We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kooyk Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$294
$285
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$292
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
$371
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$302
$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$332
$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$299
$243
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$249
$229
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $289/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
$295
$265
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$104
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$563
$331
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (625)
Filter reviews
626 results
Traveler rating
118
194
160
59
95
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
194
160
59
95
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily hotelthe ground floorprivate bathroomleidseplein squareamerican hotelexcellent locationcold meatshotel is situatedthe red light districtcentral stationyogurtcanalstairstram
Filter
Updating list...
162 - 167 of 626 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2014

+ great location - very close to Leidsplein and Vondelpark, nearby trams to all other parts of Amsterdam
+ very good prices - for a double bed room (booked 3 month in advance) we paid 26 E per night per person! Of course our room did not have balcony but the window faced other room's window)
+ helpful staff
+ clean bathroom and shower, fresh towels every day
+ free wifi (not always working, but generally ok)
- very steep stairs (can be a difficult to climb for people who have problem with walking)
- very claustrophobic toilet and rooms (not many place for other things than bed)
- 1 toiled and 2 shower per 5 rooms
- very loud in the morning so can be problem for people who would like to sleep-in

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agnieszkax0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I booked this budget hotel as I wanted 'authentic' at a good price. Nice location on one of the smaller canals. It was what I expected - a bit tired, but clean and comfortable. The room was basic with a small portable tv and a washbasin. The excellent shower and the toilt were just outside in the hallway. The continental breakfast was lovely. I found most of the staff pleasant and helpful. Couldn't get WiFi to work, although I managed to use site of the theatre nearby!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We booked at Kooyk due to the competitive price, location and the fact breakfast was included. It was not an entirely faultless stay, but I am completely happy to overlook those nuances and would certainly stay again instead of playing pot luck and staying somewhere else in Amsterdam!

We booked a canal view room - when we arrived, we were told that on arrival we would have to change rooms after 1 night (3 night stay) - although slightly inconvenient, we were not majorly bothered by this as we had been given a discount to compensate and we were not intending on spending hours upon hours in the hotel - we wanted to see the city! As I say, the location is absolutely spot on (not right in the thick of tourist areas, but not too far away), excellent transport links and we had a lovely view of the canal as requested (in both rooms). Yes, there is some noise from passing pedestrians, cyclists etc. but this is a central city hotel, in a listed building - it is to be expected!

The refurbished rooms were perfectly clean and tidy, there was a fridge, a walk in shower which was fine, small but functional basin, wardrobe, TV with many channels, and clean towels provided. Honestly, for the money paid I fail to see how people can complain. The fact you have your own bathroom (if you pay for it), and breakfast included, the rate paid is very competitive compared to other guesthouses/B&Bs/hotels in the city. Bed was new & comfortable, and we did get a good night's sleep each night. You can occasionally hear other guests using the communal toilet/showers but again - a minor niggle in my eyes.

Breakfast was fine and a good start to the day - yes, the breakfast room was full on a couple of occasions as the hotel was fully occupied, but I guess the best approach here is to come down nice and early! Again - a minor inconvenience but not enough of a problem for me to spout reams and reams of prose on here about! Breakfast consisted of breads (and yummy chocolate spread!), cheese, eggs, meat, fruit salad, tea and coffee and also orange juice. Small bowls/cups to avoid waste but not a problem in my eyes. I think people have ideas of grandure, expecting 5* service at a guesthouse price.

Kooyk ticked all the boxes for me - great location, functional, clean, fine breakfast, great price. If you want to spend all your time in a hotel, pay out for a five star room. If you want affordability and a great base and place to put your head down for the night, stay here.

Room Tip: Go for a refurbished room, worth the extra money
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mat_would
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel is rated one star but you could not get a friendlier hotel. The rooms are clean, have en-suite, fridge, and tv. It is within walking distance of Central station and the main attractions.
We have stayed here on a number of occasions and will return next time we visit the Netherlands.

Room Tip: We have stayed in a number of rooms both ground floor and first floor at front and found them to be equally good
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieMei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews