We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprisingly nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam
Ranked #29 of 238 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Booked it cos of availability, not being aware of this being a christian place. Well nobody tried to proselytize me or molested me in any other way.
At opposite! The place is nice, I liked their breakfast and attitude.
Just a pity that you cannot smoke weed in the yard

Room Tip: avoid the ten share
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
There are newer reviews for Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

204 - 210 of 475 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2012

Shelter is ideally located, right between the Waag and the Red Light District. It could not be more central.

The service was good, and full bedding and hot breakfast are included in the already great price.

Atmosphere is OK. Weird probably if you're not a Christian, as it's a Christian hostel, but they don't shove it in your face.

Everything was clean, efficient, and satisfactory.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We were a group of 4 friends who visited Amsterdam in early Nov'11. The hostel was about 5 mins walk from Amsterdam Centraal and was'nt too hard to find. We stayed in a 12 room dorm and was well kept, the beds & linen were clean too. We had shared bathrooms, but they were clean.
The hostel is centrally located from all the sight seeing places, and is easy to find your way.
The hostel had a nice sit-out with a fountain. It was a great place to interact with other inmates of the hostel.
Breakfast was nice and simple too.
The hostel had a strict NO drug, alcohol & smoking policy.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reno1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Very relaxed & welcoming atmosphere in the hostel.. They are strict about who they let in and check verification documents before they let anyone in. This is for your safety though. And they always let us in with a smile....even at 2AM in the night!

We stayed in the dorms which were very well maintained. The dorms on the ground floor open into a small,pretty garden with a pond. There is also a seating area where you can relax and enjoy the sun.

The hostel hosts events on a regular basis and is also a place where you meet a lot of people and sit down together to enjoy a meal. They serve excellent breakfast.
Would definitely stay here the next time I visit Amsterdam!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JovieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Service - wonderful, welcoming staff. Always willing to help & had great convos with them.
Value - good value.
Sleep Quality - excellent. Rooms were quiet & beds were comfortable.
Cleanliness - very clean. Linen provided.
Location - 5 mins walk to Amsterdam Centraal. Close to main sights & bars. Around the corner from Red Light District but easily avoided if you don't want to go through it.
Rooms - only single sex dorms available. Rooms were adequately sized. Ensuite bathrooms were small but if this becomes a major problem, use the shared bathrooms. Also, the hostel doesn't allow drugs, alcohol & smoking inside & they clearly state this before arrival.

Travel tips - take the free walking tour of Amsterdam with the hostel (daily at 11am).

Overall impression - we would definitely stay again. Great hostel with nice rooms & wonderful free hot/cold breakfasts each morning. Common room great to hang in after a day out. Hostel felt particularly safe in an area that could get rowdy late at night.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydSider11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Just stayed here for new year 2012 with 2 friends.. ages 24, 24, 23....the rooms are really small and the whole place looks old fashioned. The lockers are not in your room so you have to walk to your locker every time you need anything.....dirty toilets and showers. We were told off for drinking and smoking in our room on new years eve and then we were told by the bald bloke who was holding a truncheon at the time to get out and not return..as he left we began to pack our stuff...he returned 5 minutes later and threatened us with the police....then 5 minutes later as we were about to leave...8 yes 8 policemen entered our room and gave us 10 seconds to leave..which we did. I am sure there was a more calm and effective way to have resolved this situation...yes we broke ruled but from the moment we entered the hostel..the bold bloke seemed very strange and a little possessed..the rest of the staff were fine..as it happened we found another hostel called stayokay which was so much better and would recommend to anyone..hope this helps anyone thinking of staying here.

Room Tip: Dont choose one.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkBatey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Comfy beds, great breakfast, Spacious and perfect location at just 20 - 25 EUR per night ! Free WIFI too.

Room Tip: Check for dorms with fewer beds
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YTabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#10 of 238 in Amsterdam
1,263 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Heart of Amsterdam
Heart of Amsterdam
#97 of 238 in Amsterdam
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam

Address: Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 238 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: $36 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, clean hostel in the centre of Amsterdam. Single-sex dormitories and rooms with 4-8 beds, some with en-suite bathrooms. 24 hour reception, cafe with cheap food and drinks, free use of lockers, great garden to hang out in with giant fish-pond! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Shelter City Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing