We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The best budget Hotel that I have stayed at” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rokin Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rokin Hotel
Ranked #171 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Dorset
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best budget Hotel that I have stayed at”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

This hotel is in the perfect location for seeing Amsterdam. I am not a great walker but we only once took a tram - back from the musium quarter- everywhere else was within easy walking distance. The price was reasonable and included free WiFi and breakfast. The breakfast buffet was excellent with a vast choice of sweet and savoury and a choice of breads.
The only thing budget about the hotel was the size of the rooms which were not vast but that is to be expected in the city centre where space is at a premium.
The only down side is that there are building works outside the front of the hotel - the new Metro - but we were at the back so we only noticed it was there when we arrived at or left the hotel.The staff are very helpful. My brother and his wife wanted a room with a double bed which they did not have on the first night but they moved them to one on the second night.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank louisnliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    191
    114
    29
    11
See reviews for
32
160
41
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

I spent 3 nights at Rokin Hotel and had a very good stay. The rooms seem to have been painted very recently and both rooms and bathrooms are in very good condition. The hotel is situated in walking distance from Amsterdam Central and it was very easy to find with the route description on the webside.

The staff is very friendly and helpful

The breakfast buffet is not overwhelming, but it's good with several types of bread and various fruit juices. The breakfast was included in the room price when I visited the place.

There is short walking distance to the street Spui, which has several good restaurants for dining. (Rokin Hotel has only breakfast restaurant inhouse.)

However, Rokin is a street with much traffic even at night time and the tram passes by very frequently, so it's quite noisy. If you have problems with sleeping, bring earplugs to get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CillaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

Just back, very clean,staff nice,nice breakfast,but road works/underground works at front of hotel can be noisy,they start at 7am.....rooms at back dont have noise problem !
but overall def go back to Rokin next time,very central to most !

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenn086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

I've been looking at many hotels online and decided to pick this one based on all the good reviews it had received over the years. The location is good (in city center, walking distance from central station). The hotel staff was very friendly and upon arrival we got to choose a room on the front or backside. We picked the backside, so we would not have noise from the front (although I think there's not a lot of noise, since it's not directly next to the main road).

The room was very nice and it was what I expected after seeing the photo's on other websites. My preference for 2 separate beds was honored. The only thing I found weird was that there was no garbage can in the room itself (there was a very small one in the bathroom). I didn't bother to ask the staff for this, since it didn't bother me that much. We had 2 laptops with us and you can get free access to the internet in your room. Only thing "missing" was an outlet to charge our laptops (we had to disconnect a light next to our bed, the only free outlet was next to the door, too far from where we used our laptops).

The beds were comfortable enough to get a good night's rest, the room was clean and housekeeping wasn't overly annoying in the morning. Maybe the hotel could supply "DND" signs though.

We could hear the other guests in the hallway and heard a few sounds from adjacent rooms, but nothing out of the ordinary.

Breakfast was included, but we didn't get up early enough (served until 10.30). We checked out 1 hour late, but the staff didn't make any problem out of this!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nairig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pardesiya
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

This is the second time I stayed in this hotel. The staff is very friendly, the rooms are small but very very clean and the breakfast is generous as well. In walking distance to all the major city attractions. Love it!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMDHCZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

Friendly staff. Basic, but clean, warm room was spacious and at the back of the hotel, so nice and quiet. Mattresses on beds could possibly do with upgrading. Buffet breakfast was very good with some freshly cooked bacon and eggs and pancakes, as well as the usual selection of cold meats/cheeses etc and sweet items. Location is excellent, right in the centre of Amsterdam. For what we paid, this was a good value choice for Amsterdam and we were very happy with our stay here. There is no bar and there was a very limited choice of beverages in a vending machine. Easily rectified by purchasing water etc before heading back to the hotel!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BexSpalding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaghan, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

I onlyl stayed it for 1 night but it was a nice stay. Friendly staff on arrival, clean and comfy twin room. good lcoation for the local attractions. Good breakfast selection available. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelJeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#136 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,991 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Cordial
Hotel Cordial
#265 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 462 reviews
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#139 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#184 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 706 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#102 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 984 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#13 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rokin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rokin Hotel

Property: Rokin Hotel
Address: Rokin 73, 1012 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rokin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rokin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rokin Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing