We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Friendly and Welcoming”
Review of Hotel La Boheme

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Boheme
Ranked #37 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Friendly and Welcoming”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My sister, sister in law and I stayed for 3 nights in a triple room in Hotel La Boheme. The location in Leidesplein is very convenient in many ways. The bus from the airport stops less than 1 minute away, it is a hub for trams, and much of Amsterdam (including the museums, Anne Franks House, the Vondelpark and the different markets) is walkable. The staff are very friendly here and we had a warm welcome. We were on the 4th floor and 3 flights of steep dutch stairs were a bit of a shock to begin with. They were worth it though as the room and en-suite was compact, clean and comfortable. I couldn't have asked for anything more. Although the hotel is near a busy square with a bustling night life, the room was quiet.The breakfast was tasty and available till 11am. The staff were friendly and very very helpful. When asked a question they endeavoured to answer it as clearly and fully as possible, which was greatly appreciated. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PenelopeHickling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    423
    88
    20
    6
See reviews for
188
352
118
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed at Hotel La Boheme as a solo traveler for 3 nights this past October and it was a pleasant stay. Room and en suite bath were small as you would expect but clean and comfortable. Pleasant staff, and Mimi the cat is friendly! Nice little breakfast in the morning with coffee, tea, juice, yogurt, cheese and meat, bread, cereal and milk, etc. First time staying here and in this area, usually stay in Haarlem or in the Jordaan area. Especially convenient to the museum area - Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum (note that Van Gogh work moved to Hermitage during my time there). Leidseplein is quite the place for night life, with lots and lots of bars, restaurants etc. if that's your thing. In fact I was surprised that the hotel was as quiet as it was with all that going on around it, though my room did face the back. Easy to walk anywhere but is also very convenient to the tram that goes to Amsterdam Centraal. Would recommend as a good value with a very pleasant vibe.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wyvernoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Great place to stay, but hotel cat was sometimes sniffing the hotel food on the bar, really nice cat but........

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank timetravel0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here between 10th-13th November 2012. We really liked the hotel. The room is basic, but clean and had everything we needed. The staff are really friendly and helpful and the hotel cat - Mimi is often around for a tickle!!The breakfast is tasty and served in a cosy room overlooking a theatre on the other side of the street.

The hotel is in a good location to get to the main attractions, although it can be a little noisy at night. We would definitely recommend a visit to Hotel Americain just up the road from the hotel for either a drink or a meal - beautiful art deco decor!

My only niggle was that our bathroom seemed to smell of urine (was there when we got there)...which meant going out and buying an air freshner! I did inform the hotel of this on the feedback form and it strikes me as the type of place that would look into this as their desire to please their customers is very apparent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShonieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Make no mistake, this is a very basic hotel - simple and with small rooms and bathrooms.
However, for the price, you can't beat this hotel - with great service and fantastic location. The downside is the tram (if your room faces the street), as well as a glaring red light from the opposite theatre (not Red Light, just red light).
I'd give it a 3.5 if I could, but 4 out of 5 sends a wrong signal for such a simple hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TPost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pantin, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at La Boheme for 2 nights in November. The hotel is simple but comfortable. The stairs are very steep but thats normal if you want to stay in a traditional Dutch house. Breakfast was good and tasty and the staff were very kind and helpful. Its easy to get to from the station by jumping on a tram 1,2 or 5. Lots of places to eat and shop. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vcraigdefl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
377 House - Amsterdam
#59 of 368 in Amsterdam
252 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#54 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,291 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#80 of 368 in Amsterdam
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#24 of 368 in Amsterdam
981 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,023 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Boheme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Boheme

Property: Hotel La Boheme
Address: Marnixstraat 415, 1017 PK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel La Boheme 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This cosy 2-star hotel has been a popular venue already for many years thanks to its ideal location (near Leidseplein), friendly atmosphere and helpful multi-lingual staff. We have the Greenkey Gold certificate, that means we are an ecological friendly hotel. Conveniently situated in the centre of town, all the main attractions (van Gogh museum, Stedelijkmuseum, Rijksmuseum, Melkweg, Paradiso, Theater DeLaMar) are within walking distance. We always do our best to make you feel welcome. Our rooms range in size from singles to triples and provide you with a simple but comfortable place to rest. Our stairs might be steep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel La Boheme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing