We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good Base in Amsterdam” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Boheme

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Boheme
Ranked #36 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Port Vila
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Base in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Very convenient location, very friendly and helpful staff at reception. We were able to walk to every thing we wanted to in Amsterdam, and the bus from the airport is close. We enjoyed the potterjes at 4:00 everyday with a coffee or tea after we returned from our travels. The hotel is very clean with reasonable prices. We were in the 3 person rooms on the third floor and the beds were a little narrow and bowed. But we asked for rooms we we could fit the whole family in an this worked out well.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    399
    84
    18
    5
See reviews for
174
314
107
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Llangollen, North Wales
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

This hotel is in a very convenient location. From the airport we caught a bus which took about 40 minutes and we only had a couple of minutes to walk from the bus stop to the hotel. Also very easy to get to the hop on hop off canal boats. Easy walk to most areas of the city. The staff are great , very friendly, helpful and welcoming. If you like animals they have a lovely cat called Mimi who also welcomes you in the reception. The room was just what we needed and the breakfast was great.We will recommend to friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueD58_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

I reserved room 1 which is a clean but very small single room. The toilets and shower is shared with 2 other rooms. The problem with this room is that the isolation is bad: it is located under the reception/ bar so when the reception opens in the morning, it's impossible to sleep because of the people walking and the sound of chairs. If you plan to sleep late, avoid this room.
The staff is very friendly though and the ladies at the reception gave me good advices to visit the city. They also accepted to partly refund my last night because I wanted to move to another hotel since I could not sleep well during my first 2 nights. So it's a 1/5 for the room and 5/5 for the service.
Last but not least, the location is perfect, 100m from Leidseplein, 300m from VondelPark.

Room Tip: Avoid room 1 and probably 2 & 3 also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I cannot say anything bad about this hotel. The staff is great. They are very helpful with regards to getting around the city. We stayed in room 14 on the top floor overlooking delamar hotel. It was clean and well maintained. The beds were so comfortable and I appreciate the black out curtains.
Breakfast was very good. And the location was perfect. I will definitely stay here again. Thank you La Boheme!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Just arrived home after my second stay at La Boheme. As has been mentioned many times, it's an incredibly friendly place, very clean, and brilliantly located for the Leidesplein and its nearby shops and eateries.

The staff are lovely, the rooms and communal areas are neat, tidy and spotless, and the breakfast is varied and plentiful.

The downsides have also been mentioned; it's a very small building and therefore there is not a great deal of space in the rooms (particularly the bathrooms), and the staircase is NOT for anyone who is elderly or infirm. The breakfast room can get a bit crowded at times too, so be prepared to share a table if need be. My other personal gripe is that the mattresses are very soft!

However, these are minor gripes. If you are looking for a quality budget hotel in a great location that you're basically just going to sleep/have breakfast in, you can't do much better.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chassy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is a typical example of a small hotel. Everybody was so kind, friendly and helpful. The rooms are small but clean and the stairs up to the rooms very steep and narrow but this is to be expected of a little hotel. The location is perfect and in a lovely part of Amsterdam, and considering where you are, it is very quiet at night. We felt very comfortable and safe walking back to the hotel very late at night. The hotel is within walking distance to all the tourist attractions and there are some great restaurants right around the corner. The only public transport we used was the bus to and from the airport which is literally a 5 minute walk from the hotel. A huge thank you to the young lady at reception who helped my mother-in-law who wasn't even staying at the hotel. If you are looking for a small, comfortable hotel in the right location with friendly hosts, then I would certainly recommend Hotel La Boheme.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3xTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Very good basic hotel right in the centre of the city. Seconds away from the Leidesplein and all the shops leading off it. The Leidesplein is well served for trams to Dam Square and Cental Station. A 5 or 10 minute walk to the Vondelpark, the Reijksmuseum and other museums. Hotel is a basic 2*, but the rooms were very clean and breakfast was included. All staff in reception were exceptionally helpful, friendly and spoke fluent English. My room had shared toilet/showere facilities and although not ideal, was adequate for my stay. Would I stay there again? Yes, definitely. Would I recommend to others? Yes,if looking for basic, clean, central hotel.

Room Tip: Try to not get a room in the basement or on too high a floor, as the stairs are steep and can be awk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Boutique Hotel View
#68 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#43 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#22 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#55 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Hotel Restaurant Larende
#42 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Boheme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Boheme

Property: Hotel La Boheme
Address: Marnixstraat 415, 1017 PK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Boheme 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This cosy 2-star hotel has been a popular venue already for many years thanks to its ideal location (near Leidseplein), friendly atmosphere and helpful multi-lingual staff. We have the Greenkey Gold certificate, that means we are an ecological friendly hotel. Conveniently situated in the centre of town, all the main attractions (van Gogh museum, Stedelijkmuseum, Rijksmuseum, Melkweg, Paradiso, Theater DeLaMar) are within walking distance. We always do our best to make you feel welcome. Our rooms range in size from singles to triples and provide you with a simple but comfortable place to rest. Our stairs might be steep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Boheme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing