We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
Ranked #148 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Just stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and it suited our needs perfectly. Rooms are nice and clean, beds are very comfortable and the bathroom had lovely shower and even provided toiletries, Breakfast was plentiful continental style and service good ( the chinese waiter was so nice nothing was too much trouble for him Hotel is well situated and near tram stops but in a nice quiet area too. I enjoyed my stay and would definatley return again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diane030561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolaasWitsen, Owner at Nicolaas Witsen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear Diane,

Thank you for your review. It makes me happy to read your review. All rooms and bathrooms are renovated recently. I will say Brian (the Chinese waiter) hello from you.

Looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Beste regards,

Alex Roozendaal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 404 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012

The rooms are small and beds narrow as they often are in Europe. Our room (36) was extra clean, very very quiet with a large window overlooking trees and a garden. The breakfast was excellent -- not just the cereal thing but meat, cheese, breads, vegetables, etc. Good restaurants nearby and not touristic. Nice find.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stone2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolaasWitsen, Owner at Nicolaas Witsen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear Stone2,

Thank you very much for your nice review. About the size of the rooms. I know the size of city-hotels are most of the time smaller than hotels elsewhere. Reason is that the ground / buildings in Amsterdam are more expensive per square meter. The sizes of all our rooms meet the Dutch standards of the 3-star rating. I am happy you did enjoy our breakfast so much. We have expanded and improved the breakfast half a year ago.

I hope we will see you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Alex Roozendaal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Hotel Nicolass Witsen is located in a really nice part of Amsterdam and is a good base to enjoy the city. We stayed for 6 days and while we were happy enough with the hotel it was a little let down by the room. We stayed in room number 2 (a family room for 3) which is located at the back of the hotel which turned out to be a bit gloomy and felt 'damp'. There is very little natural daylight in the room (the windows are blocked by a neighbour's fence) and it isn't well ventilated. We suspect that room number 3 will be similar as it is also set in the back of the hotel and is also blocked in by tall buildings to the rear.

On the plus side, the staff at the hotel were very helpful and the rest of the public areas were fine, it is well kept and the housekeeping service was friendly and effecient. Breakfast was OK, nothing fancy (basic continental style) but you could help yourself to as much as you wanted and it was available till 10.30am which is great for hoilday timetables.

The location of the hotel is one of the big pluses, it is really near to lots of good attractions and also to Cafes and Restaurants. Beware though, Amsterdam is an expensive place to visit.

Overall Hotel Nicolaas Witsen is reasonable value for money and certainly when you take into acount its location it is worth thinking about as a base, check out your room location however, and if we went back we wouldn't stay in room 2.

Room Tip: Look for a room on the upper floors, don't choose room 2 or 3 unless you are happy in a shady ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeebsPerthshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolaasWitsen, Owner at Nicolaas Witsen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear NeebsPerthshire,

Thank you for your review.

The fence is new and we are talking about a sollution about this with the neighbours. This will be solved very soon. The window of room 3 faces our own garden, so there is no fence in front of the window of this room.

Thank you for your nice compliments about the staff and the location.

Hope to see you soon again in our hotel if you mentioned your prefferation for a room upstairs, we will take care of that.

Best regards,

Alex Roozendaal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

It was a very pleasant stay. Hotel staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean. Breakfast are tasty. neighborhood are OK and quiet. Over all this hotel is very good.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank GLYSantaClara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolaasWitsen, Owner at Nicolaas Witsen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear GLYSantaClara,

Thank you for your review. It is nice to hear you did enjoy your stay. Hope to see you again in the near future,

Best regards,

Alex Roozendaal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

we stayed 6 nights in may, 2012, at the nicolaas witsen hotel in amsterdam. we really liked it. the staff were all so friendly & helpful, offering great suggestions; nice neighborhood that's close to everything, however, not in the middle of the crazy tourist area; nice breakfast; & a lift/elevator, & full bathroom in the room (these are not always easy to find). it was expensive for us, however, everything in amsterdam is, & a room really needs to be booked in advance. we are seniors & had a great time at the hotel, riding the trams with a pass, walking to great restaurants on utrechtsestraat, etc., enjoying the many parks & fountains, walking the canals, going to open air markets, the museums, etc., all closeby. thank you alex!

Room Tip: we liked our 3rd floor room overlooking the street, with large window that opens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolaasWitsen, Owner at Nicolaas Witsen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear m s,

Thank you for your nice review. It was very special to have you as our guests in the hotel. And yes, I agree... The location of our hotel is one of the best!

Hope to have you back in our hotel soon.

Best regards,

Alex Roozendaal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed here for three nights in May. The location is very good, a minute walk to the tram and then a few minutes to the centre of Amsterdam. The area is fairly quiet, but the early morning trams and passers-by can be noisy (our room faced the street).

The room was small but clean, it met our needs as we aren't looking for luxury, just something comfortable. The free breakfast was limited but that's not a complaint as we enjoyed it very much. The staff were very friendly and helpful For the price we thought this hotel was great value and would recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolaasWitsen, Owner at Nicolaas Witsen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear Craig,

Thank you very much for your review.

I know you can hear the trams, especially when the windows are open. Fortunately they do not drive at night.

I hope to welcome you or your friends soon again in our hotel.

Best regards,

Alex Roozendaal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

This was the fifth hotel I tried to book, as the previous four had no vacancies. We found out it was a long weekend in Amsterdam. We thought it was quite expensive for what it was but maybe this was due to the scarcity factor pushing up the price.

The room was very small, did to have a fridge or minibar and did not have air-conditioning which was a bit uncomfortable as it was quite a hot night. The hotel is in a good position and it is easy to walk to most places in the central city. It is a bit quirky and has a feeling of a traditional Dutch building being very narrow with a scary spiral staircase - there is a lift too so no problems with luggage. The staff were helpful and the breakfast was nice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank netalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolaasWitsen, Owner at Nicolaas Witsen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear Netalot,

Thank you for your review. We do our very best to keep the rates as low as possible, but Amsterdam is (like Londen, Paris, Rome, New York, etc ...) more expensive than smaller city's. This is because the ground is worth more and the citytax is much higher. Also the major Bookingsites are asking more commission since januari 2012.

We have no airo, because normally it is not getting hotter than 24 degrees Celsius / 76 Fahrenheit. We have fans (free of charge) for the exeptional hot days.

Instead of a minibar, we have a bar on the ground floor which is open 24 hours per day, to get your cold drinks.

Thank you for your compliment about the staff and breakfast.

I hope we may welcome you again during your next Amsterdam visit.

Best regards,

Alex Roozendaal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel Asterisk
#144 of 372 in Amsterdam
460 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Hotel V Frederiksplein
#105 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,213 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#138 of 372 in Amsterdam
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Stadsdeel Zuid
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
#51 of 372 in Amsterdam
483 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Prinsengracht Hotel
Prinsengracht Hotel
#173 of 372 in Amsterdam
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nicolaas Witsen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nicolaas Witsen Hotel

Address: Nicolaas Witsenstraat 4-8, 1017 ZH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#75 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $112 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nicolaas Witsen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nicolaas Witsen is a recently renovated hotel in a quiet street in the city centre of Amsterdam. Most of Amsterdam attractions/ sightseeings are within walking distance from our hotel. All rooms and public area's have free WiFi.We are ready to welcome you and promise you a wonderfull stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nicolaas Witsen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Nicolaas Witsen
Nicolaas Witsen Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing