We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amsterdam with friends”
Review of Hotel La Boheme

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Boheme
Ranked #36 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amsterdam with friends”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Myself and two friends where visiting Amsterdam for a few days then moving on to Paris. This hotel was exactly what we needed. It was a compact room with three twin beds centrally located with good transportation links. It was well priced in comparison with other hotels in the area. The continental breakfast was very good. Each morning you are greeted with smell of fresh baked croissants. There were a selection of breads, cereals, yogurt, meats, cheeses etc.....everything you need to start the day. Where this hotel really shines is the staff, who without exception were extremely pleasant, and helpful. I would definately stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank HappyCdnTraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    422
    85
    20
    6
See reviews for
186
349
116
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I've been to Amsterdam several times over the years & have stayed at Hotel La Boheme every single time.
What I love about this place is that it has a nice welcoming environment & the staff are always friendly & helpful. The rooms are basic, but very clean & comfortable & the location of the hotel (a minute walk to one of the main squares) rivals even the most elite hotels in Amsterdam.
If you are coming a weekend with friends or the other half, & don't want to pay over the odds & are not looking for anything too fancy, but still a clean & warm environment I would seriously recommend this hotel.
They also have a cat called Mimi, who is very kool :o)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chriskargbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Basic accommodation, size of room didn't bother us as we were out all day sightseeing. Good accommodation for a base while checking out Amsterdam. We found the location convenient, very easy to navigate city area. Only con was that it was a bit it noisy from the street outside, but that may be the same as most accommodation Amsterdam. Overall was good, we found this place had a relaxed vibe, helpful staff, good breakfast, would recommend.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nicky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in based on the reviews on tripadvisor. The staff were fantastic and very helpful, and the breakfast was good. But the room we had left a bit to be desired, we were on the top floor so were well aware of the steep stairs. The room itself was very small and once we had our two medium sized suitcases in the room there wasn't a lot of room to move. The bathroom was basic but the shower cubical is so small that we were constantly bumping the taps and scalding ourselves. We ended up leaving the shower curtain open to stop it sticking to us. One day we were given 4 hand towels as they had run out of full size towels. The room got very hot and didn't cool down and leaving the window open wasn't an option due to the noise outside. Amsterdam is expensive but next time we will spend a bit extra and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlo-john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Whenever I'm travelling to amsterdam, I always try to book a room here. It's very clean, comfortable and the location is great. It's just a few steps away from the leidseplein (sp?), which is one of the main squares in the city centre. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and the rooms are comfortable. When we stayed recently, they'd just had new tv's installed in the rooms. When you visit, you can see they take pride in their hotel. It's great value and i cant recommend it enough.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This cozy hotel is a perfect base to explore Amsterdam. Rooms are small but comfortable and clean. Staff is very helpful and friendly. Location is superb. Breakfast was great. Everything you could want in a hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Great location, price, staff. Rooms are basic but clean; could use a little touch-up paint. Steep stairs will be a barrier to some. Breakfast was very good. Staff were a fount of information on the city, museum tickets, transport, etc. Plan to stay again next time in town.

Room Tip: Choose an upper-story room on the courtyard side. Very quiet after 10 PM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrJohn999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
377 House - Amsterdam
#47 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#87 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#24 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#53 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#60 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Boheme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Boheme

Property: Hotel La Boheme
Address: Marnixstraat 415, 1017 PK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel La Boheme 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This cosy 2-star hotel has been a popular venue already for many years thanks to its ideal location (near Leidseplein), friendly atmosphere and helpful multi-lingual staff. We have the Greenkey Gold certificate, that means we are an ecological friendly hotel. Conveniently situated in the centre of town, all the main attractions (van Gogh museum, Stedelijkmuseum, Rijksmuseum, Melkweg, Paradiso, Theater DeLaMar) are within walking distance. We always do our best to make you feel welcome. Our rooms range in size from singles to triples and provide you with a simple but comfortable place to rest. Our stairs might be steep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel La Boheme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing