We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location but very noisy.”
Review of Rokin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rokin Hotel
Ranked #174 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Leeds
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Central location but very noisy.”
Reviewed October 27, 2011

The hotel is in a great central location however, it is next to a building site which was extremely noisy. The hotel is on a main road, with trams and traffic running late into the night. The walls were very thin and I could hear people walking about and talking in the corridors, late at night. In addition, the room was very warm so did not get much sleep on my recent 3 night stay.
The room was basic, but clean. The continental buffet breakfast was good and the staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drgillybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    220
    129
    35
    12
See reviews for
44
183
45
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

I stayed here for five nights on business. The room was small, but clean, and I followed other trip advisor recommendations to book an upper floor at the back of the hotel, which did minimize construction/party noise. The beds were very soft, which was comfortable at first, but a little achy after a full night on them. The full breakfast was really a great value since food in th area is expensive. I used the wireless internet quite a bit and there was only one brief time where I had any problems. Everyone who worked at the hotel was pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Very nice hotel located near all places of interest but in a quiet area. We stayed 3 nights sheets changed every day. Buffet breakfast very good too . Staff extremely nice and helpful except one guy the first night who took exception to us having a smoke on steps outside ! We would stay here again for sure. What a city! Red light rocks!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpcork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Great location, very clean, great staff on reception. breakfast v good especially the pancakes. room small basic but very clean and comfy beds everything you need. the only down side was the very early start of the workmen out side but this is not anything anyone could do about this so will not affect my rating

Room Tip: maybe better having a room at the back at the moment
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebbok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mid wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

This hotel was within easy walking distance of all the attractions, but far enough away from the red light district that it wasn't too noisy at night. The breakfast was good, with bacon, eggs, pancakes, cereal, pastries etc, although on one occassion when we got up later, the bacon and eggs were cold.
The room was clean and we had no problems with the staff while we were there.
There were roadworks out side the front of the hotel, where they were working on the new tube line, but they didn't bother us. In fact they were a bonus, as we quite like 'people watching', and could see all the cranes etc working. We stayed for 3 nights as a long weekend, and this hotel was ideal for what we wanted.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbirdMidWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Friendly and helpful staff. Our room was downstairs with no views but clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet has good variety. The Hotel is within walking distance to everything. Very happy with our stay there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blt3331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Great Location.

Average not expencive hotel.
Good internet access

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank demidov48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#134 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,311 reviews
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#141 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Cordial
Hotel Cordial
#292 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#186 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
#209 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#107 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rokin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rokin Hotel

Property: Rokin Hotel
Address: Rokin 73, 1012 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rokin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Rokin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rokin Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing