We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“?F YOU ARE HUMAN,YOU DONT STAY!”
Review of Hotel Mevlana

Hotel Mevlana
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Mevlana
Ranked #329 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

dont stay this 'hotel'.it is not even a hotel it is hostel.the pictures from online are lying.they are terrible.the staff are terrible and unfriendly also.i have stayed many hostel before but this is the first time i will stay the worst worst worst hostel in the world!

3  Thank Hande D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mevlana
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 188 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

Just come back from a short break, hostel was in a great location, room was small but didn't expect half of what we got for price. Friendly staff. Clean linen and towels on request and very clean. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

My best friend and I (two females) went on a 3 day trip to Amsterdam and even the first night in that "Hotel" were almost unbearable.
We were in an 8 bed room and everything was really cramped, the beds were not even 30 cm away from each other, in the morning the smell was super bad because the room was so small and there were too many people in there. The bathroom was very dirty and were never cleaned, the beds were uncomfortable and the only way to be able to sleep a little was with ear buds and a sleeping mask. The staff was very unprofessional, and they would be quite unhelpful when asking for cups or plates for the breakfast we had to buy ourselves. You can buy snacks there but it's only sweet stuff and lemonades that must have been there for ages.
They don't really check who belongs to the hotel and sometimes creepy and sketchy people hang out there.
All in all: the rooms are disgusting and not even bearable for backpackers trying to stay at a cheap place. It seems unsafe and you feel sick after using the bathroom or spending more than 10 minutes in the room!
But the location is pretty cool... Not recommended for more than one night.

Stayed: February 2014
4  Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights, with a large group of friends. While the rooms are clean enough we found it a lot of effort staying here, having to move rooms for the second night, and if we had've extended our stay, we would have had to move again. The staff seemed friendly and the facilities were again fine but basic. After moving to another hostel (and walking round many more!) the price seemed to be average as well, with some hostels charging a lot more, and some charging slightly less.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Super cheap, excellent location just 10 mins from station/5 from Dam square, staff very polite and always helpful. Would not recommend for elderly tourists as the steps are incredibly narrow and a fall from the 4th floor would be lethal. Other than that everything absolutely perfect!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Johnny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

They charged me for a 4 person room then suddenly another guest walks in, small prison like rooms says hotel but its worse than a hostel, when i complained staff didnt care, the 1st room stunk off urine 2nd room had no toilet i could go on all night about this place but its not worth the review

Thank J L Discos E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Devon V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#263 of 371 in Amsterdam
207 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#144 of 371 in Amsterdam
931 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#280 of 371 in Amsterdam
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#312 of 371 in Amsterdam
658 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#162 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mevlana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mevlana

Address: Nieuwenzijds Voorburgwal 160, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #329 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $47 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Mevlana 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mevlana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mevlana Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing