We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great but not terrible either”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam
Ranked #29 of 234 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not great but not terrible either”
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

The good:
-beds are clean and comfy
-there are lots of showers/toilets and they're cleaned daily
-awesome location, walking distance to everything
-yummy, free breakfast everyday
-no smoking in the rooms
-only guests are allowed in
-cheaper than a lot of the other places that are close by

The not so good:
-it's a bit too big for my liking, makes it harder to meet people
-a few things have been stolen although it's not really the owner's fault I guess

It's a Christian place but if you're not interested in religion (like me) then it's easy to avoid. It's not like they force bibles in your face.

I'd stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank slabz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    204
    98
    24
    25
See reviews for
5
10
140
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pully, Vaud, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

If you are looking for an inexpensive and safe place to stay in Amsterdam, go to the Shelter City. I went there with a group of students and we were on a rather tight budget which was fine. I wouldn't spend a romantic weekend at the Shelter City though. The rooms are quite old and need to be given a fresh coat of paint. Breakfast is quite yummy and the staff is very friendly and caring, most of whom are volunteers. Being situated in the Red Light District, they will check your identity whenever you get in, preventing intruders to enter the hostel. Close to Amsterdam Centraal and the Dam area. Ideal for backpackers or students.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YFischer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Sept2-6th
Good.Clean.Friendly.Helpful.Afforable.SAFE.GreatBreakfast.Close to the train station. free wifi but it was spotty.
it might be in the heart of the red light district but its safe and clean. its not a crazy party hostel. so if thats what you are looking for this not a place for you. it is a christian hostel so they do have like a prayer session but you do not need to be apart of it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sama52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a conference. Having stayed here previous I was intrigued about its present condition.
It's still lovely. Good central location - friendly & helpful staff - good breakfast.
Bit of a faff having to show a piece of paper to gain entry. That's the only comment regarding improvements.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenHancock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

I had a generally nice stay here for 4 nights. I particularly chose this hostel because it's not a party hostel and didn't want to worry about stoned and drunk people at bedtime. It's also within walking distance the Dam Square, metro, Central station, red light district and red light district.

The 4-bed female dorm I stayed in was clean and had comfortable beds. The ensuite bathroom, although small, had a really nice hot shower. The bathroom looked clean but smelled of pee (must be the pipe system?). Every morning, there are breakfast options (toast, muesli,or hot -pancakes, French toast), and coffee, tea and juice.

Although a Christian hostel, they don't push you to attend the bible discussions. I also really enjoyed the open mic night with free food.

For improvement: strengthen wi-fi (sketchy wi-fi in the room), a lobby perhaps for a mingling atmosphere, access cards instead of the paper you have to present every entry, help with luggage for the long flight of stairs

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krukruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Great place stop..could not fault the place its in a great location and cheap. We had a group of 12 and we only need a place to sleep at night which this place was great for doing, as soon as we booked up the staff was very helpful, emailed all the time with information and when we got there the guys on reception were also brilliant very helpful and friendly both checking in and checking out. Would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dillon87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed in a 16 bed dorm room which was better than I was expecting. There are wooden dividers between beds so you still have privacy. Everything was pretty clean, especially the toilets and showers which again pleasantly surprised me. It was a bit more expensive than I would have liked but it's location was unbeatable; even though it's only a street away from the red light district it felt safe, especially with the security they have for the entrance. It;s also within walking distance of the train station and most attractions. Even though it's a Christian hostel there wasn't any kind of pressure to take part in religious events and most people staying seemed to not be religious. The staff were friendly and helpful. The only drawback was being in a room on the ground floor which backed on to the communal courtyard and bar; on friday nights there is a band night, so bring earplugs if you want to sleep!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#12 of 234 in Amsterdam
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Heart of Amsterdam
Heart of Amsterdam
#88 of 234 in Amsterdam
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam

Property: Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam
Address: Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 234 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, clean hostel in the centre of Amsterdam. Single-sex dormitories and rooms with 4-8 beds, some with en-suite bathrooms. 24 hour reception, cafe with cheap food and drinks, free use of lockers, great garden to hang out in with giant fish-pond! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Shelter City Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing