We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accommodation”
Review of Kooyk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kooyk Hotel
Ranked #219 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    183
    148
    56
    85
See reviews for
66
244
34
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Unbeatable location, no frills hotel, basic rooms, reasonable breakfast. Not ideal for a young couple expecting some quality loving, walls are very thin and the beds are squeaky, the whole hotel would overhear conversation and anything else.
The staff are lovely, very helpful and friendly. Supermarkets are within minutes walk and main shopping street with bars and restaurants is round the corner.
Would definitely stay again as the location is so good!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olliejames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed one night at Hotel Kooyk. Overall hotel is ok. Staff are friendly, location is very good, beside canal and walking distance to everything. I only saw our room which was clean with immaculate bathroom, but sadly we had no view at all. The breakfast we thought was great! Nearby I would recommend a Dutch restaurant called 'Hap Hmm' which was amazing value and delicious food! ( the stewed beef was amazing)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steven980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2013

More of a B & B type than a true hotel and so probably more expensive than it should be but that said the owner is very friendly and the location is excellent, being just a nice 15-20 minute evening walk along the canals away from the city center.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We arrived at the hotel around 9am fully aware we couldn't check-in. All we wanted to do was drop off our luggage which we emailed the hotel beforehand about. The lady who I assume is the boss did not want to listen to us, cut us off mid sentence, and kept saying we couldn't check-in. We were given no other choice but to leave and deposit our luggage at the train station, which cost us extra money and was a real hassle.

We returned at the proper check-in time & the lady's attitude seem to have improved. She was pretty friendly so we brushed off the incident to a bad morning.

We booked a twin room with garden view but I wouldn't really classify it as a garden. It was messy with a view of bins and a shed with exposed mattresses. I can only hope they were old mattresses waiting for disposal.

There's no fan or air-con in the room so you have to sleep with the windows open. The only problem being the balcony outside can be accessed by anyone in the building. So we slept with the windows closed which was stuffy. The "private" bathroom in the hallway was acceptable and spacious but the door and cabinet were waterlogged due to the bathroom's design. The whole bathroom is wet after your shower so you'll need to dress/undress in your room.

PROS:
- Decent room size
- Cleanliness
- Location. 2 mins walk to tram/bus stops & shopping area.

CONS:
- Dirty garden view
- No fan or air-con. Balcony accessible by anyone. Have to sleep with windows closed.
- Anyone can use the "private" bathroom as it can't be locked from outside.
- Whole bathroom is wet after a shower. You'll need to dress/undress in your room & walk around in a towel.

Room Tip: - Book a room with ensuite. "Private" bathroom in the hallway isn't exactly private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

When we arrived we were under the impression we had our own bathroom - unfortunately it was a shared bathroom and toilet. the toilet was located in a tiny space behind a door with a far amount of loo paper on the floor - you really couldn't move in it. As for the shower, when you opened a door in the hall the shower curtain was right in your face. To have a shower you had to get undressed and dressed in the shower cubicle and hang your clothes on a small hook with your towel and hope they wouldn't get wet!! The rooms were small and very drab and worn really turned up disgusting carpet. We were kept awake all night by the people in the next room smashing their doors closed and stomping around the room. A most unpleasant stay - Never again!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin_ward63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Vancouver, BC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Hotel is located within the city center and can easily be reached by foot from Centraal Station. A direct bus to Shiphol is located at 150 meters from the hotel. Close to several companies that do canal tours. Also close to the RijksMuseum as well as a Park.
The hotel is in an old building which makes it interesting, and the stairs are so steep, a real experience. Since this is not something that can or should be changed in order to keep the character of the house, I'm not at all complaining about it but you should be warned that the stairs are very steep. And there is no elevator.
What bothered me was the lack of hygiene, the poor quality of the room, old non-matching towels, tine bathroom where you have to sit sideways as you won't fit in, loose electrical sockets, window that couldn't close, generally run down. There doesn't seem to be pride of ownership or a handyman around as with some effort all these issues could easily be addressed.
We did think that breakfast was good and there were sufficient options.
There is internet in the hotel - however, we were not made aware of it so didn't use it.

In all, good location but very little quality with regards to the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunseeker1062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Stadsdeel Zuid
Freeland Hotel
Freeland Hotel
#191 of 368 in Amsterdam
334 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#267 of 368 in Amsterdam
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#225 of 368 in Amsterdam
286 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#131 of 368 in Amsterdam
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kooyk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kooyk Hotel

Property: Kooyk Hotel
Address: Leidsekade 82, 1017 PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#33 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Kooyk Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run hotel in the centre of amsterdam.Typical canal house with spacious rooms, some ensuite and most are budget rooms with shared bathroom. The rate includes a dutch continental breakfast.We are located very near the van gogh museum and just walking distance from leidseplein.We have been 30 years established hotel owners.This building is a goverment historical listed building. From june 2013 we have eight new ensuite rooms with lovely new bathrooms, some are smaller than others and the price is adapted to the size of the room. We also offer low rates room only and our clients can buy breakfast if they wish.Our ground floor has been totally renovated as well as all our public bathrooms. We hope you will enjoy your stay at the kooyk hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kooyk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kooyk Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing