We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit expensive, but ok for one night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Campanile Amsterdam
Ranked #215 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Maribor, Slovenia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A bit expensive, but ok for one night stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The rooms are ok and clean. They have parking places next to the hotel and parking is free. The staff is kind. There was free internet also in the rooms.
It takes about half an hour to get to the city centre, but the metro is just next to the hotel.
The hotel is a bit expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kokicaMaribor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    132
    91
    32
    15
See reviews for
45
155
12
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Macau, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

My friend and I arrived hotel in early morning, we still couldn't check in by that time, we were too tired to move after a long flight so we just waited in the lobby, around an hour later, the staff told us we can get our room, we appreciated so much.

we love our room so much! having warm decoration, made us feel like living in our own room and nice view! heating in room and also bathrom. location was good for us too, metro Gaasperplas was just right next to hotel, it took around 30mins metro to reach to central amsterdam, we enjoy the silence there.

breakfast was good too, we had our breakfast during our stay (3 days), we love the variety of tea hotel provided. having breakfast in hotel made us feel very relaxed since the view outside was good! Will def. come back again next time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twinniewu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muenster, Germany
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

I was in this hotel attracted by a very good offer in comparison with the average obtainable in Amsterdam. The hotel is located close to "Gasperplas" metro station (more or less 150 meters from a side entrance of the hotel) that is one of the two terminal stations of 53 red line. You can easily reach the other terminal station of the 53 red line (Amsterdam Central Station) in less than 25 minutes: metro trains are very frequent during duty hours and I had no problems during the weekend as well. The structure of the hotel recalls the typical American motel with windows and doors at different floors having view on a big parking lot. There are also rooms on the back of the building with view on a wonderful garden but we were not so lucky to get a room in the back and unfortunately two times over the weekend we have been waken up in the middle of the night by the horn of one of the several buses parked in front of the building. The room was not so big while the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was serviced only with a very old heater that worked only once (it has a timer that allows to use it for periods not longer than 15 minutes at a time); there was no hair dryer and although towels were clean and changed every day always had very light spots on them (not the usual sharp white I am used to find in the hotels). On the first day I asked the reception to have two additional pillows, to replace a bad bulb and to repair the bathroom's heater and after my first day in Amsterdam in the evening I discovered that no pillows had been provided, the heater had not been repaired and luckily only the broken bulb had been replaced. The furniture inside the room is very basic and old fashioned: there is no place where to put your baggage apart from the top space of the unique wardrobe and there is only one bedside table. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel also because it appeared really too expensive (12 Euros per person) and condition of common spaces was sometimes poor. Reception personnel were always kind and there is parking available for car (you should ask for a code to open the bar at the exit). The hotel has available a very fast and free wifi internet that has been really great and useful. Summing up, I recommend this hotel only if you want to save money to visit Amsterdam avoiding city centre and you are ready to accept a low level service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rino73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Kent, England
Level Contributor
417 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We chose this because a) Campanile's are the devil we know and b) because we drove to Amsterdam for a 1 night / 2 day visit we wanted to park our car and hop on a metro to the city centre. This hotel met that criteria and were very obliging in allowing us to leave the car after checking out until we returned home.

The room and facilities were as you'd expect although there were signs of heavy usage in the room, the window blind mechanism was broken, but it was all we needed for a flying visit. A good buffet breakfast sets you up for a days sightseeing.

We would recommend this if visiting Amsterdam by car for value and convenience and the hotel sells the transport passes so you can literally check in, then walk over the road to the Metro which gets you to the centre in about 20mins.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

I was recently in Amsterdam and stayed at the Campanile. While the hotel is a twenty minute metro ride from downtown, the station is right next to the hotel. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. In addition, the room was immaculate. Breakfast was substantial and very tasty. There is also a small bar in the lobby and it was nice to be able to have a drink after a long day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beenaround30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rambla Aljibe
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

with prices in the Dam frightening I chose this hotel as it was half the price - as it is a little out of the way - but it is right next to the metro and about 10 mins into the centre - ate in the hotel and food was good and reasonably priced although if you want drinks I would bring them in and buy coke etc at the garage across the road (.5km) - I was there for football

Room Tip: take the tram (1.40 euro or day ticket even better) into centre its a lot cheaper and quiker than a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
380 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is located outside amsterdam but at a 1 minute walk to the subway it is easy to be in the center of amsterdam in 30 minutes! This was very useful because on both nights the whole restaurant was booked out. this however led to some beautiful meals in amsterdam. at breakfast it was a similar problem with the restaurant being filled with incredibly rude pensioners and not enough seats.

The rooms are clean and a good size with each set along a balcony corridor as seems to be the norm with this chain. another plus is the secure free parking for guests.

The receptionists were a mixed bag. the younger ones were fairly rude while they were very helpful on the day we arrived. we had some problems with our car on the way there and i emailed them on our way. I got a very quick reply with directions and a number to a garage near the hotel.

A tip for the subway:
We stayed for 2 nights and went to amsterdam at 4pm for dinner and anne franks house. If you are there for this length buy a 2 day ticket which actually lasts 48 hours. we haf use the full day following this and the morning and afternoon of the third day.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G3ck0-Trav3ll3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#230 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#167 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
#158 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Side Inn Hotel
#292 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,818 reviews
Mercure Amsterdam Airport
#159 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#206 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Amsterdam

Property: Campanile Amsterdam
Address: Loosdrechtdreef 3, 1108 AX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Louvre hotels and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campanile Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Campanile Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Campanile Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing