We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't count on the bathtub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nicolaas Witsen Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Nicolaas Witsen Hotel to your Saves list
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nicolaas Witsenstraat 4-8, 1017 ZH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #117 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Don't count on the bathtub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We had requested a room with bathtub on a high floor but none of our requests were fulfilled which was somewhat of a disappointment. Our double bed was two beds pushed together and the beds were on wheels which meant that you were at risk of falling between the beds at night. Breakfast was basic buffet style but still good. Wi-Fi reception was good. The walls were quite thin and we needed earplugs in order to not get woken up by the neighbors.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    146
    62
    12
    2
See reviews for
70
103
30
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia area
Level Contributor
383 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We were here 4 nights and loved every one. It's pricier than we like to pay, but was worth the extra expense for the central location, the helpfulness of the staff, and the fine and varied breakfasts. The room was small, but probably no more so than many central city hotel rooms, and it was very, very quiet. The shower was excellent, as were the reading lights. We'll stay here again when we are back this way.

Room Tip: Others have said that rooms on the street are noisy. Ours was off the street and totally quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthArrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, N Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

There were ten of us, all males, in Amsterdam helping our friend David celebrate his 70th birthday. This hotel was perfect. They negotiated for 10 rooms, Alex the manager booked an excellent restaurant Simpel for dinner and could not have been more helpful. The location was a brisk walk from the centre although some of our older team members did whinge about the distance the younger and fitter ones did enjoy seeing more of Amsterdam on foot. We would highly recommend this hotel for good service and excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MackersBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Great great experience, hotel is easy to get to, take tram #4 from central station and walk one block and you are there! the staff is fantastic and very willing to help you in whatever you need. Breakfast is sufficient (pastries, juice, cheese, fruits etc). Located on a quiet street with a park nearby. Room was clean, wi fi was strong, overall a great experience and highly recommended for a place to stay in amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelprincess100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 5 nights, after trawling the internet for a reasonable hotel near the centre of Amsterdam. We chose the Nicolaas Witsen Hotel which from the map, looked a little further out than we wanted, but looked nice and a reasonable price.
We soon realised after arriving, the Hotel was in a perfect location. Short walk to restaurants and cafe's, quiet and trendy area, across the canal from a supermarket and a stone's throw from the tram.
The staff were SO nice and friendly! Always happy to help, the lovely lady at reception let us use the phone when we thought my partners mobile phone had been stolen, pointed out the local police station too (we found the phone, we'd left it at a restaurant!)
The only things that the hotel lacked was air con (during two nights it was around 30 degrees celsius) and on one night we could hear the people above quite clearly.
Overall, the hotel is very reasonably priced, great location, lovely staff and very clean, the breakfast was great too. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmchase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
127 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Nice, clean, well equiped rooms, good elevator, good breakfast, convenient to public tram system (#4 or #25 from central station,) easy to get to major sites (Rjiksmuseum,) strong Wifi, can't say enough good about this hotel!

...and the BEST LOOKING afternoon desk clerk, and morning breakfast staff, in Amsterdam!

Room Tip: We had a nice triple room with three twin beds. Room was very warm, to us, in July, with the window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rohausser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nimy, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Found it to be a good location as it wasn't in a noisy area but was a short walk from Rembrantplein and the Museum Quarter. Breakfast was good but room was a little dirty (cobwebs). There was a good bar across the road and there were lots of decent restaurants nearby. But then this is Amsterdam so always something nearby! There were 3 of us in the room and it suited our needs. Would stay here again, if travelling with same amount of people and on a budget.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Flism82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Hotel V Frederiksplein
#112 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,018 reviews
Hotel Asterisk
#151 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 365 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#45 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
#89 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Esspresso
Hotel Esspresso
#94 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 684 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#148 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nicolaas Witsen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nicolaas Witsen Hotel

Property: Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
Address: Nicolaas Witsenstraat 4-8, 1017 ZH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nicolaas Witsen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nicolaas Witsen is a recently renovated hotel in a quiet street in the city centre of Amsterdam. Most of Amsterdam attractions/ sightseeings are within walking distance from our hotel. All rooms and public area's have free WiFi.We are ready to welcome you and promise you a wonderfull stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Nicolaas Witsen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Nicolaas Witsen
Nicolaas Witsen Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing