We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kooyk Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$249
$243
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
$393
$244
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $271/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$295
$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$277
$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $278/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
$316
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$166
$154
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $207/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$124
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$301
$232
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$562
$333
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$287
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (626)
Filter reviews
626 results
Traveler rating
118
194
160
59
95
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
194
160
59
95
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily hotelthe ground floorprivate bathroomleidseplein squareamerican hotelexcellent locationcold meatshotel is situatedthe red light districtcentral stationyogurtcanalstairstram
Filter
Updating list...
198 - 203 of 626 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We booked this hotel for a long weekend stay. Our room was clean but very basic, nothing like the one we were led to believe we were getting on the internet. The toilet down the hall leaked water all over the floor and I had to constantly place paper towels on the floor to stop getting my slippers soaking wet. The toilet was like a broom cupboard as was the shower! The carpets and decor were old and tatty but the overall cleanliness was ok. The staff were rude but I put this down to a lack of correct English translation as I found rather too many Dutch people on the rude side!!!! One example was on the day we were leaving we hung around in the reception a little longer than the guy wanted us to and was told we had to leave due to it not being a waiting room, in the next breath he said if we come back again to come and stay again. Urrrrrrrm no thanks as you were so kind and friendly just now I dont think I will! Breakfast was a constant ask for items to be replenished and it was overall a very average place indeed. I wont stay again

Room Tip: If you want no frills, lack of facilities and no smiles head here.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kooyk, Owner at Kooyk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

dear madam,
thank you for your review.
I would like to point out that you did book a budget room, with shared facilites including breakfast.
Lets get a few points straight.
Your room was perfectly clean supplied with clean linnen and towels.
You did not book a superior room or one of our new ensuite rooms ground floor.
The room has shared facities your price range was 27,50-32,50 pp
We have a listed builiding, the shower is small, I do admit, but it has to do with it being a listed building we are not allowed to change the format of the shower room.
You had a very good price202,58 euro for four persons which is approx 25, euro per person including breakfast and city tax no hidden extras.
The toilet.
I am sure you noticed the notice outside the toilet, please come down to the reception if there is a problem with the toilet. This problem is caused by peple not being able to use a toilet properly and waiting for the toilet to flush, impatience which will of course cause flooding, which in your case did. I spend so much time cleaning up after people who do not know how to use a toilet properly.I apolgise for any inconvience caused and as i AM a much travelled person I would go to the hotel reception to ask for the toilet to be cleaned.
You did not.
Breakfast, it is a full buffet, with all foods provided as much as you wished.
I was told you came late for breakast and of course at 9 45 the staff did their best to help you.
I take exception to the fact you said our staff was rude, we are all very helpful and try to facilitate as much as possible.
i WILL speak to budget places.com as we have specifically sold this room as a budget room how dissapointing.
You got a bargin.
The room was painted may I add by a very nice english gentleman who has taken execption to your comment tatty....
Very insuliting indeed.
Thank you again.
kind regards
MF Moonen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is a nice little B&B about a 5 minute canal walk from Leidesplein Tram stop. Trams from Leidesplein to Dam Square, Anne Frank House and Central Station run about every 3 minutes. There are 3 lines doing this route. 1,2 and 5. A day ticket costs 7.5 Euros, 2 days 12 Euros and 3 days 16.5 Euros.

On the hotel itself, I had a very good stay. I stayed in room 24, which was a single. You get a wash basin, a tv a nice chair, a nice bed. No tea/coffee facilities, free wifi which worked well. A nice breakfast, including scrambled eggs, toast, various cold meats and cheese/fruit. No bacon/sausages. The owners seemed very nice and obviously care about their place. I found it very clean, and between 3 people on the top floor we shared one toilet and two showers, which all worked very well and were very clean. The stairs are fairly narrow, but not too bad.

If you want a cheap B&B in an amazing location with all the basics covered, then this is the place for you. If you want a luxury hotel then this is not your place. I have stayed at the Millennium Times Square in New York and the Ritz in London, and this is obviously not that so don't expect that, but for what it is trying to be it is very good at. Some of these reviews annoy me, because its like they expect the Ritz!

This is a clean hotel, in excellent location, with a tv(20 European channels including eng lang BBC1 BBC2, National Geographic, MTV, Nickleodeon and a movie channel), free wifi, a nice comfy bed, a chair, a wash basin and breakfast included. At this price range it was exactly what I wanted.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
For people who want advice on the city itself please read the following, I know it would've helped me.

Trams are definitely the best way to travel in terms of cost and efficiency. You need a GVB multi-day tram ticket you get from Centraal next to the main ticket office. Cycling costs about 8 euros for 3 hours and then 12 euros for 24 hours rising up after that. I found cycling a great way to enjoy Amsterdam but it was a little tricky navigating around the roads with pedestrians and cars everywhere. I would not recommend hiring bikes with little kids unless you stick to vondelpark or outside Dam Square. I also tried Canal bike which was a little pedal boat and costs 8 Euros for 1 hour, it was great fun, definitely recommend, a unique way of seeing the city, but be careful of the big boats!

The location here is perfect, Leidesplein is easily the best square to stay near, it has a nice selection of bars, restaurants, hotels and shops and is right next to vondelpark, a nice tranquil retreat from the hectic busy city. I have stayed in Dam square before and found it pretty hectic and claustrophobic and the area a little shabby. This is a nice classy area situated between the museums, vondelpark and the hectic city.

The two things you have to do are the Van Gogh Museum and the Anne Frank House. These are two things unique to Amsterdam and are pretty mind blowing in their own way. All the other attractions, I have probably seen better versions of elsewhere.

The cost of a train from Schiphol to Centraal is 4.4 euros and they run every 15 minutes. Also be careful with the cost of alcohol, a single Bacardi and coke at Schiphol airport cost 9 euros.

Hope this helps anyone who reads this.

Room Tip: Room 24 is a single room on the 3rd floor with a nice big window you can open, and you have 2 showers and a toilet between 3 of u.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank psmithy491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews