We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpful staff but...”
Review of Hotel La Boheme

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Boheme
Ranked #45 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I reserved room 1 which is a clean but very small single room. The toilets and shower is shared with 2 other rooms. The problem with this room is that the isolation is bad: it is located under the reception/ bar so when the reception opens in the morning, it's impossible to sleep because of the people walking and the sound of chairs. If you plan to sleep late, avoid this room.
The staff is very friendly though and the ladies at the reception gave me good advices to visit the city. They also accepted to partly refund my last night because I wanted to move to another hotel since I could not sleep well during my first 2 nights. So it's a 1/5 for the room and 5/5 for the service.
Last but not least, the location is perfect, 100m from Leidseplein, 300m from VondelPark.

Room Tip: Avoid room 1 and probably 2 & 3 also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

357 - 363 of 1,108 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I cannot say anything bad about this hotel. The staff is great. They are very helpful with regards to getting around the city. We stayed in room 14 on the top floor overlooking delamar hotel. It was clean and well maintained. The beds were so comfortable and I appreciate the black out curtains.
Breakfast was very good. And the location was perfect. I will definitely stay here again. Thank you La Boheme!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Just arrived home after my second stay at La Boheme. As has been mentioned many times, it's an incredibly friendly place, very clean, and brilliantly located for the Leidesplein and its nearby shops and eateries.

The staff are lovely, the rooms and communal areas are neat, tidy and spotless, and the breakfast is varied and plentiful.

The downsides have also been mentioned; it's a very small building and therefore there is not a great deal of space in the rooms (particularly the bathrooms), and the staircase is NOT for anyone who is elderly or infirm. The breakfast room can get a bit crowded at times too, so be prepared to share a table if need be. My other personal gripe is that the mattresses are very soft!

However, these are minor gripes. If you are looking for a quality budget hotel in a great location that you're basically just going to sleep/have breakfast in, you can't do much better.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chassy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is a typical example of a small hotel. Everybody was so kind, friendly and helpful. The rooms are small but clean and the stairs up to the rooms very steep and narrow but this is to be expected of a little hotel. The location is perfect and in a lovely part of Amsterdam, and considering where you are, it is very quiet at night. We felt very comfortable and safe walking back to the hotel very late at night. The hotel is within walking distance to all the tourist attractions and there are some great restaurants right around the corner. The only public transport we used was the bus to and from the airport which is literally a 5 minute walk from the hotel. A huge thank you to the young lady at reception who helped my mother-in-law who wasn't even staying at the hotel. If you are looking for a small, comfortable hotel in the right location with friendly hosts, then I would certainly recommend Hotel La Boheme.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3xTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Very good basic hotel right in the centre of the city. Seconds away from the Leidesplein and all the shops leading off it. The Leidesplein is well served for trams to Dam Square and Cental Station. A 5 or 10 minute walk to the Vondelpark, the Reijksmuseum and other museums. Hotel is a basic 2*, but the rooms were very clean and breakfast was included. All staff in reception were exceptionally helpful, friendly and spoke fluent English. My room had shared toilet/showere facilities and although not ideal, was adequate for my stay. Would I stay there again? Yes, definitely. Would I recommend to others? Yes,if looking for basic, clean, central hotel.

Room Tip: Try to not get a room in the basement or on too high a floor, as the stairs are steep and can be awk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

This is our 4th stay at la boheme...been to Amsterdam many timea and used maybe 4 hotels in the past but since finding la boheme will continue to stay here if standards atay as they are..comfortable. .good location..friendly staff..good eat as much as you want breakfast. .excellent value foe money

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philipkendall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Well located, opposite the "De la Mar Theater" and nearby a tram. The room was small, but very cozy and clean! There was a small closet inside. The bed was great and not too hot, with many pillows. We had to walk 70 stairs up to reach or double room. At night it was quiet! You get a key to come in when you want (even at night..), for this you have to 'pay' 20€ as a guaranty. Wifi is free and works fine. Breakfast is realllyy good, with fruits, yoghurt, croissants, .. ! The staff is friendly and always ready to help you. They have reduction tickets for visiting museums.

Room Tip: Tweepersoonskamers zijn 70 trappen omhoog wandelen. Double rooms are 70 stairs up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karenvandelaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel Restaurant Larende
#41 of 373 in Amsterdam
430 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#24 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,078 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#51 of 373 in Amsterdam
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,289 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#105 of 373 in Amsterdam
967 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#56 of 373 in Amsterdam
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Boheme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Boheme

Address: Marnixstraat 415, 1017 PK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $100 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel La Boheme 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This cosy 2-star hotel has been a popular venue already for many years thanks to its ideal location (near Leidseplein), friendly atmosphere and helpful multi-lingual staff. We have the Greenkey Gold certificate, that means we are an ecological friendly hotel. Conveniently situated in the centre of town, all the main attractions (van Gogh museum, Stedelijkmuseum, Rijksmuseum, Melkweg, Paradiso, Theater DeLaMar) are within walking distance. We always do our best to make you feel welcome. Our rooms range in size from singles to triples and provide you with a simple but comfortable place to rest. Our stairs might be steep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel La Boheme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing