We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent location for a very good Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Boheme

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Boheme
Ranked #35 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent location for a very good Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I first stayed at this hotel when I visited Amsterdam in 2001 and always try to book it whenever I return, Though sometimes because its soo good value its fully booked. Stayed overnight last week on a short visit to Amsterdam and as always, the hotel doesnt disapoint, its excellent value, with extremely helpful staff. I like it not just for those reasons, important though they are, but for the fact its close to the Van Gogh museum and the leidsePlein.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dom J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    393
    82
    18
    4
See reviews for
168
304
103
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

It has been decades ago that I lived in an even older part of Amsterdam; so La Boheme brought back some nostalgic memories.

I had not made known any wishes with my reservation, so when we arrived late evening the receptionist apologized that she had only a room on the 3rd floor left, so we got to use an authentic staircase so very common in Amsterdam. For us this was not a 2 night weekend stopover, but a final transit stop of a long 5 week holiday to warm and cold climates.

The location is very central, next to the "Stadsschouwburg" and "het Leidse Plein".
Walking distance from the "Rijks Museum" and Van-Gogh (both 1 streetcar stop).
The 197 bus from Schiphol stops after a 30 min ride only 170 yards away from the hotel.

The staff was friendly and helpful and in the room was a folder with information on what to see and do in Amsterdam and how to get tickets for some of the most popular venues.

The rooms are small, but ours was very quiet as the rooms have an extra vestibule to separate the bedroom from the closet and washroom.

The breakfast was good, so if you are new to Amsterdam and like to sightsee, this hotel provides good value and friendly advice.

Room Tip: If you have heavy suitcases, inform them when making a reservation, or make 2 trips like we did. Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henk W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

La Boheme is perfectly situated round the corner from Leidseplein, which is only 10 mins down tramlines 1, 2 & 5 from Centraal. The street it's on is quiet despite being directly opposite a theatre.
The staff are lovely - very friendly and helpful without creating too much of a fuss. The reception area is welcoming and spacious, where you'll be greeted by Mimi, the resident tabby cat who is clearly the manager here.
The building is small and secure, with tight steep stairs leading to the bedrooms. This would be a problem for anyone with walking difficulties, but being in the centre of Amsterdam, you have to expect this given the architecture of the city's buildings.
The rooms are obviously small, but they are warm and clean, with all the commodities you would expect from a city hotel. The bathrooms are small and maybe a little dated, but again clean and have everything you need. I don't think there's any difference in being placed in a room at the front or back of the hotel, as both sides would be quiet enough for a good night's sleep.
Breakfast is a nice continental selection, and the seating area is relaxing and clean, with free wifi..!
The location is ideal as there are plenty of bars, restaurants and cafes within 5 mins walk of the hotel. Leidseplein is a busy square with a great atmosphere, so once you've finished exploring other areas of the city, it's good to have a nice selection of places to visit within a short walk back to the hotel.
I would definitely recommend this hotel if you're here for a short break, and I'll certainly return to La Boheme when I come back to Amsterdam.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete_Ards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
98 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

La Boheme is very good situated central in Amsterdam. Close to trams and busses, and walking distance to most of the interesting places in Amsterdam. Many restaurants just around the corner at the Leidesplan. Friendly and helpfull staff. After 11:00 PM the reception is closed and no service.... I had a small room in the cellar. A Little "prison like" but the room was Clean with all the facilitys i have expected to the price of the room. Shared toilet and shower outside the room, but also clean and nice.
The expected Wifi did not work in the cellar rooms, I had to go to the lobby to have internetacsess.
he breakfast was a good continental breafast with what you can exept on a two star hotel.
The hotel is not to recomend if you have problems with stairs. No elevator....
But a nice living central in Amsterdam. If i come back i can live there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I booked two nights at Hotel la Boheme as a surprise trip for my boyfriends birthday. I spent hours trawling the internet for a nice hotel in my price range and the reviews for this one spoke for themselves. I wasn't at all disapointed- the location is perfect as you're JUST on the outside of a busy, lively square. We rented bikes and could get to most the main spots within a maximum of 15 minutes (when we didn't get lost!). The hotel being close to the Vondel park and museum district as well as leidsepleins square made for a good contrast- we could chill and wander around or we could go out and check out the coffee shops or go to a bar. We stayed in room 17 on the very top floor and yes the stairs are steep- but I didn't see any hotel in central Amsterdam offering an elevator during my long search. The staff were outstanding- the safe in our room wouldn't open and I called reception for help, within minutes Jacky was there to unlock it. We were also offered great advice on where to go, what discounts we could get and even practical tips about getting to the airport. There was even a bottle of red wine waiting in our room as the staff knew it was my boyfriends birthday and how much I wanted it to be perfect! My one regret is I wish I had stayed another night.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellucytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

From the moment we arrived and were offered free pancakes the staff at this delightful small hotel could not have been more helpful and friendly. We had a room on the first floor - a twin, which actually had three beds so lots of space for the two of us.

Good continental breakfast - cereals, yogurt, fruit, eggs, cheese, bread, croissants etc.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indigo-girl_uk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Excellent place to stay in Amsterdam. It's very clean and rooms are comfortable. The owners are very welcoming and helpful. In the room there is a folder which gives a lot of helpful information including ticket sales for tram and museum, which can be bought in the hotel. The room was at the back of the hotel on the second floor and was very quiet. There is no comprise on the location. Just around the corner there is a square with a large selection of restaurants and fast food places. You'll also find clothes shops and coffee shops. Its located on a tram line so with a minute walk to the stop you can comfortably sit and be taken to central station or just about anywhere for that matter. I would definitely recommend it to anyone and next time I come would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heymcflyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Boutique Hotel View
#60 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 862 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#57 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#48 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#20 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 776 reviews
Hotel Restaurant Larende
#40 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#75 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Boheme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Boheme

Property: Hotel La Boheme
Address: Marnixstraat 415, 1017 PK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Boheme 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This cosy 2-star hotel has been a popular venue already for many years thanks to its ideal location (near Leidseplein), friendly atmosphere and helpful multi-lingual staff. We have the Greenkey Gold certificate, that means we are an ecological friendly hotel. Conveniently situated in the centre of town, all the main attractions (van Gogh museum, Stedelijkmuseum, Rijksmuseum, Melkweg, Paradiso, Theater DeLaMar) are within walking distance. We always do our best to make you feel welcome. Our rooms range in size from singles to triples and provide you with a simple but comfortable place to rest. Our stairs might be steep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Boheme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing