We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Highly recommendable for the price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kooyk Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kooyk Hotel
Ranked #200 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
“Highly recommendable for the price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

A highly recommendable budget hotel close to the city centre, with almost all the major attractions within walking distance. The rooms are spacious and the staff is friendly and helpful, the breakfast buffet is perhaps a little spartan (no yoghurt) but still quite sufficient. My wife and I got a room on the ground floor facing the back yard, and since it was in the middle of the summer we were initially a little perturbed by the fact that there weren't any windows we could open to let the cool air in - only a glass door. This didn't prove a problem though, we never saw anyone moving about in the yard so it felt safe enough to keep the door open when we were in the room. Also, we've since understood that the building is listed as historic property which means that the proprietors of the hotel aren't allowed to make any alterations, so we don't hold the lack of windows against them! The only minus is that the staff can be a bit noisy when cleaning the hallways in the morning which can be a little annoying if you need to sleep in, but this is a minor flaw.

By and large, we strongly recommend this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Jonas_Liljestrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    165
    135
    51
    77
See reviews for
60
217
31
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Breakfast good but too late for business guests - starting only at 8:30. Orange juice is qualified with water! Bulbs too dim in rooms.Terrible accent with Asian servants, their English unintelligible.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Lev V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This B & B had very nice breakfasts and helpful staff. We were up two flights of very steep steps and they carried our luggage up. The room was very clean but tiny...only one suitcase could be laid on the floor at a time!
The people, owner operated, made this a pleasant stay. Very handy to museums, cafes, banks, tram or bus, and on scenic canal.

Room Tip: You could avoid stairs by paying more to be on ground floor...if only we knew!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank NoeleneandJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraków
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

+ great location - very close to Leidsplein and Vondelpark, nearby trams to all other parts of Amsterdam
+ very good prices - for a double bed room (booked 3 month in advance) we paid 26 E per night per person! Of course our room did not have balcony but the window faced other room's window)
+ helpful staff
+ clean bathroom and shower, fresh towels every day
+ free wifi (not always working, but generally ok)
- very steep stairs (can be a difficult to climb for people who have problem with walking)
- very claustrophobic toilet and rooms (not many place for other things than bed)
- 1 toiled and 2 shower per 5 rooms
- very loud in the morning so can be problem for people who would like to sleep-in

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agnieszkax0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I booked this budget hotel as I wanted 'authentic' at a good price. Nice location on one of the smaller canals. It was what I expected - a bit tired, but clean and comfortable. The room was basic with a small portable tv and a washbasin. The excellent shower and the toilt were just outside in the hallway. The continental breakfast was lovely. I found most of the staff pleasant and helpful. Couldn't get WiFi to work, although I managed to use site of the theatre nearby!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Freeland Hotel
Freeland Hotel
#197 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#211 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 895 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#253 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Boheme
#36 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 949 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#285 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 203 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#299 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kooyk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kooyk Hotel

Property: Kooyk Hotel
Address: Leidsekade 82, 1017 PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Kooyk Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run hotel in the centre of amsterdam.Typical canal house with spacious rooms, some ensuite and most are budget rooms with shared bathroom. The rate includes a dutch continental breakfast.We are located very near the van gogh museum and just walking distance from leidseplein.We have been 30 years established hotel owners.This building is a goverment historical listed building. From june 2013 we have eight new ensuite rooms with lovely new bathrooms, some are smaller than others and the price is adapted to the size of the room. We also offer low rates room only and our clients can buy breakfast if they wish.Our ground floor has been totally renovated as well as all our public bathrooms. We hope you will enjoy your stay at the kooyk hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Kooyk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kooyk Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing