We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“No window, tiny” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rokin Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rokin Hotel
Ranked #165 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“No window, tiny”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

Good breakfast, nice staff, strategic location, clean. Very cramped room with no window- not worth the price.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jentones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    200
    118
    30
    11
See reviews for
36
164
42
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Easily recommend this hotel - centrally located and within easy walking distance to nearly everything. Friendly helpful staff provided me with a map, directions, recommendations and guidance. All well done. Internet connection in the room was excellent. This was booked as part of a Tuilip Cycling tour. There was some construction outside the hotel that reduced the pleasure of the hotel. Once that is completed, no hesitations about being there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bustan HaGalil
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Second time in Amsterdam and again in the same hotel.The hotel is located in the city center, close to all major and important attractions. professional staff, friendly and willing to help and explain. The rooms are very clean. You should ask back rooms because the hotel is located on Main Street and the noise can disturb sleep at night.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hasia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We would highly recommend this hotel. Excellent location for seeing Amsterdam. Room bright and clean. Service very good. Would have been nice to have a kettle and coffee/tea in the room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PetercoIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I quite enjoyed my 4 day stay at the Rokin Hotel. Very nice establishment and very friendly staff who were warm and welcoming. This hotel is a great jumping off point for just about all areas of the city if you are up for walking. Tram is right out the door for those who like public transit. I typically stay closer to the Centraal Station when in Amsterdam but I was quite happy to go further afield as staying at the Rokin allowed me to be closer to attractions I would typically have to really hike to, even though it is only a 15 minute walk to Centraal Station.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Rokinstraat, as they are currently constructing the metro outside the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank officematt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Great location, just 10 min walk from the train station and no problem to find, just off Dam Square. Arrived on early flight, booked a double room but as they had a twin available on arrival opted for this, as we were tierd, although located to the front of the hotel. Construction work on street, underground being built, so dont expect it to be quiet dring working hours. room was small but spotless, sheets were pretty worn, one had holes in it and also two of the towels, this is not good enough as we were payin 65.00eur pps per night B&B. I did not complain, as i think they should know themselves without it having to be pointed out, a hole is a hole at the end of the day, you wouldnt have it at home and as i was so tierd when i arrived i couldnt be bothered. Breakfast was Excellent, lovely and fresh. Staff were all lovely and helpful. i would definatly stay here again and recomend it. Location and staff would bring me back.

Room Tip: Room to back of hotel while underground being built.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BluIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Excellent location, but not so great value for money

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back side; it is quieter; avoid the rooms located on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bebelutel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#140 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,071 reviews
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#143 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 898 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Cordial
Hotel Cordial
#275 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#189 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 724 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#17 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 871 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#108 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rokin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rokin Hotel

Property: Rokin Hotel
Address: Rokin 73, 1012 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rokin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rokin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rokin Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing