We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like I was home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel La Boheme

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Boheme
Ranked #37 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Felt like I was home!”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Loved it from the moment I walked into the lobby! Confused I first thought it was bar... then I was greeted by a super friendly dutch woman (I think is Jackie...). And then it all made sense when I saw (miss) Mimi!
So, my room was on the forth floor... no elevator... steep and narrow steps... do the math! Yet I loved it!!!! My room was small, cozy, slanted ceiling, saggy mattress, shower pressure weak... BUT I LOVED IT!!! Breakfast was delicious!!! WiFi worked really well. Loved seeing photos of (miss) Mimi everywhere! I would definitely recommend and go back ASAP!!!
PS: Took bus 197 from airport (5 euros, cash, no GBV card accepted on this bus).

Room Tip: Consider the 'no elevator' situation, but don't let it keep you from going there. It'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patbrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    420
    85
    20
    6
See reviews for
185
344
115
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Just had a fantastic 3 night stay at La Boheme. True as other travellers have said, the stairs are steep, and it is a drag climbing to 3rd floor. However, that would be my only quibble. Room was really clean, and enough room for the 2 of us. Great breakfast buffet served from 8-15 to a very civilised 11am. Hotel staff were super friendly, and even served up free pancakes between 1600-1700hrs! And of course if you like cats, there is the lovely Mimi chilling at the hotel. Would recommend and visit again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Three nights in La Boheme. Had a warm welcome from the very beginning, which continued throughout the stay with very friendly staff and cuddles from Mimi the cat. The room was a good size for the price we paid: very clean, soft beds, and only a little bit of noise through the night that wasn't really loud enough to stop us from sleeping. Convenient location, with tram and bus stops close by - handy for the airport and docks. Breakfast was a light continental, included in the price, with plenty of fresh bread, croissants, fruit, etc.

Highly recommend!

Room Tip: DFDS Seaways charge a lot for their coaches from IJmuiden (where the Newcastle ferry arrives) to Ams...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 4 day break at this wonderful friendly hotel. Excellent breakfast. Do not be put off by the steep stairs add to the character of the. Building. Really we'll located for walking to all areas. Lovely staff who are more than happy to assist with anything will e back.

Lee and Janice Darknell. Chepstow

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Great hotel in a good location, perfect for seeing the whole of Amsterdam and has lots of restaurants and bars nearby for the night time.
You can take a tram straight from central station which took about 15 minutes to the hotel when we arrived, there's also a bus (197) which runs directly to the airport and stops round the corner from the hotel which was 5 euros and took 25 minutes.
Dam square is about a ten minute tram ride away which was really cheap and easy to use, letting you get to the red light district really easy, with more clubs and a beautiful cocktail bar called njoy being a 2 minute walk away from the hotel. The main park was 10 minutes walk away and the museum square was 5 minutes from this.
Would highly recommend the bike tour which was 18 euros as it went all the way around the city, allowing you to see everything!
The hotel staff were really helpful and friendly and gave us plenty of ideas of what to do and see, there's more information and maps in the reception and a helpful information book in the room.
The hotel was safe and quiet and I would 100% stay here again and recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank c900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at La Boheme. The location is great, the 197 bus from the airport drops you nearly to the door. You can walk to most of the main attractions, although there are frequent trams and bike hire locally. The hotel was just as we expected from the previous reviews (small rooms and steep stairs) but we were impressed with how helpful and friendly all the staff were, nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was lovely, cereals, fruit, croissants, toast, ham, cheese and eggs, it set us up for the day. Mimi the cat is an adored pet and lovely pictures of her adorn the walls. The room at the front was a bit noisy at night (we were on the 4th floor) if you are a light sleeper just bring some ear plugs. A nice touch is that you can print off your boarding passes for your return using the hotel laptop. We had a lovely stay made more special by the lovely La Boheme staff (and thanks for the wine for our anniversary!)

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DannyBKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This hotel is ideal for a stay in Amsterdam. The location could not be better. Although the hotel is on a main road and facing this is fairly noisy, you get used to this after one night and it probably wouldn't even be a problem in the rooms facing away from the road. As for the room, it was pretty much spotless and had everything you would expect for the very reasonable price of this establishment. There were 3 of us and although not huge the room was perfect. The only thing I would say is, is if you are not great with stairs - beware that there are narrow, steep staircases. But this is not a problem for most. The breakfast was spot on, again for the very reasonable price it exceeded expectations. The staff are all extremely friendly, welcoming and more than happy to answer any questions you may have which makes a real difference. I would definitely stay again and would recommend this hotel to anyone. I can't think of any major negative points that the hotel could do anything about. We had a wonderful stay here

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from road are quieter (obviously) ask for lower floor room if not good with stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beatrice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
377 House - Amsterdam
#45 of 364 in Amsterdam
239 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#23 of 364 in Amsterdam
943 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#87 of 364 in Amsterdam
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#53 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,256 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#58 of 364 in Amsterdam
818 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Boheme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Boheme

Property: Hotel La Boheme
Address: Marnixstraat 415, 1017 PK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Boheme 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This cosy 2-star hotel has been a popular venue already for many years thanks to its ideal location (near Leidseplein), friendly atmosphere and helpful multi-lingual staff. We have the Greenkey Gold certificate, that means we are an ecological friendly hotel. Conveniently situated in the centre of town, all the main attractions (van Gogh museum, Stedelijkmuseum, Rijksmuseum, Melkweg, Paradiso, Theater DeLaMar) are within walking distance. We always do our best to make you feel welcome. Our rooms range in size from singles to triples and provide you with a simple but comfortable place to rest. Our stairs might be steep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel La Boheme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing