We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value at a convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam
Ranked #30 of 229 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good value at a convenient location”
Reviewed December 4, 2010

Stayed at the hostel for one night in a 10-bed male dorm. The bathroom was conveniently located outside the dorm with plenty of showers and toilets. The beds were comfortable enough, grouped in 2 or 4 separated by a wall, so it felt more cozy with more added privacy. The staffs were friendly and helpful. The hostel was secure with 24 hour reception and lockers for rent. It provided breakfast (takeaway if you have to leave early before breakfast service started). The central location was convenient, close to Chinatown, but also red light district. It's a non-smoking (good for those allergic to smoke) and non-party hostel (good if sleep is important). It definitely distinguished itself from other hostels in the city in its policy and PERFECT for those looking for a safe, quiet place to stay and party elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seaguy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    199
    96
    23
    25
See reviews for
5
10
139
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2010

We stayed two nights here. It's walking distance from the central station, but get a map, otherwise the streets can be confusing. A map will also help you avoid the red light district, if you prefer. The staff can help with recommendations and you can book tours and bike rentals at the desk. This was definitely the cheapest hostel we could find, but it's clean and provides several breakfast options (I love Dutch pancakes and yogurt with muesli). We knew we were staying in a big dorm room, but it was quiet enough for us to sleep, even though it was not far from the lobby and the courtyard. The light in the hallway outside was the most annoying part, but it was turned off at midnight. You don't have to rent sheets, which is another added value.

Cons: The knowledge and friendliness of the desk attendant totally depends on who is working at the time. (Some seem to get overwhelmed, but most were very friendly.) The internet is annoying to use. You have to walk down the hallway from the dorms to get to the showers.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AESusek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manaus
Level 5 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

I want thanks the whole TEAM from shelter city hostel great place and everyone treat me pritty good,i will be back!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManausManualencar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadley, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

This is a pretty good hostel. The Shelter City is a safe haven in the middle of the seedy Red Light District. It is a very safe hostel with 24-hour security and they make you show a voucher or room key before buzzing people in. Dorms are segregated by sex (great for solo female travelers like myself, not so great for couples...), and there are free showers, hot water, and linens. Towels can be rented for 1 Euro and they will hold your suitcases behind the desk until 6PM after you check out. I recommend spending a few bucks more and stay in a four or six bed room instead of a 16 bed room... my room (with 4 beds) wasn't fully booked and I slept pretty peacefully (with ear plugs of course!). The woman's floor is all the way on the top floor, and the stairs are pretty treacherous. If you have back and/or leg problems, you might have difficulty getting up and down - there is no lift. The desk staff were plenty friendly and will gently inquire if you are Christian and maybe chat a little bit about Christianity, but they are not forceful or aggressive with their thoughts and opinions. I would give 3 out of 5 stars for cleanliness only because there were a few stands of hair on my blankets, but it was clear that they had been laundered well and some hair just got stuck on in the dryer. Breakfast was hot but boring, nothing special but included in the cost of a night so take advantage. The internet was in and out of service and slow - you are better off going elsewhere to check your email. No lock-out, no curfew, and there is a 10 Euro key deposit. I would stay here again because it is safe, warm, clean enough, and has very competitive rates compared to other hostels/hotels in the area.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbrinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2010

as i only stayed in hostels in australia so far where everyone is drunken all the time and not feeling safe as a young woman at all, i enjoyed this hostel A LOT. ya, it might be kinda slow, but it's more like a family atmosphere anyways. staff is very friendly and loves to get in contact with you (btw, they are all voluntaries and do not get paid), especially in the hostel cafe which is a lovely place to stay for rainy days. also you can get a simple but hot breakfast every morning. beds are not too comfy, but i didnt expect anything great for a cheap price. the bathroom was cleaned a couple of times a day and it was very clean! i stayed with 15 other girls in a room, of course you had to look after each other and usually there was always someone sleeping - so better stay outside of the room :) you have your own lockers in the room, however it was such a nice atmosphere - people left their luagge and belongings anyways.
it is very central you can walk literally eeeverywhere where me and my friend wanted to visit in our three day trip. yeah, you're in the red light district. but where is that not in central amsterdam!? also i felt like it was okay going through it together with my (female) friend, i felt safe all the time (especally compared to paris, our next trip)!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malin_hh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2010

Good place to stay just outside the red light district but it is located on discount Ally a.k.a. tranny alley so for a good time you can watch seemingly normal grown men that want to plow trannys good times. safe clean I would advise to get a smaller room as a 16 person room to be a bit much when people are coming in now at all times of the night. And my wife and I had to sleep in separate rooms which is weird but work out okay

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fattrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2010

Stayed here 2 nights & never again - as a solo female I didn't like the location at night - in an alley in the red light district - you can try to walk around that part but it takes forever. There was a creepy older man hanging out in the t.v. room right outside my room, made me feel uncomfortable...there was one friendly girl at reception, the rest were impatient & not too helpful...I've stayed in alot of hostels & honestly this place seemed creepy & felt dirty, not cool for a solo female, or any female really. I also saw a mouse running around right outside of my room...I know it's a city, but that just confirmed the gross feeling the place gave me. This hostel is affiliated with the Shelter Jordaan Amsterdam, but after staying at both places i can confirm that they are TOTALLY different -the Shelter Jordaan is way better in every way - clean & has a friendly vibe - stay at Shelter Jordaan!

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bettytherese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hostel Meeting Point
Hostel Meeting Point
#59 of 229 in Amsterdam
388 reviews
Jordaan
Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Durty Nelly's Inn
Durty Nelly's Inn
#34 of 229 in Amsterdam
395 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam

Property: Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam
Address: Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 229 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, clean hostel in the centre of Amsterdam. Single-sex dormitories and rooms with 4-8 beds, some with en-suite bathrooms. 24 hour reception, cafe with cheap food and drinks, free use of lockers, great garden to hang out in with giant fish-pond! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shelter City Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing