We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“normal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Ranked #311 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed August 13, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Simone L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (661)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 661 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

The only decent quality about this "hotel" is the location, which is very close to Central Station and convenient to international and local transportation. Free Wi-Fi upgraded my review from 0 to 1 Star. The Staff were very unresponsive to rude. Every time I came and left the hotel, the front desk attendant (the infamous Australian) would interrogate me on my room number as if I did not belong in the hotel. I felt her inquires were racially motivated. During both check in and check out, I was not made to feel welcome. Staff unceremoniously asked my room number and gave me my keys or receipt. The hotel is a walk-up, but the steps are a treacherous, steep and winding hazard. I was placed on the fourth floor in a shoe box of a room with out air conditioning or even a fan on the hottest day in Amsterdam all year, according to locals. The walls and sheets were in less than perfect condition. Visible bug smears were present all over the beige walls. A huge window was available in the room, which opened to a screenless opening to Harlemerstraat. I either roasted to death in the room or allowed bugs and mosquitoes to enter at night. The shared bathrooms are less than sanitary and reek of mold. If you need to spend a few extra euro to stay somewhere a little nicer, I strongly suggest you do so..

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JAH S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed here last year on a trip with some friends, it was a last minute booking so we went with this. Room was clean and spacious and friendly staff. We actually booked a room without a bathroom, but due to a booking issue they upgraded us to an en-suite at no extra charge as it was their fault. Can't complain. Room cleaned every day and a comfortable night sleep, great location too. Nicely done!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChardyRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Bailed out of this place after one night, despite having booked and paid in advance for four. My single room with a narrow twin bed was only the width of the window -- stretching both my arms let me easily touch both walls. But I couldn't open the floor-to-ceiling window during a heat wave without losing privacy and maybe risking falling out! Also, the room had an odor -- a human smell? A bad disinfectant? I couldn't tell. Don't mind shared toilet and shower, but I do mind if they are not pleasant or properly cleaned -- found a bandage obviously several days old on a shelf in the shower. To top it off, had a dispute with the staff over payment, which they blamed on my booking agent of many years [I still use one, sometimes]. On the upside, the fire alarm went off only once during the night I stayed. Also on the upside -- this hotel has a great location, in a residential area yet still near the central train station and tourist spots. The hotel is proving the bad part of my first trip to Amsterdam -- the city itself is a terrific place to visit.

Room Tip: Choose a lower floor room. There's no elevator. Judging from the fire escape diagram, double and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NewYorkerNewYork_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Myself and my partner were slightly worried about the reviews after we had booked this hotel.
Anyway we caught the train from Schiphol Airport, straight to Centraal Station.

It says the hotel is a 15 minute walk from Centraal Station, it's no where near that more like 5 minutes at a slow pace! We arrived early and were met by one of the staff, who at first was dealing with another guest who was a tad difficult but after seeing we were just there to sleep and knew what we had booked, the lady was friendly. She informed housekeeping to clean our room so we could get in A.S.A.P. within an hour we had gone in to our room.

Now I must say people moaning about no lifts and very narrow/steep stairs need to read exactly what buildings in Amsterdam are like they are very tall and thin it's been that way long before you and I had set foot there!

The Australian lady who was then on reception had the same difficult customer and was a tad stressed, when I went to ask if I could borrow a hairdryer. She apologised for huffing which is fine we all have those days.

It's ideally located enough of a distance away from the red light district but close enough. The night porter is a friendly guy and always says hello.

We never waited more than 5 mins for the shower, we didn't watch the tv as were out day and most of the night exploring this city. Do not let the bad reviews put you off!

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlatPack_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The rooms are very small and not comfortable at all. There´s no elevator and the stairs are extremely risky and carry the baggage to the 4th floor without any problem is almost an Olympic effort. Shared bathrooms are simple and ok but not enough for all hotel guests needs. The location it’s quite good but for that price make a favor to yourself and look for other places.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manu_Alvarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#309 of 374 in Amsterdam
377 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Plantage
Hotel Plantage
#306 of 374 in Amsterdam
500 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#324 of 374 in Amsterdam
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#305 of 374 in Amsterdam
485 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#296 of 374 in Amsterdam
740 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
#216 of 374 in Amsterdam
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quentin Arrive Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quentin Arrive Hotel

Address: Haarlemmerstraat 65, 1013 EL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #311 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $73 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Quentin Arrive Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is housed in a beautiful 19th century building, in the middle of a 650-year-old street. The rooms are well equipped with modern facilities to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible. The hotel is located close to the Central Station, near to all Amsterdam's highlights such as the Royal Palace, Dam square, Red Light District, shops, bars, clubs and restaurants. You will have a variety of restaurants, bars and cafes right outside the hotel door. The hotel offers many services and facilities such as free wireless internet throughout the building, tickets to various museums and activities, a continental breakfast and free city maps. Our reception is always open (24/7) and we will be happy to help you if you will need any additional services, facilities or information. The location is perfect to explore the city and our staff will make sure your stay in Amsterdam is one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quentin Arrive Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quentin Arrive Amsterdam
Quentin Arrive Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing