We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A quaint hotel in a great city!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel La Boheme

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Boheme
Ranked #35 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, KY
Level Contributor
145 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A quaint hotel in a great city!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

If you have been to Amsterdam, you know that hotels are very expensive. Hotel La Boheme is a great value with a wonderful location. I booked a triple room for myself, brother and sister-in-law. The room consisted of 3 single beds, a closet, night stands and private bathroom. We were in room 6, which is one level up from the main entrance. The hotel does not have air conditioning and our room faced the main street. Even with the windows open, the noise level was not bad considering we were there last week when Europe was experiencing some unusually warm weather. There is no elevator and the climb to the upper rooms is steep. The beds were comfortable and they offer a great breakfast.

The staff was exceptional and very helpful in answering questions about the city. The best part is that they sell transit passes and museum passes. Buy at the hotel and save the time in the lines!

The hotel is 1/2 block to the Leidseplein along with the 197 bus to/from the airport. Bus fare to/from the airport is about 4E.

Be careful on when you arrive. If you arrive really early in the morning like we did, hang out at the airport and have breakfast. Reception opens at 0830 and rooms are available after 1300. If you arrive early, the staff will hold your bags until your room is available.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay there again on my next trip!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    420
    85
    20
    6
See reviews for
186
345
115
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kempele, Finland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

Very nice hotel, good location. Very friendly staff. Nice breakfast. All main tourist actractions are within walking distance. Many nice restaurants in neigborhood, e.g. Klos (great ribs!). Easy to take a bus from airport to Leidseplein (cost 4 €). The room was small but big enough for 2 persons for sleeping. The room was clean, and luckily we got a room from the backside since the street was very noisy during the weekend. Definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Very steep stairs ! Backside rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

The hotel is situted centrally with all tourist actractions within walking distance. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean. The breakfast is also very good and value for money! Will definately stay her again in future!! The bus to the airport (#197) leaves from the front of the American hotel, a minute walk away and only cost 4 Euro on way.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quintus_Willemse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

Hotel is in a very convenient location; Leidseplein is 2 minutes away, Museumplein and Vondelpark very near and Rembrantplein, Dam and Red Light only a fair 15 minutes walk. Stuff was very helpful, we bought tickets for Van Gogh museum and were offered discount coupons for bike rental. Stayed for 4 nights in a single room, but the 2 nights an extra person slept on a mattress in the room for only 15 euros/night. Room was rather small, bed also, but was clean. My room was in the basement and wi-fi signal wasn't good. TV signal was very bad ( but who needs it in Amsterdam?). Nice breakfast open till 11:00. Hotel La Boheme will be my first choice for my next visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pantelis007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

This is a great little hotel in a great location with great staff!!
Travelling around by myself and everything about it is just too easy and not a bit intimidating. Lovely staff (who might perhaps be a little cat obsessed), it's an easy place to hang out at small little cafe/bar by yourself, clean rooms....perfect for a wknd. they say 2 star but its prob a 3.5 and also prob priced similar to a 3.5.

Room Tip: Great spot to stay if you're just looking for somewhere clean with a great location and helpful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livefortravelchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

We needed a reasonably priced hotel for one night prior to a Baltic Cruise, and the reviews on Tripadvisor guided us in the right direction. I'd emailed ahead that we were a 'mature' couple so a room on a lower floor would be appreciated, and we got a prompt reply back saying it was no problem, and the staff would help us getting the cases up the very steep stairs.
The Hotel is very near to a main bus route from the airport - 197 I think, and as it only costs 4 Euros it's a lot cheaper than a Taxi. It takes about 30 minutes on the bus, and we used this route again at the end of our Cruise so we could get back into Amsterdam for some sightseeing, as our flight back to Manchester was quite late in the afternoon.
The hotel's location is absolutely ideal, being in Leidseplien which has lots of bars, cafe's and shops. Everything of interest to us was within walking distance, and the Hotel has discounted tickets for the museums which allowed you to walk in without queueing, which I would highly reccomend. Both the Reiks Museum and the Van Goch Museum are within easy walking distance, as are canal boat tours and the Vondel Park.
Bearing in mind the two star rating, the hotel was quite compact, however the staff went out of thier way to be helpful and informative.
The room was quite small but had an en-suite (small) bathroom that was absolutely spotless with fresh towels each day. The beds were very comfortable but there is no air conditioning so we slept with the large window slightly ajar as it was extremely warm. Our room overlooked the front of the hotel, and the street outside was quite lively with passing pedestrians, but it was a Friday night so not unexpected.
Breakfast was excellent buffet style so you could eat as much as you wanted. As we weren't due to board the ship till 1p.m., we left out luggage in reception for collection later. They gave us a security ticket to ensure no one else could take them, which I thought was a nice idea.
All in all, not 5 star luxury but ideal for those on a budget who want somewhere ideally located and extremelly clean and secure. I would highly reccomend this Hotel on those criteria.
Martin

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the lower floors as the stairs are extremely steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TommyTV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights and it surpassed expectations by miles. Welcoming staff on arrival and very helpful. As it was our first visit to Amsterdam, they recommended what we could do to maximise our Amsterdam experience!
Very relaxed atmosphere from the place. We stayed in a 3 person room with an extra mattress for 4 people in total. Room was a good size, with the extra mattress on the floor it was cosy. Very clean and tidy with all the essentials needed for a great stay. Excellent music choice in the bar/reception area too!

To emphasise how accommodating the staff are, the lock on the door had broken which meant staff had to sleep in the reception area at night so that when people staying arrived at the door, the staff would let them in. EVEN at 5am. Great hospitality, cannot be beaten.

Excellent stay and will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rBerry10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
377 House - Amsterdam
#41 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#91 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#23 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#51 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#57 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Boheme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Boheme

Property: Hotel La Boheme
Address: Marnixstraat 415, 1017 PK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Boheme 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This cosy 2-star hotel has been a popular venue already for many years thanks to its ideal location (near Leidseplein), friendly atmosphere and helpful multi-lingual staff. We have the Greenkey Gold certificate, that means we are an ecological friendly hotel. Conveniently situated in the centre of town, all the main attractions (van Gogh museum, Stedelijkmuseum, Rijksmuseum, Melkweg, Paradiso, Theater DeLaMar) are within walking distance. We always do our best to make you feel welcome. Our rooms range in size from singles to triples and provide you with a simple but comfortable place to rest. Our stairs might be steep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel La Boheme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing