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rokin Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing