We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money Recommendation”
Review of Hotel La Boheme

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Boheme
Ranked #42 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2005

Found this hotel through this site after trying to find a reasonably priced hotel in Amsterdam for a weekend away. This was the only one I came across without negative reviews.

La Boheme offers what most people want from this type of hotel - friendly helpful staff, clean, quiet, good location and value for money. Ideal for a few nights in Amsterdam

Stayed: November 2005
8  Thank Wardo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,077)
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Boheme
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

680 - 686 of 1,077 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2005

We've just returned from a 4-night stay. Small hotel, we were in room 17 which was right at the top of 4 very steep flights of stairs. Other than that, the room was clean, well-lit with good facilities. Continental breakfast was very nice (cereals, breads, cold meats, boiled eggs, cheese).

Very good location just off the leidesplein.

Great hotel if you're on a budget.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2005

Spend three days at La Boheme with the girls. Staff were super, very helpful. Got all the information we needed from the staff and therefore didn't have to pay for a city map. Got a great restaurant recommendation 'Casa Peru' from the staff. Location is super for nightlife and having access to bicylces, shopping, canal cruises etc... City bus from the airport goes almost to the door (across the street at the Hotel American). No surprizes in terms of the hotel quality as I checked out reviews at tripadvisory. The hotel was fine, clean, secure rooms, great showers, very soft beds. I was impressed with how quiet the hotel was and loved the wall mural outside our window. Breakfasts had something for everyone - great atmosphere in the bar - tea/coffee and juice service by staff made it feel less like self-serve and little more like you splurged at a restaurant. Stairs were steep but they all must be as I have never seen a city with so many people on crutches

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pigtailsPEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2005

Good value for the price. It has the standard steep staircases and tiny rooms of traditional house-based Amsterdam hotels but is certainly clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and informal but did make a mistake on the billing of our room, trying to charge us a second time for half of the rate. This misunderstanding was soon sorted out however.

Breakfast was standard fare, with a reasonable selection. The breakfast area doubled as a bar, with a nice, cosy feel to it. Hotel location is good, right next to Leidseplein - not in the centre thankfully but close enough to the action for most people's liking, unless you're on a smokefest or a stag-do perhaps. I would recommend this hotel to anyone on a budget who also wants a decent night's sleep but not to romantic weekenders or elderly tourists.

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nash0819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
liverpool, uk
16
Reviewed June 16, 2005

Great Hotel, very clean rooms with everything you need. Staff are friendly and helpful, in a great location in the centre of Liedsplein.

Cannot complain about price, very cheap for what you get, only the very steep stairs let the hotel down, not suitable for people with walking difficulties.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2005

My partner and I really enjoyed our stay in this little hotel. La Boheme, like most other hotels in Amsterdam, was very compact. Our twin room with a bathroom was exceptionally clean. There was hot water, a great shower and comfortable beds.

Our room was at the back of the hotel overlooking the back yard.

The hotel is very quite at night. This is a budget hotel, so don't expect frills like air conditioning or free shampoo and toothpaste! You can borrow a hairdryer or iron from the reception staff, who are friendly and approachable.

The breakfast served is basic: coffee, bread, cheese and hard-boiled eggs.

La Boheme is a 25 minute walk from the Train Station (5 minutes in the tram). It is in a central and safe location (facing the Hotel Americian).

If you are going to Amsterdam, you're going to be spending most of your time sightseeing in the city. Your hotel will only be someplace to crash at night!

We would both recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Belfasttravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2005

Booked a triple room for 3 nights in January. The room and hotel in general is very clean. It is 2 minutes walk from Leidseplein Square which is busy day and night. Small bar/reception on ground floor.No lift and steep stairs so not suitable for everybody.

8  Thank omarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#55 of 371 in Amsterdam
871 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#25 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,024 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#59 of 371 in Amsterdam
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Boutique Hotel View
#96 of 371 in Amsterdam
950 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#56 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,348 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Boheme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Boheme

Address: Marnixstraat 415, 1017 PK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $115 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel La Boheme 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This cosy 2-star hotel has been a popular venue already for many years thanks to its ideal location (near Leidseplein), friendly atmosphere and helpful multi-lingual staff. We have the Greenkey Gold certificate, that means we are an ecological friendly hotel. Conveniently situated in the centre of town, all the main attractions (van Gogh museum, Stedelijkmuseum, Rijksmuseum, Melkweg, Paradiso, Theater DeLaMar) are within walking distance. We always do our best to make you feel welcome. Our rooms range in size from singles to triples and provide you with a simple but comfortable place to rest. Our stairs might be steep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel La Boheme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing